RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


So what do you all think of the new 2004 Campagnolo Lineup?(15 posts)

So what do you all think of the new 2004 Campagnolo Lineup?Synchronicity
Aug 18, 2003 10:21 PM
http://www.campyonly.com/rumors/2004_lineup.html#2004%20Record

Particularly the Record group?
Personally, I like the front derailleur and the chain, and..... well, that's it.

I think the rear derailleur looks a bit cheap. I don't like the way the CF cage looks so fat & wide and stamped-out looking. I much prefer the svelte alloy cage of the current derailleur.
Also don't like the 2004 carbon record cranks; in my opinion a spider should be just that: a spider. With legs. The longer and slenderer the better. The essence of a crankset shouldn't be some ugly blob hiding your BB axle. That spider is too damn stumpy for my liking. Not trying to start a war, but at least I still like it better than the opposition! [Some consolation there] But in all honesty I think the 2004 designs [shimano DA too] plain-well suck. The crank is one of the major parts of a group; if you can't get that right......well.
Here is 2004 Dura Ace for comparison + electronic record 2005.Synchronicity
Aug 18, 2003 10:52 PM
You've probably all seen it months ago,

http://actionwheels.com/site/page.cfm?PageID=225

I think that crank looks like T-1000 from Terminator 2 punched through a normal alloy crankset sideways from the BB shell towards the pedal spindle! PuG UgLy.

What a long wait it's going to be until electronic record comes out in 2005:
http://www.campyonly.com/rumors/new_electronic_record_2.html
Chorus better than ever...C-40
Aug 19, 2003 4:48 AM
As Campy continues to advance the Record group, Chorus is the big winner. With the new carbon ergo levers, I'll probably get Chorus instead of Record on my next bike.
Chorus better than ever...Rusty Coggs
Aug 19, 2003 5:36 AM
Already got record levers, cranks, chorus everything else.Why wait? It mixes and matches.
i dunnorufus
Aug 19, 2003 7:41 AM
i'm not a huge carbon fan, and i liked the option of chorus' alloy levers. i like nice shiny silver stuff. now there isn't that option.
finally someone who...moschika
Aug 19, 2003 9:45 AM
doesn't think carbon is a godsend. sometimes i feel i'm the only one who doesn't drool at carbon parts.
carbon is just plastic who can get excited about plastic? nmTheTank
Aug 19, 2003 11:25 AM
Destroyed Carbon Record Rear Derailleur!aerox
Aug 19, 2003 5:08 PM
I like CARBON fiber on certain parts of the bike (ie. brake levers). But Carbon fiber on the rear derailleur...not a good idea!
I found this item on eBay.
It's amazing the amount of cash people are willing to pay for Campy stuff!
Too bad...Fez
Aug 19, 2003 8:51 AM
I agree with Rufus below. There's something classy and timeless about polished alloy components. Matches nicely with both painted AND unpainted bikes.

Carbon components are nice, but they probably work best with cutting edge and super modern bike styles. Doesn't look great with older or newer, but more classic looking bikes.

And there's something nice and worry free about wiping down the surface of polished alloy parts. Don't want to worry about messing up the finish on carbon levers, cranks, rear and front derailleurs, seatposts, etc.

Campy is really going away from polished alloy this year. Chorus has gone largely carbon, so you have to go further low end to get polished alloy. And several of the lower end groups are now featuring a black aluminum finish. WTF?
Too bad...pedalruns
Aug 19, 2003 3:48 PM
I know what you mean... A month ago I changed most of my drive train from Ultegra to Campy Record.. I was originally going with Chorus as I wanted the shiney sliver, but I had a friend at a LBS that was able to get me a good price on the record, so I went with record..

At first I looked at the carbon levers and didn't like them, but after a month of riding.. I LOVE them.. With the Ultegra I always felt like I was going to slide off the levers(yes I use gloves) with all the sweat from the heat (I'm in TX). Well the carbon levers aren't slippery, solved the problem!! And also they will not be cold on the winter rides.. I'm really liking the levers now... And I'm loving the new shifting, it is so much faster than my old ultegra!

