RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


CASATI vs PINARELLO and COLNAGO(16 posts)

CASATI vs PINARELLO and COLNAGOslowmo1829
Sep 19, 2003 8:10 PM
I RECENTLY HAD A DICUSSION WITH THE OWNER OF A CASATI WHO
SAID THAT THERE BIKE WAS BETTER THAN A COLNAGO AND PINARELLO
I REPLIED YOU SHOULDN'T INSULT BIKES LIKE THOSE TWO WHICH HAVE HAD SUCH A POSITIVE IMPACT ON CYCLING. IE THE FIRST ALUMINUM
WITH REAR CARBON STAYS AND THE FIRST TO PRODUCE 11/8 INTERGRATED HEAD SET WHICH IS UNIVERSALLY ACCEPTED NOW BOTH DONE BY PINARELLO AND THE STANDARD FOR QUALITY AND LOOKS SET
BY COLNAGO DECADES AGO. WHILE THE CASATI'S ARE NICE THEY DO NOT HAVE THE STATURE OR RECORD OF INOVATION OF THESE TWO
MANUFACTURERS. WHAT DO YOU THINK
I think...bigdeal
Sep 19, 2003 9:56 PM
I think you should take your Caps Lock off. Buy what fits you best.
Itallian Vs, USA!the bull
Sep 20, 2003 3:40 AM
I think bikes made here in the states are better than the ones coming out of Italy. Look at the treads for instance on the bottom bracket of a CT-1 Vs that of the Litespeed.
They are look like they were handcarved!

The paint jobs are terrible as well! Colnagos while being colorful to some eyes look like cheesy airbrush paint from a lowrider mag to me! Not to mention they chip and use a hell of alot of clearcoat.
Alotta Bull ???Rusty Coggs
Sep 20, 2003 4:26 AM
I have Colnago,Tommasini,Moser,Carrera,Merckx,Serotta,Cdale Trek OCLV, and don't find any actual truth in your generalization. I suppose paint style is subjective.
What kinda of Colnago?the bull
Sep 20, 2003 7:05 AM
Probally not a Ti one huh?
To me it looks like the taps they use are not working as well on the Ti bikes!They need to inform the Tiawan factory wokers on how to do this so it will come out correctly.
First of all, alla my bikes are madea by Itallians!Ernesto Colnago
Sep 20, 2003 3:26 PM
Even ifa dhey live in Asia!All those people in the factory have to be at leasta 1/8 Itallian or be able to say Ciao!Plus they have to drink at leasta 1 bottle of wine a day(to keepa the high quality of craftmanship up ta par)!

You keep this up and Ima gonna turn you inta a Campy Ghost!
re: Itallian Vs, USA!_jim_
Sep 20, 2003 11:57 AM
you are a complete tosser
Seriously!the bull
Sep 20, 2003 2:47 PM
Itallian bikes are great they just have some problems(like everything) thats all I would buy one in a second, if the price was right!

Underscore Jim - what are some of your opinions on bike stuff?
I only see you post here to TRY to piss PEOPLE off.
Maybe they should start a site for people like you!
www.peoplereview.com
Then you can just point out flaws of everyone!
I seriously think your remark has no place on this board!
Especially if a this years Veloce group review does not, huh?
HA!
Seriously!_jim_
Sep 20, 2003 3:38 PM
you need to take a look at the garbage you pollute this forum with. 'the bull' is full of it.
Another perfect example of yourself! nmErnesto Colnago
Sep 20, 2003 3:54 PM
Itallian Vs, USA!slowmo1829
Sep 20, 2003 5:22 PM
It's not itallian Vs usa there's great American bikes that
i consider world class litespeed,and calfee just to name a
couple but to me what seperates them from the rest is innovation.
re: actuallycollinsc
Sep 20, 2003 9:03 AM
I'm pretty sure that it was actually Carrera that first put aluminum and carbon together. Though the nod does go to the Prince for being the first one to really catch on.

But what I really think is that the caps lock key should be outlawed for all future keyboard production.
Can't we all just get along and agree that....divve
Sep 20, 2003 9:56 AM
....Campagnolo is the best and leave bike choice up to the individual?
I have one of each and........terry b
Sep 20, 2003 5:52 PM
they're pretty much the same from a quality standpoint. each has its own merits - the Pinarello is very classy, the Colnago reeks of tradition and the Casati is a wild woman. If you said I could keep only one, it would be the Pinarello.
Yeeeay! Pinarello wins! nmQubeley
Sep 20, 2003 6:58 PM
Italian/Americanlyleseven
Sep 21, 2003 9:03 PM
No dispute here: American frames and Italian components! I love the Italian touch, but for quality build, I will take a custom Seven any day.