RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


question about using a power link on my chain(8 posts)

question about using a power link on my chainGall
Sep 17, 2003 7:40 AM
Hello again,

I am in desperate need to put a new Dura Ace chainon my rig. I have several long hard rides coming up in the next couple of days.

Anyhows, my LBS has a Dura Ace chain in stock but doesnt have the power link. I wanted to put the power link on with this new chain.

Would it be ok to install the new chain and then when the link comes in I take the chain apart and add the link? I am worried about making the chain weak by doing this.

Thanks for your help!

Gall
re: question about using a power link on my chainglia
Sep 17, 2003 9:18 AM
You'll have to shorten it anyway since you are putting an extra link in there so why should it matter?
IMHO: Powerlink is over-rated, I wouldn't bother.pitt83
Sep 17, 2003 10:26 AM
I've never gotten one to open and close properly. It takes 5X longer than getting out the chain tool and doing it the conventional way. I've snapped the chain at the powerlink on two separate occasions while climbing on the MTB. I won't be buying another one. The snap off shimano pins for $1.25 / ea aren't a bad idea. Never had an issue with those.
Aren't you the lucky one!Kerry Irons
Sep 17, 2003 5:00 PM
Everyone else has good luck not only with ease of removal but durability, but you can't get them apart and they break on you. Can you say "operator error"?
Think you're being a little too hard on him...TFerguson
Sep 17, 2003 5:25 PM
Don't know about getting them apart because I haven't got that far yet

About breaking - all the early reviews I saw in MTB magazines when the 9-speed version came out said to dump the power link and use the chain. The power links did not stand up to mountain biking and they broke several. They recommended just using a chain tool to break down your chain and put the same pin back in.

TF
I said it's my OPINION douche!pitt83
Sep 18, 2003 5:14 AM
And I'm entitled to it. You, obviously, have formulated one about me. Keep it to yourself.
Douche!? Now that's a nice touch (nm)Kerry Irons
Sep 18, 2003 4:13 PM
the TRICK to opening an closing...shawndoggy
Sep 19, 2003 10:03 AM
I used to have a heck of a time getting these things apart, then I figured out the trick (it's probably printed in the directions, but who reads directions?): squeeze the two sides of the link together at the same time that you are trying to unclip the link. Works like a champ every time.

As for the not strong enough for MTB use, I've had one (9 speed on DA chain) on my MTB since April and it's working without breaking. Just one 165 lb dude's experience.