RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Orbea bicycles(8 posts)

Orbea bicyclespeloton
Oct 12, 2003 7:33 PM
Anyone out there riding on an Orbea right now? I'm thinking about getting one for next year, and I'm looking for people's opinions on theirs. I like the way the frames look, and they certainly do well in UCI competition. If anyone could share their experiences with their Orbea (whatever model it may be), I would appreciate it. Thanks a lot!
My friend has onelotterypick
Oct 13, 2003 7:36 AM
Says it's awesome. It's not the Starship one but a few models lower with the same paint job (orange).

I think the tubes are made in Taiwan but the bike is made in Spain.

I myself was looking into getting one. I think if the geometry is right then it'd be a great bike to have. Rare and well built.
If you wantlotterypick
Oct 13, 2003 7:39 AM
you can give me your e-mail address and I'll pass it on to him.
re: Orbea bicyclessjomi
Oct 14, 2003 6:33 AM
I have a '02 Zonal. All aluminum (no carbon stays). I just passed the 2600 mile mark on it this past weekend.
Extremely stiff but smooth ride. The diamond shape tubes don't resonate like my old C-Dale.
My biggest complaint is the pearl white of the is not very durable. The paint chips too easy and being a pearl white it is hard to touch up. I put that bike saver tape on the downtube and chainstay right when I got it, but over time many chips have occurred in the seat stay.
Not a huge complaint, just that which such a great paint job I wish it was more durable.
A friend just got onepedalAZ
Oct 14, 2003 8:17 AM
I think it's called the Lobular. Aluminum with carbon seat stays. Here's the pic. I much prefer this paint scheme to the orange and pearl white ones. HGe and I are both regular MTB riders, so we don't have much to compare the ride to on the road.
re: Orbea bicyclesterry b
Oct 14, 2003 11:47 AM
Currently riding an Orbea Starship - nice bike - well built, excellent finish, flashy paint and light. Rides as well as any of my other bikes (aluminum, steel, cf.) Bought mine directly from Orbea USA who did a great job handling my order. For the money, I think they're a pretty good buy. Unique in most markets, I've never seen another on the road.
This is some badass spanish sh*t!!Kaboom
Oct 14, 2003 2:19 PM
Didnt you see Haimar Zubeldia and Iban Mayo kicking ass in the tour?
I'm spanish and not too patriotic, but these bikes really are good, and with a very very adjusted price. In spain they are quite common, but if you get one in US its gonna look badass on the road. Go for it!
I just saw the 2004 catalogDMoore
Oct 15, 2003 3:37 PM
The new Orca carbon frame really looks nice. I'm presently riding a 2003 Lobular Carbon frame, since Orbea sponsors my team. The Lobular is a nice bike. It's light and handles well. The paint job is quite durable, although a little gaudy for my taste. (However, since my team is sponsored by Jelly Belly, you can't even see the gaudy paint because of the glare from our gaudy uniforms!) The carbon seat stays may take a little of the bite out of road buzz, since the bike does feel just a little smoother than my previous year's Specialized E-5. I'm not sure if the "lobular" (lobe shaped) main tubes make any real difference in the bike's ride or handling.

I use my Orbea for racing almost exclusively -road races and crits, as well as training in hills and practice crits. The geometry is more road than crit, but that's pretty typical. It's certainly acceptable or better in both disciplines.

It's nice and light. With my Zipp sewups and a bunch of light parts on the bike (Campy Record 9 basically) it's under 15.5 pounds. Not bad for a 58 cm compact frame.