RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


How bad is Dura Ace BB? Advise/Opinions please?(9 posts)

How bad is Dura Ace BB? Advise/Opinions please?jjdbike
Sep 13, 2003 9:58 AM
I like to stay w/ as much of the same system (i.e. brand and grouppo) as possible & Shimano Dura Ace BB is very light & cheap on sale. I know that I have posted this before, but I am soooo on the fence & I need a new BB. I realy do not want the added weight of the Ultegra (I know..I know,...I'm a weigh weeny...& a scrawny climber...I can't help it). I have heard that the Dura Ace BB durability is terrible!?! I don't mind changing it out every season for under $50. But if its going to go bad every 2000 miles, then I have to give it seroius conderation. Please let me know what you guys think!
Thanks
JD
re: How bad is Dura Ace BB? Advise/Opinions please?divve
Sep 13, 2003 12:43 PM
It's one of the longest lasting bottom brackets provided you properly adjust it and keep it clean and well lubricated.
How bad are you about maintainence?russw19
Sep 13, 2003 4:50 PM
You must chase and face your BB shell before you install it (I am convinced this is why too many people's go bad) because of the needle bearings. They must line up 100%, so you must make sure your BB shell is faced... if you don't know for a fact that it is, assume it isn't.

Then make sure you grease it. If you ride in the rain, open it up and repack the grease. If you do those two things when you need to, it's a fine bottom bracket. Possibly one of the best on the market. I have one that has over 40,000 miles on it. But you have to take care of it. It is NOT designed to be an install and forget bottom bracket like the Ultegra was.

If you do the work, it will last you forever.

Russ
Thank You!!!gbecker
Sep 14, 2003 5:32 PM
I don't usually post a lot of replys, but it drives me crazy when this topic arrises (Ultega vs. DA bb). By far, the main reason many people have issues with their Dura Ace bb is because they (or their wrench) do not know that facing the bb shell is a MUST! Unfortunately, proper frame preparation is a bit of a dying art IMO. Many shops don't want the expense of the needed tools along with upkeep (shapening/etc) and too many "mechanics" don't even have a clue.

I always face and chase every bb shell no matter what bb I am installing, it will save everyone troubles down the road. Also, face your headtube as well. Even an inexpensive headset in a properly prepared frame that is maintained well will last a long time (but you should still go for the King headset!)

For those of you with a Dura Ace equipped bike that want a more maintainance free bb, get a Dura Ace TRACK bb. Sealed cartridge design w/ a Dura Ace quality bearing!
How bad are you about maintainence?Caseysdad
Sep 17, 2003 8:07 AM
Okay, I'll go out on a limb here and assume that I'm not the only inexperienced (read: "ignorant") person reading this thread who needs to have somebody explain exactly what "chasing" and "facing" a BB shell is. Please educate us!
Pony up the extra 50g, install and forget the Ultegra. nmMShaw
Sep 13, 2003 5:43 PM
Pony up the extra 50g, install and forget the Ultegra. nmpeterofdevon
Sep 14, 2003 1:49 PM
I have 18K on mine. I have rebuilt it twice---bearing by bearing. It tests your dextarity but gives you a big sense of accomplishment. It is smoother then Ultegra, silkier.
re: How bad is Dura Ace BB? Advise/Opinions please?WiseGuy
Sep 14, 2003 2:23 PM
I have about 8K miles on mine and it works very nicely. I ride occasionally in the rain. Unless the rain is heavy, all I do is be sure there is no water in the bottom bracket area by draining. My general maintenance is to pull the bottom bracket out once a quarter, add grease, make sure there is not dirt where it shouldn't be and reassemble. I do a complete overhaul once a year in the winter. The whole thing takes about 30 minutes. The setup is a little tricky until you get the hang of it. I used the Park Tool site method using a piece of tape with indexing marks to be sure I have zero play. I really like mine and don't mind taking care of my bike.
No problem for people who can do maintenanceKerry Irons
Sep 14, 2003 5:01 PM
One of my riding buddies has one, and he's never had any problems. People who treat them like cartridge BB's and don't know how/don't care to maintain them are bound to have problems. Apparently, this is a large group of people, and includes many LBS wrenches who have gotten lazy. Otherwise, the DA BB works fine by all reports.