I am glad I have my group now, I wouldn't want any more carbon... And I think Chorus is the big winner.
Technological Advancement Is One Thing But...Indurain 03
Aug 19, 2003 5:15 PM
Making classic alloy a thing of the past is quite another. With the addition of carbon to the Chorus line, I think that Campy should have at least provided the consumer with the option of alloy. Personally I prefer alloy levers to carbon and would like the choice between the two without having to look at a lower end Campy group or jumping ship to Dura Ace.
Yes I agree...Synchronicity
Aug 19, 2003 6:51 PM
Chorus is the big winner.

Campy has gone out on a limb by assuming all the fans prefer carbon over aluminium. I happen to like CF, but I can understand that those with aluminium bikes prefer aluminium parts - it matches. And there is less worry about finishes, etc. Don't they think they'll lose supporters over to DuraAce?

I have recently bought the 2003 carbon record crankset, it arrived a few days ago. I got the 74th 75mm right side arm of the production line. Or was it the 75th? And the 4-hundred-and-something left arm. I've wanted them for approximately two years, but I read that there were quality issues with the finish, etc.
Anyway, to my surprise, instead of opening up the box and absolutely relishing the quality, etc , I was /really/ dissappointed & dismayed when I noticed that the cranks have these unsightly seams all around the edge of them where the two halves of the mould joins together. My kestrel doesn't look like that: it's all smoooooth! NOTE: you can't see it from all the web-shots of the cranks from the side. You'd have to see a close up photo at an angle to be able to spot it.

The actual expoxy finish was very nice indeed; nicely shiny and polished looking. But I thought the quality of the seams could only be described as poor. You don't notice it from 2 or 3 feet away - only when you've got them in your hot little hands. But I genuinely still think it isn't good enough. This is supposed to be the very best, top-quality?
They're bad enough that I wouldn't want to show them to anyone; I think they'd say: "you paid that much for them to look like that?"

So..... I haven't installed them yet. I feel extremely guilty that I spent that much on them now. I mean REALLY guilty. Should I call campagnolo here in Australia and complain? Will some cranks be better than others? Will they all have the seam?
I guess so.

That is why with the hype that goes with the 2004 parts states that the new process for forming the unidirectional record & chorus cranks is more industrialised/automated and so the quality control is better.
Bugger it.

I bought them 'cause I hate the look of the new 2004 carbon cranks. They just won't go with my bike. I wanted that "weave look" over the whole bike.
Bugger it again.
re: So what do you all think of the new 2004 Campagnolo Lineup?Rob Sal
Aug 20, 2003 2:27 AM
Wow where shall I start (I'm only taking about Record and Chorus here)!!!???

Alloy Cranks: by far the most controversial change for 2004 Campag in my opinion is the ditching of the perfectly sound Chorus 95-03 crank to be replaced by the '4 arms' Record crank. Since 1986 the 4 arm design has been THE icon of Record components!!!! Well, not anymore I guess! Clearly either existing Record owners will be rather cheesed off that their crank is available for a lot less OR new Chorus buyers will find the Chorus crank is a lot more than the 95-03 one was. Why they couldn't have just left this area alone is beyond me. They could even have had a triple version of the 95-03 Chorus cranks!! Now the only difference between the groups is the anti friction coating on Record.

Rear Mech: The new Chorus mech looks fine except that according to the prices listed at Campy only it will retail for the same price as 2003 Record even though it lacks the Ti bolts!!!!!
I am undecided about the look of the Record mech, the fatter flatter carbon cage looks pretty cheap (but isn't!) and resembles the after market cage parts you could get a few years ago. The long cage version uses multi directional carbon rather than the short/medium unidirectional.

Carbon cranks: Not interested.

Seat posts: Why are they ditching the Ti Chorus post for another carbon post!? And why ruin the look of the carbon post by putting the groupset name on the side!?

Front Mech: I am not at all surprised to see the Record Triple mech is to become the Centaur one because when I first took my Record mech out the box I thought it was Centaur with rough edges all over it despite being twice the price!!! Nice to see future buyers get Ti bolts and some holes cut in the cage!! The carbon cage of the double Record is described in the press release as 'replaceable' which in my book is code for 'easily breakable'.

Bottle cages (!?) The Record one looks very cool, the price is not at £123 each!!! The Chorus one looks pretty awful.
"Unidirectional Carbon" might it be just black Bakelite? :) nmdivve
Aug 20, 2003 4:07 AM
Oh man it is Bakelite......divve
Aug 20, 2003 4:23 AM