RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Numb body parts(8 posts)

Numb body partsback bacon
Sep 22, 2003 5:44 PM
Need some saddle ideas !!! I'm going numb in parts that shouldn't be....Riding Cervelo Soloist with Selle Italia XO saddle. I'm 5' 10" 177lbs. Would I need a wider saddle and if so what's out there to consider?
Check out Koobi, Trico and Terry....Tom C
Sep 22, 2003 8:19 PM
all make saddles that relieve pressure on soft tissue parts where the nerves are getting compressed making you go numb. You're forced to sit on the sits bones therby taking the pressure off the soft tissue (perineum). I think the consensus is that wide saddles make the condition worse. I've been testing a Koobi and so far so good. You get 30 days to try it out. If it's a no go you get your money refunded so all you're out is shipping to try. I think some similar arrangement is available with Terry. Good luck!
Check out Koobi, Trico and Terry....back bacon
Sep 23, 2003 3:02 AM
Thanks for the info. I checked out the reviews on Koobi and in particular the AU Enduro and I liked what I read. I agree with you about the 30 day deal, it's really not a losing gamble. Thanks again.
What you read means nothingKerry Irons
Sep 23, 2003 5:13 PM
Saddles are totally personal, and what works for one person may not help another at all. Consider that you may not be sitting right on your saddle, and this could be helped by tilt angle and fore/aft adjustment. You need to "perch on your sit bones" so that your weight is on the sit bones and on the prominent part of the saddle. If you can't get that situation on your current saddle, then think about it's width and shape. Lots of people seem to ride too far forward on their saddle, and then experience rubbing and discomfort.
What you read means nothingTom C
Sep 24, 2003 2:33 PM
Not always. Without reading about reviews of other peoples experiences with Koobi, for example, I probably would be playing still with the downward tilt of my old saddle probably to no avail. Possibly the original poster experimented with his saddle positioning already. I'm not under his bed so I'll give him the benefit of the doubt. So it boils down thusly: it's all information. With nothing more than shipping out of pocket, how could it hurt to try?
Try downward tiltbimini
Sep 24, 2003 6:51 AM
Try a slight downward tilt. May help. Don't go to far or you will be sliding off forward and getting neck and shoulder pains.

From what I have seen on this board, no one likes the Sella XO saddle. It is a cheap saddle put on new bikes to get the cost down. Don't judge what width saddle you need by that one.

Saddles are good things to buy at your LBS. A couple of shops around here have saddles mounted on racks so you can try them out in the shop. Many LBS have good return policies (if brought back in as new condition within a certain period of time)
Try downward tiltback bacon
Sep 24, 2003 5:11 PM
Yup I've tilted the saddle, adjusted it forward, rearward, raised, and lowered. I've made sure that each change has been gradual and test ridden long/hard before the next change. Always the same result....numbness in the little guy! This was not a one ride event or decision. I purchased this particular bike in June and have been doing adjustments and being patient up until now. Probably too long of a wait. I appreciate the comments and assistance.
Don't tilt downward.....lyleseven
Sep 28, 2003 8:47 AM
Be careful about any "downward' tilt. Lot of beginning cyclists think that is more comfortable until they realize that the tilting of the pelvis causes problems with your back (and puts disproportionate weight on shoulders, etc.) When you get cutom fitting from a good bikeshop, you will never see the seat tilted forward; always level.