RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


A quick thumbs up on 03 Veloce!(16 posts)

A quick thumbs up on 03 Veloce!the bull
Sep 5, 2003 11:47 AM
I rode 40 miles on my new Veloce group this morning.
I works great! It shifs nice and brakes work exellent.
The calipers have orbital adjustment kind of like Record!
The group is heavy and not as "polished" as the groups above it.
Nine speed is perfect for a rain bike.
Who wants 10 on and carefree beater any way!
I will write a full on review(on this site) in a couple of months after I have put more miles on it.
re: A quick thumbs up on 03 Veloce!the bull
Sep 5, 2003 11:48 AM
Testthe bull
Sep 5, 2003 12:09 PM
Test
For a second there I thought ..the bull
Sep 5, 2003 12:15 PM
Doug had some troll stopper software installed that would not let people reply to my posts!:)

Good Idea, Huh? If I was considered a troll at times! Am I?
Are the Veloce Chainrings steel?carpe_podium
Sep 5, 2003 1:26 PM
And do the hubs have the external adjusters? I've been considering replacing the worn out 8 sp 105 on my rain bike, and since I'm now a Campy man...
Looks like....the bull
Sep 5, 2003 2:02 PM
The chainrings are a alloy.
The hubs have adjustable bearings.
The sprokets are steel with a nickel chrome finish.
So where did you get it and how much?import silvia
Sep 5, 2003 2:42 PM
If you don't mind my asking...
Check it out!the bull
Sep 5, 2003 6:05 PM
Reparto Corse has them with wheelset for 475 bucks.
NOT BAD!
re: A quick thumbs up on 03 Veloce!_jim_
Sep 5, 2003 8:01 PM
wow, 'the bull' reviews a 2003 group when the 2004 stuff is about to be be released. useful
It is useful!the bull
Sep 5, 2003 11:46 PM
Because 03 Veloce will be 04 9s Veloce even theough Veloce will also be avalible in 10s.

Cut and paste from Campy's site:
The 9s double and triple drivetrains are still part of the 2004 range.
It has certainly earned its place in the 2004 range because of the many qualities of the materials, and the performance of the Veloce 9s groupset, and its excellent value for money.
The quality of a product is determined by its reliability and durability. The Veloce groupset is a good example. The materials and the manufacturing and assembly tolerances are normally found only in top-end products.
Sporting and decisive character of Veloce 9s together with its interesting price make it the only choice for cyclists with a racing spirit.
P.S.the bull
Sep 6, 2003 12:25 AM
Looks like something got stuck on your aero bar:) nmdivve
Sep 6, 2003 10:07 AM
_jim_ is right !flakey
Sep 6, 2003 7:04 AM
I'm with _jim_ on this one. Your reviewing a groupset that has been out since 2002. The Veloce group has been virtually unchanged since then. The only news is that there will be a 10 speed group for '04. A review of the 10 speed group would be helpful and relevant.
Well...the bull
Sep 6, 2003 10:39 AM
1 A good deal never goes out of style.
2 It is still on the market and will be for another year.
3 At over 300 veiws it is obviously interesting to some.
4 Most people buying Veloce want good performance at a good price.I just wanted to give it a "Quick thumbs up"!

So while some of you might not be interested some are.
So I dont feel wrong in posting what I did.
I agree w/ the bullcarpe_podium
Sep 6, 2003 1:02 PM
Why would someone question the relevance of this post? The groupset will still be available next year. It's also likely to be discounted, like the 9sp Daytona stuff was, when the 10sp stuff comes out. Ignore 'em bull, I appreciated your post.
I agree alsobimini
Sep 9, 2003 12:31 PM
I am sure there will be some real bargins to be found on the 2003 Veloce group when the 2004 Veloce 10 speeds hit the market.

Good to see that the sprocket set is plated. Some of the earlier Veloce was not.

I will be buying a new partial group - I will be looking for Veloce 9 speed bargins. My BB, chainrings, sprockets, chain & rear derailiuer have worn out.