RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Any Suggestions for 1" light aero carbon fork w/45+ rake?(8 posts)

Any Suggestions for 1" light aero carbon fork w/45+ rake?jjdbike
Jul 19, 2003 3:33 AM
I have an 01 Giant Team Once & want to upgrade my Ginat fork. I am looking for light weight & realitvly aero. 1" head tube. Most of the realy light weight forks come only in 1 1/8". All I can find is the Easton EC 90. The only concern I have is that the rake is 43. My current fork rake is 45. The bike bareley fits me (some what small & my toe gets pretty close to the front wheel on slow turns). I am also somewhat challenged when it comes to holding a straight smooth line in a fast pace line & do not want the bike to be any twitchier. I am afraid that shortinging the fork rake form 45 to 43 will do just that & my toe may scrape the back end of my fornt wheel on slow turns. Any fork suggestions other than replacing the frame?
Thanks much!
re: Any Suggestions for 1" light aero carbon fork w/45+ rake?rogue_CT1
Jul 19, 2003 3:40 AM
Check out the bikeparts.net web site. They sell the FTT deep aero carbon fork. It comes in 1" and it is full carbon. I don't know the rake but it is an extremely aero and stiff fork. Best of all it is reasonably priced.

If you want an even lighter fork they sell the FAC fork that is 345 grams.

All of their products are very high quality, I have one of their frames and forks.
Thanks, good price but 43 rake and the light one isn't aero (NM)jjdbike
Jul 19, 2003 11:33 AM
re: Wrong rake concept.Al1943
Jul 19, 2003 11:38 AM
Going from a 45mm rake to a 43mm rake will increase the trail and slow the steering. It will help the bike to track in a straighter line. A 43 will NOT make it twitchy. And I really doubt that 2mm will make any difference to your toe overlap. There are several good forks available in 1". I recommend the Reynolds Ouzo Pro. To lose significant weight you need a carbon fork with a carbon steerer tube.
~Al
re: Any Suggestions for 1" light aero carbon fork w/45+ rake?biggearlover
Jul 19, 2003 1:35 PM
Try the True Temper Alpha Q, or the Alpha Q Sub 3. The last one is very light. They both have a kind of aerodynamic profile (for all that's worth)and are available in 1" and 44 mm rake. On sale at Excel for $ 300,-.
Why buy a new fork????northcoast
Jul 19, 2003 2:06 PM
I can see the point if your current fork is broken or not stiff enough.....but if it is just to get a better aero advantage or lose weight, spend your money somewhere better.

The Giant forks I have seen already seem VERY aero. If this is the type your bike has, then you probably won't gain anything even if your go to a Reynolds Aero fork. If weight is an issue, buy some better wheels. There is no better upgrade for the money than better wheels.
Columbus Musclespookyload
Jul 20, 2003 8:33 AM
It has a 45mm rake, is very light, and fairly aero. I have to agree with another poster, you won't find much more aero than the stock fork. So you need to look at wether aero is more important than weight/rake/composition. I switched the Kestrel fork on my 200SCi to a muscle, and it was a fantasic upgrade in the handling of the bike in the moutains. Both up and down the hills. It went from a 43 to a 45 rake. You can notice the difference BTW.
Try the Look HSC3. Only $145 at totalcycling.commaurizio
Jul 21, 2003 10:56 AM
The twitchy feeling may be due to the short wheelbase that is prominent on the Giant. Came this close to getting one, but couldn't get past the short top tube with long stem solution. That in my opinion only compromises handling. (I bought the Fondriest P4 carbon by the way and couldn't be happier - even though it is heavier).
Anyhow, on my previous ride (Bianchi Ti), I switched from the stock 'aero' fork to the Look HSC3 fork with the 1" steerer. I too, felt like the bike wandered at speed and was especially twitchy in high speed turning decents.
The aero forks in my opinion don't have the lateral stiffness necessary to keep the wheel from bouncing left to right. The Look HSC forks have that really nice triangular profile that made a huge difference in the stability dept.
For the money that total cycling is asking, it might be a worthy choice.
Some may blast you for putting a French fork on a Asian bike, but let your riding do the talking back.
If this doesn't help your situation, I would suggest a bike with a longer top tube and/or wheelbase.
Look at the majority of the bikes from ESTABLISHED manufacturers and they will almost always stay away from fad geometry and stick with what has worked for years.
Innovation is one thing, but offering a bike in only 3 sizes and expecting a stem to fix it is not too keen.
Good Luck!