RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


mavic cxp33(8 posts)

mavic cxp33cmcd
Aug 27, 2003 1:12 AM
building a set of road wheels for my mountain bike and i was thinking of using cxp33's. anyone out there have any other recomendations. i weigh 170lbs. and i'll be pulling a trailer with about 40lbs. of gear.
re: mavic cxp33WOY
Aug 27, 2003 5:27 AM
I have a set of CXP33 on my road bike with Hugi 240s. I come from a mountain biking background and I would think if you want to build a set of road wheels for a MTB they would be perfect! They are plenty strong although a touch heavy.
Wayne
Unless I'm missing something, CXP33 will not fit a MTB. (nm)TFerguson
Aug 27, 2003 5:39 AM
would 650s fit? (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 27, 2003 7:13 AM
I've seen it (sort of)pitt83
Aug 27, 2003 7:47 AM
A guy had 650's laced to XT hubs. Don't even ask what spoke length or type he used. He had them on a Rocky Mtn rigid honed down in weight. Set up was for Mt. Washington race. Not bad if you can get the franken-bike light enough!
650s are about 1 cm larger...TFerguson
Aug 27, 2003 10:20 AM
could rim brakes be adjusted that far?
TF
I just took a 700c and popped it in a Super Light...TFerguson
Aug 27, 2003 10:38 AM
on the front with a tire mounted and it fits fine. It looks as though you could get a cm of adjustment out of the rim brakes for a 650c, I don't have one to try. If that works, or you have disk brakes, a set of CXP-33s laced to the same hubs used for your MTB would be a great set up.
TF
Maybe they can if used with discs........DaveLobster
Aug 27, 2003 8:51 AM
Recently Mavic introduced a product call "Speedcity" wheels. They are 700c rims laced to disc compatible mountain hubs. They are for mountain bikes, but take road bike tires. Bicycling Magazine reviewed them a month or so ago.

Supposedly, if you take the rim brakes out of the equation, you can fit 700c rims onto "most" disc-braked mountain bike frames. I guess that the overall diameter of the tire itself is close enough to work. Check it out at: http://www.bicycling.com/gear/review/0,5072,4808,00.html?category_id=361&article_type_id=63&family_id=124 or http://www.mavic.com/servlet/srt/mavic/asph-prod_fiche?produitsid=82&textnum=1&lg=uk.

-Dave