RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Threaded Headset(8 posts)

Threaded HeadsetBrianU
Jun 29, 2003 11:05 AM
I have a 2001 Lemond Buenos Aires that is in need of a new headset. I am planning to eventually change everything over to a threadless setup, but for now I just want to be able to ride with a headset that is not indexed. Nashar currently has a threaded Shimano 105 headset on sale for $20. Is this a good headset or should I look elsewhere? I have also looked at other Shimano headsets, as well as Campy, Stronglight, FSA and Ritchey. Going to the review section does not help, because there is very limited info for threaded headsets. I am hoping to keep the cost under $40. Your experience, opinions and ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Brian
re: Threaded HeadsetAkirasho
Jun 29, 2003 1:36 PM
... headsets are an interesting component...

Fundamentally, it's one of the few parts on a bicycle that works best when you don't notice it... the 105 will give adequate service, especially if you're considering going threadless in the future (why?).

There are, of course different designs (seals and bearings) and different use of materials... but on the whole, they're simple affairs. I'll admit... I like Chris King (both threaded and threadless) but for the most part... it's (beautiful) overkill.

One other caveat... compare the stack height of your current headset to the 105... chances are they're close enough, and they're enough threads and length on your current fork to make this a non issue...

Be the bike.
re: Threaded HeadsetBrianU
Jun 29, 2003 2:12 PM
Thanks for the information. I wanted to go threadless for a couple reasons. I like the simplicity, ease of adjustment and and not requiring headset wrenches to make these adjustments. I use to travel alot and my bike has a considerable amount of scratches in the paint to show for it, so I was hoping to repaint it. In fact that is my one real complaint about my Lemond, how easy the paint got knocked off of it. Instead of repainting the fork, I thought I would just replace it with a threadless fork. I had planned on using a Chris King headset when I made this change for the same reason I use Thomson seatposts on all my bikes. Compared to how much most people pay just to shave a few ounces off their bike, the cost for a headset that you will probably never have to mess with again seems minor to me.
The current headset has about an inch of spacers, so I do not think stack height will be a problem.

Brian
Spacers on a threaded headset? (nm)TFerguson
Jun 29, 2003 5:58 PM
SureAtombomber
Jun 29, 2003 7:58 PM
No different than a hub.
My adviceAtombomber
Jun 29, 2003 7:54 PM
Get a King.

Purchase the threaded version. When you change the fork, all you need to do is transfer the crown race and purchase the treadless top race for a few extra bucks.

I actually use XT headsets with the threads machined out. All five bikes use this setup without problems.
Hmmm.....BrianU
Jun 29, 2003 8:54 PM
I did not even think of that. What a great idea! The only reason I wasn't considering a King now, was that I did not want to have to buy another one when I converted to a threadless setup. Although it is more than I planned on spending at this time, I might still try to go the route you suggest.

Thanks.

Brian
Get the King now!russw19
Jun 29, 2003 8:54 PM
You can convert a Chris King from a threaded to threadless for like $10. So if you want one eventually, get it now and when you change to threadless you just have to change the top cap. Check out their website... it explains how easy it is and it's cheap too.

Think of it this way, you can get the King now and pay $10 to convert it later, or you can get a threaded 105 now for $25 to $30 and pay $100 for the King later...
It's cheaper to get the King now, and you get to ride it in the meantime.

Russ