RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Saddle Suggestion?(12 posts)

Saddle Suggestion?pjvbiker
Oct 13, 2003 1:39 PM
In looking for a saddle for my '99 Specialized Allez Comp aluminum road bike, my local shop advised me to check with other riders for recommendations. Can anyone recommend a saddle for a 6' 1" 195 lb. rider? My waist measurement is 34", so I'm not sure if I'm a "narrow waist" or not. I log about 180 miles per week and tend to get moderate numbness after an hour in the saddle. Thanks.
Paul
You are exactly the same size as melotterypick
Oct 13, 2003 1:57 PM
I'm using a Terry fly. Seems to work well. No problems or complaints. I'm riding a Trek 5500.
No suggestion possibleKerry Irons
Oct 13, 2003 4:13 PM
I had two riding buddies, one with a Brooks and one with a standard plastic racing saddle. They got to talking about how they both did not like their saddles, so they switched. Both went away happy as clams. There was nothing wrong with either saddle, just that they didn't fit those guys. Saddle choice is way to personal to take someone else's advice about how much they like theirs. I like my Flite Ti, but that doesn't mean you'd like it. Likewise it's predecessor Cinelli. People who have Brooks saddles often got there by not liking other saddles. The fact that they like their Brooks doesn't tell you anything about what you might like. Also, there's adaptation to any equipment, so something that feels funny on the first ride may be fine after some miles are accumulated. Short answer is that most saddles fit most people, otherwise they wouldn't sell very many of that brand/model.
Keep tryingglia
Oct 13, 2003 5:30 PM
I used to have the sam eproblem with the Specialized body geometry saddle that came with my S-works road bike. I went through about 8 saddles until I became comfortable on the Selle SLR 135g. Who would have thought that the one with the least padding will work the best. I rode a century a couple of weeks ago without any problems at all. It all comes down to anatomy. All the saddle needs to do is to support your sitbones. On some people they are wide on others they are closer together. I personally believe that all the padding is unnecessary. Once you have a perch that fits your bones you can sit on it for hours on end. Thats why people are just as comfortable on carbon seats if they fit their anatomy. So in short, keep buying seats and put them on Ebay if they don't fit. Once you have a good one stich with it. My 2ct worth...
Take advantage of those places where returns...Tom C
Oct 13, 2003 7:22 PM
are possible such as Performance or Nashbar. Koobi direct and Terry also allow returns for exchange or refund. Armed with that you could start by selecting an ergonomic saddle i.e. a channel or cutout, then select a conventional domed saddle, a flat saddle, and finally a retro all leather saddle perhaps. Your net cost may be some shipping expenses but you'll be able to survey and find your own individual proclivities. Good luck!
Take advantage of those places where returns...tarwheel
Oct 14, 2003 8:22 AM
This is the best advice you will get. Buy your saddles at some place that allows returns. Or brands that have 30-day return policies -- notably Koobi, Avocet and Terry.

Personally, I have found that saddles with a center cutout work great at relieving or preventing numbness, but that doesn't mean they are all comfortable for me. After trying many different saddles, I finally bought a Koobi Silver primarily because of the return policy. It works better than any other saddles I've used, but might not work for you. Koobi makes several different models with good description on their web site, www.koobi.com
6'6" 220 luv Fizik Aliante $$$ - read the reviews (nm)misanthrope
Oct 14, 2003 5:58 AM
6'6" 220 luv Fizik Aliante $$$ - read the reviews (nm)utxjohne
Oct 14, 2003 6:27 AM
I just bot a new bike with a Fizik Aliante on it and wow what a difference. Compared to the Selle San Marco I was riding its like like a pillow vs a log. I am shopping for another now.
Hit and miss...DINOSAUR
Oct 16, 2003 8:28 AM
The all leather "retro" saddles, such as a Brooks, will conform to the shape of you anatomy over a period of time giving you a perfect fit. The new era plastic saddles have to fit from the get-go as they don't conform and there is nothing to break in. You have to match the saddle with the shape of your rear. The problem I had with the Brooks (I had a Team Pro) is the rails were not long enough and I could not get it to dial in with the geometry of my bike.

I've had good luck with a Selle Italia Flite Gel (I'm about the same height and weight as you) but I recently replaced it with my old San Marco Regal and I'm in heaven. It's sort of hit and miss until you stumble on the right saddle for you. A good place to find saddles in the slightly used ones on Ebay, you can usually pick one up for and 60% less than you would buy new. I also used a San Marco Rolls in the past and it worked well, a lot of the pros still use them.

Saddle positon makes a difference also. I start my leveling my out in my garage then adjust the tilt by feel when I am riding. A couple of degrees in tilt will make a big difference.

They say when you find the right saddle you don't think about your saddle that much when you are riding. But when I went back to my Regal I am always thinking about how comfortable it is, that's not to say it will work for you.

Your kinda on your own here..one man's meat is anothers man's poison....
re: Saddle Suggestion?mcubed91
Oct 17, 2003 1:01 PM
I second or third the suggestion on the Fizik Aliante. I had been riding San Marco Regal for 20 years. I made the switch 2 weeks ago, haven't looked back. It is 'curved' in the middle, makes you sit back, holds you in, not flat like the regal where you can slide forwards or back. Most comfortable seat I ever sat in.
how about the SLK?komatiite
Oct 19, 2003 8:42 AM
I am thinking of getting one of these. I wanna try a cut out seat for obvious reasons (male) and hve heard mixed things about this seat. I am currently riding Selle gel.
how about the SLK?Gripfer
Oct 23, 2003 5:34 PM
I have the SLK Gel Flow and I like it, but I prefer the Terry Fly.