RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Speedplay X2 or Speedplay Zero(11 posts)

Speedplay X2 or Speedplay ZeroshrEd
Jul 15, 2003 4:51 AM
OK, so I've decided to go w/ Speedplay pedals, but I'm not sure whether to go w/ the X2 or the Zero (stainless steel).

Anyone have any thoughts on this decision?

Thanks in advance...
re: Speedplay X2 or Speedplay ZeroJuanmoretime
Jul 15, 2003 4:55 AM
I've never ridden Zero's so I can't comment. I started riding X2's back in 91 and progressed to X1's about 5 years ago, awesome pedals. I tried riding some other pedals and alway wind up back on the Speedplay's within a month. I quit trying other pedals. This, of course, is my opinion.
re: Speedplay XChen2
Jul 15, 2003 6:18 AM
I don't see any reason to limit the float unless you have really long feet and are concerned about your heels hitting the chain stays, and that seems unlikely. I too ride X1's.
re: Speedplay X2 or Speedplay Zerotook
Jul 15, 2003 6:46 AM
ditto on the x2's. if you're real worried about the float, go w/ the zero's, but i've never had problems w/ my x2's. they pretty much cost the same no matter where you buy them, so get them from a place with a generous return policy sos you can try em out and return/exchange if necessary.
re: Speedplay X2 or Speedplay ZeroLouis_G
Jul 15, 2003 8:12 AM
I just got my first road bike yesterday. I had them put on X2's based on some knee pain I get riding my mountain bike (which has Shimano M515s on it) and the high reviews on this site.

So I picked my bike up after work and went on a 10 mile quicky. I have pretty long feet (47-48 cycling shoe) and I was actually using the float during my ride. I felt my feet turning a bit at times. My frame is a Klein Q-Carbon Race and I didn't have any problems with inside float and hitting any part of the bike on my ride yesterday. I did a little bit of standing work and the float didn't bother me there either. These pedals are extremely easy to get in and out of. Only real disadvantage I can see so far is that they are impossible to walk in with my shoes.
re: walkingChen2
Jul 15, 2003 10:29 AM
I carry the Speedplay cleat covers with me if I expect to do any walking, like at a rest stop or convenience store.
~Al
re: walkingLouis_G
Jul 15, 2003 3:37 PM
I ordered a pair from Colorado Cyclist 2nd day ship. Thanks for the tip!
re: Speedplay X2 or Speedplay ZeroMink
Jul 15, 2003 10:47 AM
I've been using the X1s for a couple of months, after using SPDs with limited float for years. At first I found my right heel would clip the seat-stay on climbs, but (without trying to modify my technique) in the last couple of weeks I found that doesn't happen anymore. I've learned my feet move differently under different conditions, and the X1s allow them to do so.
X Series/ZeroBixe
Jul 15, 2003 5:23 PM
I've ridden the X series pedals since the early nineties. I picked up a set of Zeros with a new bike awhile back. The significant difference is that the Zeros have independently adjustable release points (inside/outside) beyond which the cleat snap-releases similar to Look/SPD/etc.... The X series cleats float out to the release point without the stop or detent prior to release. The two systems are not compatible with the other.
The Zeros are back in the box... The X/1s on all my rides...
re: Speedplay X2 or Speedplay ZeroChen2
Jul 16, 2003 10:51 AM
Before I got my X-1's I was concerned about how far out I would have to rotate my ankle to release. No problem, it's not necessary to rotate out. As you lift your foot you can roll your ankle over and you're out. It's a very natural feeling movement that you don't even need to think about. And I haven't heard of anyone having an unwanted pre-release, like when sprinting. But I suppose that could happen.
~Al
Thanks to all who replied!shrEd
Jul 17, 2003 11:18 AM
I ordered my X2's last night - I kinda decided on them, but your suggestions made the choice definite...Thanks again...

Ed