RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


DA durable?(13 posts)

DA durable?Steve-a-Reno
Aug 15, 2003 10:42 AM
Ok this is more of a wnat than a need I understand .... or is it? I'm looking at buying new(2003) Dura Ace BB, crankset w/rings, FD, and brakes. But after reading the reviews here I am thinking maybe for a 6',2" 220 lb masher I might want to go the way of Ultegra and suffer the very slight weight penalty and loss of chi-chi factor. What say you? Is Dura Ace worth the apparent troubles?
Left Brake Hoodlotterypick
Aug 15, 2003 10:53 AM
You know, I've broken two of them already. Meaning, they won't shift the front derailleur from the small to the big.

I'm wondering if it's a technique thing for me, once I get the new one installed I'll ask for a short tutorial from the guy.

Wondering about it too. I've broken 2 now. I think it's me.
Me too...shifting problemsdasho
Aug 17, 2003 12:14 PM
In the past I have had 105s, Ultegra, and now Dura Ace. I only have 3,000 miles on them and have had shifter problems. It never really felt "right to me". I am now having problems getting the rear der to move from the larger cogs to the smaller ones (outward). I never had these problems with 105s or Ultegra and will take it to the shop again but I'm not happy with this happening so soon.
don't get the DA BBwheelsucker
Aug 15, 2003 10:54 AM
Dura Ace is great with the exception of the BB(especially if your a big guy or a powerful rider). You would almost certainly have to get it cleaned(relubed) and adjusted every few months. They creak with every turn of the pedal to the point you start wondering if your frame is broken, drove me insane, same with some of the other riders I know. get the DA just sell(or trade it) the BB and get the Ultegra.
Maybe get the DA BBGalibier
Aug 18, 2003 6:38 AM
I have used the same DA BB for 2.5 years. Within a few weeks of when it was first installed, it began creaking and running roughly during a road race. I took my bike back to the shop and had the BB readjusted. Thereafter, I had no problems. Approximately one year later, I was involved in a rather violent crash. As part of the overall inspection and tuning up of my bike, I had the BB serviced -- relubed and reinstalled. That was about 1.5 years ago. Since then, I have done nothing to the BB, and it continues to run very smoothly. While I try to avoid riding in the rain, it is obviously impossible, so my DA BB has withstood all kinds of weather and fairly hard use quite well. I think the key is careful installation.
What I did. (advice inside)Zonic Man
Aug 15, 2003 11:14 AM
Skip the BB, Brakes, FD.

Go ultegra on those.

Skip the chain and rear cassette.

Go Sram R9/PC-99R on those.

Go DA cranks, RD, STI shifters, Chain.

you'll be a happy man. Best price/performance/weight factors for a bigger guy in my experience.
If you are willing to wait a couple months...russw19
Aug 15, 2003 12:14 PM
Dura Ace is going to be a completely new group... you should see some good closeouts on 2003 Dura-Ace stuff. Ultegra, on the other hand, will not change one bit.. so the price will stay the same.... if you are willing to wait for 2004 Dura-Ace to hit the market, you may get a good deal on the older stuff.. same can't be said for Ultegra because it's the same stuff as last year, so no need to discount it.

Also, as far as the scientific tests go, the Ultegra crank is said to be slightly stiffer than the Dura-Ace crank. But it's also heavier. But it's cheaper... so you decide. Also, the amount that it is stiffer will most likely not be percievable to any human, but only to a machine calibrated to measure crank arm flex in thousandths of a millimeter. Keep that in mind.

Russ
Would this change your opinion....?Steve-a-Reno
Aug 15, 2003 1:15 PM
If I were to tell you (now hold onto your sprockets here), that the Dura Ace parts were going on a recumbent (GASP. There, I've said it!) frameset that I'm having built? So no weight will be atop the BB or crankset.
http://www.x-eyed.com/corsa1.html
Is DA (except the BB maybe) acceptable in this application?

Ban me or make me wear the scarlet "R" jersey if you need to, but I just can't ride the Victoire and get numbness anymore.
Would this change your opinion....?Noeayste
Aug 15, 2003 5:12 PM
There is nothing wrong with Recumbents.
I have ridden a few and they are great fun.
But I would still go with the Ultegra BB .
Unless you must have the lightest.
It is more durable under heavy spinning.
Thanks.Steve-a-Reno
Aug 15, 2003 7:38 PM
eayste I will most likely go with the Ultegra BB and the rest DA if the prices come down when the '04 stuff comes out. Is there a prefered online place to shop for this type of gear?
Best bang for your buck........davet
Aug 16, 2003 5:42 AM
..would be to use Dura Ace shifters and dérailleurs, with everything else being Ultegra. You will get the most benefit from the great shifting the the Dura Ace, and the cost saving of the Ultegra and the durability of the Ultegra bottom bracket.

For pricing, check here: http://www.comparisonpricing.com/
Would this change your opinion....?Ironbutt
Aug 16, 2003 9:24 AM
You are going to LOVE the Bachetta. There are a number of recumbent riders in my cycling club, and the ones that don't have Bachettas want them. They are well thought out and nicely crafted. Just don't call the rest of our bikes "wedgies."
When is the '04 DA due out?Steve-a-Reno
Aug 17, 2003 4:16 PM
And when should I be looking for deals on the '03?