RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Ksyrium SSC SL versus Campy Eurus(16 posts)

Ksyrium SSC SL versus Campy Eurussokratikus
Sep 14, 2003 9:34 PM
Budget allows me to invest in only one set of high-end wheels. Which would perform better for a single set of all-purpose, durable "do it all" type wheelset for general racing and training? Kysrium SSC SL or the Eurus?

Thanks.
Another choicedeHonc
Sep 14, 2003 10:50 PM
American Classic CR-420 wheelset - deep section, weighs less than both your choices and according to all reviews I can find out perform both your choices - cheaper too. Why not check em out?
Another choicebjarne
Sep 15, 2003 4:55 AM
Don´t ever buy the CR-420 wheels.
The rear hub bearings goes loose, and A/C knows it.

I´ve had two sets, who both went loose, and they replaced the bearings, then the Cassette, then they glued(loctide) the bearings, and in the end they replaced the hub body.

None of it worked, more than 200km, and in the end I had to return them.

Both sets were more in the shop, than on my bike, and even for the few km´s I rode them, they weren´t nearly as smooth as Mavic/Campy/shimano hubs are.
Another choicerussw19
Sep 15, 2003 1:03 PM
I absolutely love my 420's! I bought a pair of Cane Creek Volos Ti's at the same time and I have never ever riden the Cane Creeks. The 420's are far too nice to take off my bike. My 420's even have a Shimano hub and I am riding them with a conversion cassette for my Record drivetrain, but my Cane Creeks have a Campy freehub, and yet I still haven't been able to take the 420's off to ride the CC's. They are that nice!

They did have problems last year with the company that manufactures their hubs not making them to the proper spec. and it caused problems... something they seem to have corrected. Everyone I know who bought their hubs after March of 2003 has not had a single problem. When did you get yours? Was it before then, or around then? I know it is obvious, but you got one of their bad hubs, which I bet they gladly replaced once the problem was apparent.

I have nothing but positive things to say about my 420's.

Russ
Another choicebjarne
Sep 16, 2003 2:23 AM
Like I said I´ve had two sets of 420´s, both failed.
The first set, was bought last year, and then this spring, the Importer convinsed me, that A/C, had solved the problem, so I got the second set.

Like i wrote before, they replaced everything, including the hub body( without any cost), but it didn´t work.

So first of all, I think its wrong to sell hubs, when you know there is a problem, and second they weren´t able to solve the problem.

If you search in this messageboard, you will find several discussion like this, and in the review section its the same.
Some peoble(the few lucky one) loves the 420´s, but many has had problems
re: Ksyrium SSC SL versus Campy Eurusdirthead
Sep 15, 2003 4:09 AM
I have a set of Campy Eurus wheels, and love them. I have not tried the Ksyriums, but have heard nothing but good reviews of them. The roads here are quite rough, lots of loose gravel and potholes, and I have never had to true my Campy's. They seem to be very durable, and very light as well. The only gripe I would have about them is that if you ever have to true them, you must remove the tire and rim strip. From what I have seen though, this should be a very rare occurrance.

I bought mine from RepartoCorsa. I followed their link in the Hot Deals ad and paid $585 with free shipping. Couldn't be happier with the wheels.
I have both....C-40
Sep 15, 2003 5:08 AM
Tough call between these two. Both weigh about the same. Neither has required trueing. The braking surface of the mavic wheels is definitely superior if your rides require critical braking (like mountain descents or crits). The K's can be trued without removing the tire and rim strip, which is required on the Eurus.

Unless you buy from a Euro source like totalcycling.com, the Eurus wheels are a lot cheaper. I paid $585 with shipping for the Eurus wheelset and $560 for the K's. I would never pay $800 for a pair of K's. It would be a whole lot smarter to buy two sets of custom built wheels and still have $100 left over.
A suggestionboneman
Sep 15, 2003 2:41 PM
I have 2002 K's, pre-SL, 2003 K's SL and 2002 Campy Neutrons. Of all of them, I enjoy riding the Neutron's the most. They're a great combination of strength and response, better in the latter respect than the K's. That being said, I weight 60kg and if I were heavier, I would probably go with the K's. Never ridden the Eurus as I'm put off by the spoking in the rear. That's personal choice and nothing more. Can't go wrong with any of those wheels so I'd look for the best price.

