RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


looking for wheel suggestions(13 posts)

looking for wheel suggestionsgf99
Aug 22, 2003 10:12 AM
I've been riding a low end bike for three years and am in the processing of buying my first upper end bike.

I'm a 175 lb, 150-175 mile/week rider on mostly good road surfaces. I don't currently race but am planning to enter occasional road races or tri's but strictly for fun. I'm trying to pick a single wheelset that meets my needs.

Handbuilt Dura Ace/Open Pro seems to fit the bill and seems like a lot of bang for the buck. I'm interested in everyone's opinion and suggested alternatives.

Thanks!
I can vouch for Kysrium - a little pricey but reliable nmRoyGBiv
Aug 22, 2003 10:33 AM
Same here...REZA
Aug 22, 2003 11:30 AM
I ride Kysrium SSC's on my Zeppelin. Yes a bit $$$, but very nice wheelset. They handle everything and anything, light and strong!!

You may have to spend money (Unless used or a deal)for performance wheels that will last. If not, even a Mavic Pro should do.

Great experience with Mavic products, ride a X317 Disc on my Tracer.
I can vouch for Kysrium - a little pricey but reliable nmrlupien
Aug 22, 2003 8:00 PM
Been riding the Kysriums for about 2 months now. Hit a rock yesterday. Thought I'd have to true the front for sure. Checked it when I got back to base. Looked fine.
I like these wheels!
I can vouch for Kysrium - a little pricey but reliable nmrlupien
Aug 22, 2003 8:08 PM
Oh, one other thing. You'll need a special spoke wrench.
I found one at http://www.excelsports.com. These guys have just about everything.
re: looking for wheel suggestionsasgelle
Aug 22, 2003 12:28 PM
- Handbuilt Dura Ace/Open Pro seems to fit the bill and seems like a lot of bang for the buck.

Agree. If someone suggests a more expensive choice, I would ask just what the extra money is buying and what is the trade off in terms of build quality and ease of repair.
re: looking for wheel suggestionszzxcvv
Aug 22, 2003 3:26 PM
Agree with dura-ace/open pro combonation. Go with DT spokes and nips. Get a -really knowlegable- wheelbuilder to build them, don't be afraid to ask if they have some certification (or if not, what is their experience).
re: looking for wheel suggestionsdsm
Aug 22, 2003 3:12 PM
An advantage with custom handbuilt wheels is that they can be fixed and/or rebuilt quickly, easily and cheaply. Parts (i.e. spokes, nipples and rims) are also easy to come by at most local bike shops.

Depending upon what you are looking for, you can go for light weight (Velocity Aerohead/Mavic Open Pros), slightly aero (Velocity Fusion/Mavic CX33) or aero (Velocity Deep V). Spokes can be DB or slightly bladed (Wheelsmith AE14 and AE15). Lots of choices with other products available from other vendors.

Good luck
re: looking for wheel suggestionsvidal
Aug 22, 2003 3:26 PM
Velomax Orion Comps (the 2002 model) about 1530 gms for the set. Excellent wheelset. Quick acceleration, have not had to true them yet. Check out the review on this website - hard to beat. $450 on bicyclecuys.com.
re: looking for wheel suggestionsB2
Aug 22, 2003 4:39 PM
Personally I would stay away from the OP's (YMMV). I haven't heard any negative reports on the Velocity rims so I'm thinking about building a new set of wheels using these rims instead of the OP's.

Bryan
re: looking for wheel suggestionsxcmntgeek
Aug 24, 2003 5:58 AM
I second the vote against the OP's. I love the D/A hubs; and, so far, DT spokes have been great to me. I hear the CXP33 rims are nice, but I haven't had the opportunity to ride them other than a parking lot spin.
Your first choice is fine, consider Velocity Aeroheads (nm)Kerry Irons
Aug 22, 2003 6:20 PM
re: looking for wheel suggestionsamlpeterson
Aug 23, 2003 12:48 PM
I bought the Bontanger Race X-lites about two months ago. the are just a little heavier than Mavic K's, but ride smoother. It's strange, they are lighter the my previous wheelset(Rock Vetor Comps), but lighter and feel smoother. As when I coner they is no flex, but when I am riing up right and hit a pot hole they feel smoother and less harsh. Plus they are good enough for Lance Armstrong and are cheaper my about 150 retail than Mavic K's.