RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Which group is better???(14 posts)

Which group is better???jallison007
Aug 14, 2003 10:44 AM
Which component group is better, Campy Record or Shimano Dura Ace????? WHY?????????????
Can't argue this! It's impossible and illogicalrussw19
Aug 14, 2003 11:47 AM
Read some back posts about this... but the arguement can not be settled one way or the other.

It's like asking which was a better band, the Stones or the Beatles... which is better ice cream, Chocolate or Vanilla... Porsche or Ferarri, boxers or briefs...

Not trying to be a jerk, but it's not an answerable question because it comes down to a matter of taste. Go test ride both groups and decide for yourself, then you will know the answer to the unanswerable question.

Many here have their opinions, and I will hold mine... I have both groups on multiple bikes, but as much as I like some things about one group, I like other things about the other. But this is just opening a big ol' can of worms to try to answer this (not that it doesn't come up all the time, so check back posts if you like...)

Russ
Russ, maybe its flame bait.Fez
Aug 14, 2003 12:42 PM
If its legit, just do a search for some opinions. No reason to waste more bandwidth by starting another which group is better thread.
Fez, that was my philosophical flame retardant response... nmrussw19
Aug 14, 2003 1:48 PM
When it boils down Russ..the bull
Aug 14, 2003 5:15 PM
you know your a Campy guy!
When it boils down Russ..russw19
Aug 15, 2003 11:59 AM
Always have been too.... but I started to ride and race in the mid 80's when Campy was King. And the four or five riders I idolized at the time all rode Campy. Lemond was a Campy guy (until he rode Mavic for a couple years) Stephen Roche was a Campy guy (hell, he and Sean Kelly still rode toe clips!) my cycling coach and best friend swore by Campy... so it was natural I would too.

I started to take the sport seriously right when Campy introduced C-Record, which if anyone can make an argument that group wasn't the nicest looking and possibly best group ever to hit the market, I would be surprised. My first bike was Campy Super and Nuevo Record mix, but I got it on sale right when Campy put out C-Record. Shimano was putting out SIS and I was on sweet, sweet Campy friction. I was 14 and I quickly outgrew that bike.. my next was a Shimano bike, and I stayed on Shimano for a long time after that, always wanting to be on Campy again. The 2nd bike I had was Shimano 600 equipped and it was index shift. Well that really impressed me, as the shifting was now mindless... reach down, push of pull the shifter one time, and that's it. Gears were now simple. Campy tried to follow suit, but like Suntour at the time, just couldn't get it quite right.

I briefly had a Suntour Superbe Pro bike, and liked it, but it was like the bastard child in my collection of bikes. As nice as that stuff was, and as much as I wish I had it now, it was neither here nor there at the time. It rode nice, and was super smooth, and I never had to work on it in the entire 6 months I had it (even after a few rain rides) but it was Suntour.... neither Shimano nor Campy, so it wasn't taken seriously, and neither were you if you rode it. Like I said, I wish I had it now, because it really was a fine group and I would love to have a retro Superbe Pro bike, but at the time, it just wasn't Shimano or Campy.

Then the big change happened... Shimano went STI and for me it was over for Campy for the next 10 years. Once I rode STI, I knew I was hooked! Man! 8 speed shifting from the bars! No more taking your hand off in the final corner of a criterium 200 yards before the line.. and you can still shift into the right sprinting gear... and continue to shift while you are out of the saddle in your jump! Man, this stuff was for me! I was racing a lot of crits at that time (in 1990 thru 1996, most of American races were crits..) and at the time I had just got a spot racing in the NBL, which was a weird criterium format racing league that was more like playing football than cycling, but I was getting paid and that was enough for me. STI was the greatest thing since Tulio actually invented the quick release and later the derailleur itself. I think the next 12 or 13 bikes I had after that were all Shimano. 4 of those were mountain bikes, 1 XT and 3 XTR, and the other 8 or 9 road bikes were all Dura-Ace STI. I was never going back...

Until this spring. I quite racing back in about 1996 or 97 and have just been a recreational rider since. I started bartending at that time and so my daytimes were spent sleeping, not riding. I started to ride again 2 years ago, and my first bike back was of course a Dura-Ace STI bike.. but this spring I built a Record 10 speed bike and my initial love of Campy from being a 14 year old kid is now renewed! I love everything about it! It shifts great (unlike the last time I tried 1st generation Ergopower) and I liked the shape of the hoods. The group is beyond beautiful and it works perfectly too. Now I still have a Dura-Ace bike, but I ride it back and forth to school... when I am riding for pleasure, I am riding Campy. I also bought a mid 80's Merckx with Campy Super Record in the spring, and every time I ride that, I think back to being a kid and wondering where the time has gone. I turned 30 last week, so that trip down sentimental street is tougher than for some of the younger guys on the board, but those who are 30 know what I mea
post too long and cut off....russw19
Aug 15, 2003 12:01 PM
....but those who are 30 know what I mean by this.

So now, when I think about it, Bull is right, I am a Campy guy. Sure, I still ride Shimano, and I will probably get a 2004 Dura-Ace bike next year, but Campy is what got me into the sport, and Campy will most likely keep me in the sport. There is an aesthetic quality to Campy parts that makes me look at bikes in awe again like I was still the 14 year old kid who dreamed of one day beating the best riders in the world on my Campy equipped bike. Some people say a group has no soul... maybe that's true, but I do, and it's linked forever in time with Campy parts.

I'm gonna go ride my bike now and act like I am still 14 years old and without a care in the world.

Russ
Wow I think I am gonna cry!the bull
Aug 15, 2003 1:38 PM
Thanks for writing that up.
I never seen a post run out of space.
It is good to see this flamebait post brought out something good!
I will always respect your opinions and posts, Russ, Thanks!
There's one significant difference.divve
Aug 14, 2003 1:34 PM
It's the feel of the hoods. Personally, I can't get really comfortable with DA. On the other hand the Ergos feel as if they were custom molded for my hands.
If you have to ask get Dura-Ace!the bull
Aug 14, 2003 5:13 PM
Really you should start out with some 105!
Because you probally dont know "Diddly" about components!
I like Record I think it feels better and shifts better.
I would not recomend it to anyone.
For the average Joe I would recomend Shimmano.
It is easy for the LBS to set up and you dont really have to mess with it.
Most people that are not too bike savy ride Shimmano.
Most Techs I know that dig on the way stuff is built are drawn to Campy.
IT comes down to this.
When campy is working good it is awesome but can be tricky if you dont know what you are doing.
Shimmano is easy to set up and stays good with little or no effort.
Both work well....beyond that it's personal philosophyDY
Aug 14, 2003 7:00 PM
Are you a Mercedes driver or a Lexus driver? A BMW driver or an Infiniti driver?

Same as do you prefer to ride Campy or Shimano?

Do you want the real thing or a copy?

Which is the real thing?

It all depends on you and how you feel about these issues. It isn't about function. They both function well.
Mercedes = gangster rapper car:) nm.divve
Aug 14, 2003 11:14 PM
re: Which group is better???mackgoo
Aug 15, 2003 5:07 AM
Record, of course, you dope. But if you must ask Dura Ace you'll be happy.
re: Which group is better???moschika
Aug 15, 2003 7:27 AM
if either is good enough for the pro peloton, then either is probably more then good enough for you(assumption) or me(not assumption).