FWIW, Mavic parts to fix the K's are much easier to get than the Campag. Cheaper too. I hit a pedestrian going 25 mph and pranged my front Neutron. Getting a rim only is a bit*h in the UK and not cost effective. Branford in the States carries the parts and at a somewhat reasonable, not great, price.
re: Ksyrium SSC SL versus Campy EurusjimPz
Sep 15, 2003 2:47 PM
I've had campy Euru's for 2 seasons now & put about 10k miles on 'em. I weigh about 180 lbs & ride on New Englands 'great' roads. I've never had a problem with 'em, they are as true as the day I bought them.
I've only had a few rides on Kysrium's, but my friends that have them haven't had problems either.
Go for whatever you can get the best price on.

JimPz
How about neitherKerry Irons
Sep 15, 2003 5:20 PM
Other than a high price and exclusivity, neither of these wheels offers a performance (weight, durability, strength, aerodynamics, etc.) over a well built set of wheels on Record or DA hubs (Aerohead or OP rims, etc.). What you get is a wheel that has to be repaired by sending back to the factory and you're paying $200-300 to have the wheel built. There's nothing that special in either one of these wheels that justifies the price, except your willingness to pay it.
re: Ksyrium SSC SL versus Campy Euruslyleseven
Sep 15, 2003 6:29 PM
I have the SL's and a set of Neutrons. I like them both very much, and I agree that the Neutrons climb slightly better, but not so much of a real difference. The SL's are bomb-proof wheels, no doubt. On the other hand, I got a set of custom wheels from Dave Thomas at Speedream and they are better climbers and more comfortable riding than either of the others. They also cost me around $530 shipped to me. They are slightly lighter and smoother riding. I would rate them as follows, with the difference between 1st and 3rd very small:
1- Speedreams
2- Kysrium SL's
3- Neutrons (bummers to true, though!)
re: Ksyrium SSC SL versus Campy Eurussokratikus
Sep 15, 2003 8:49 PM
Thank you for all your replies. They've been very helpful. Never thought of considering custom, so that was good insight. Quick follow-up on the Eurus: my LBS said that given that less people have Eurus, repair downtime is typically longer (if you needed to have it repaired for whatever reason) than the SLs.

Any suggestions on rims if I were to build my own wheels on Record hubs?
re: Ksyrium SSC SL versus Campy Eurust5rguy
Sep 16, 2003 4:38 AM
Sun Venus? Light, look nice. Any experiences?
Suns Venus rimsCrazyMan
Sep 16, 2003 1:41 PM
I've got a set of Sun Venus 28 hole rims laced to AmClassic Hubs with Wheelsmith spokes...Mike at oddsandendos.com did a fine job, though they took a couple of weeks to arrive in Canada.
They spin up nicely, feel quite stout, and are way cheaper (and lighter) than either choice while being more serviceable. Yay!
There are a lot of choicesboneman
Sep 16, 2003 2:07 PM
Mavic OP is easy in normal profile. Nice rim at a good price.

Ambrosio Excellight. About the same weight as the OP, but IMHO, better finished and made. My top choice for normal profile rims with ferrules. You can see from the photo the finish.

Ritchey rims also look interest, especially with the offset drilling for the rears (also offered in the Velocity's I believe) so worth asking around for opinions.

Sun Assault and ME14A (higher profile) also look good but again, no direct experience.

Velocity's seem very popular but I've never been a big fan of non-ferruled rims. Just personal choice and that being said, my single speed wheels are Ambrosio Balance's which don't have ferrules. Of course at 500 gr/rim, they should need them.

The key is find a wheelbuilder with experience and a reputation built over time. They will also have spoke and rims which they like to work with. For me, it's Ambrosio rims and Sapim spokes. Good luck.
RE: There are a lot of choicesYe Olde Balde One
Sep 17, 2003 6:03 AM
I weighed two pairs of Excel-Light rims. On a Pelouze 2g accurate scale they came in at 416-420gms each. Open Pro's I've weighed came in at 430-434gms.

I've started using Ambrosio rims again after using them in the 80's and early 90's, looking at the quality (even the labelling is lazer etched) I wonder why I went away from them.