RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Searching for a Wheelbuilder: Help Needed.(9 posts)

Searching for a Wheelbuilder: Help Needed.El Caballito
Oct 7, 2003 6:20 PM
Howdy one and all-
After being cut-off by a driver and throw head first into a stromdrain, my rolf vector comps are nearing their end. The front rim still has a major tweek after visiting the LBS. "I ended up with a smashed helmet."

I'm finally in the market for some wheels. The following are on my wish list:

1. Velocity Aeroheads with Chris King or Dura Ace hubs.
2. Velocity Aeroheads or Mavic Open with Ultegra hubs.

I mainly do group rides on the weekends and solo 2-3 times during the week. My terrain on the streets and foothills of Los Angeles.

I need a durable wheel, lighter if possible. The King hubs cost more but I think they are cool.

Your opinions and expert advise are welcomed. By the way, How well built are wheels from Odds and Endos?

Thank You- Ernie
re: Searching for a Wheelbuilder: Help Needed.lyleseven
Oct 7, 2003 6:57 PM
I have a set of the Mavic Open Pros (campy hubs) and they are very, very durable and smooth riding. Cost about $300. I also have a set of Dave's Speedream Wheels with custom hubs (White Industries), Fusion rims, bladed spokes (18frt, 24 rear) and they are fantastic for $500, durable and light and very comfortable. Have about 1,000 miles on them with no problems at all so far. If you tell Dave what you need them for he will give you the straight advice.
re: Searching for a Wheelbuilder: Help Needed.lyleseven
Oct 8, 2003 7:56 PM
By the way, check out Speedreams on the Review section of this website and you will see nothing but good things about Dave Thomas...
re: Searching for a Wheelbuilder: Help Needed.torquecal
Oct 7, 2003 8:23 PM
Can't speak to odds and endos - but the velocity rims with dura ace hub option, built by colorado cyclist will work.

They build good wheels. I've also had good wheels from excel sports.
contact www.mtnpedaler.commtpisgah1
Oct 8, 2003 4:24 AM
Paul will give you a great deal and builds great wheels.
530-677-3649
Joe Young: http://www.youngwheels.com/MXL02
Oct 8, 2003 6:22 AM
one time wheel builder for Richey Racing team...builds great wheelsets.
Second Joe YoungKEN2
Oct 8, 2003 11:20 AM
I second the recommendation for Joe Young--I have a set from him and they have been completely trouble-free. He seems to be among the few wheelbuilders who actually uses a tensiometer to get even tension on all the spokes.
How much are you willing to pay for "cool" hubs?Kerry Irons
Oct 9, 2003 4:27 PM
The weight difference between DA (or especially Record) and a boutique hub is minimal. Remember that the advertised weight for DA and Record hubs includes a QR skewer that actually works, while the boutique hubs are always weighed without the skewer, and then it's recommended that you use a superlight skewer of questionable holding power. Then there's the question of getting a boutique hub that will actually hold up under regular use. So other than the highly desired "cool" look, just what is it that King hubs bring to the party?

Please note, I'm NOT saying they are not good hubs, just that they don't offer much value for the added cost.
are the King road hubs the same as the mountain versions?wolfereeno
Oct 9, 2003 11:28 PM
cause my King mountain hubs are LOUD!! Sometimes you can't even talk over them to the person next to you :-)