RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Need help on a new rear wheel purchase.(10 posts)

Need help on a new rear wheel purchase.niteschaos
Jun 3, 2003 5:32 PM
I have trashed my rear wheel and need a conventional replacement. My old rear wheel was a 105 hub with thirty-two 14gauge DT spokes in a 3-cross pattern laced to a Mavic CXP-21 rim with brass nipples. I am 185 pounds and an active Cat 5 racer averaging 150 miles a week. The rear wheel lasted only 3000 miles after being rebuilt 2 times. I think the main reason why the wheel died was living in Atlanta with the horrible roads. My friend says the build quality of the wheel was off and that's why it is trashed. He suggested a Colorado Cyclist Open pro 32-spoke build. I'm thinking I need to go with something like Velomaxes so I won't break one spoke every 100 miles. Would going to 36 spokes on a Open pro be better than 32 on a CXP 33?
But 36 spokes will be 20 grams heavier......MR_GRUMPY
Jun 4, 2003 5:41 AM
Just kidding... The 36 spoke wheel will hold up longer.
Velocity Fusion?Eug
Jun 4, 2003 6:01 AM
You seem to be looking at inexpensive wheels, so I'll bring up the Velocity Fusion. Actually, I'm not necessarily recommending this wheel because I've only used it for less than 50 miles and thus I can't safely judge it yet, but it's been OK so far. I'm just kind of interested in what others think of the wheel. I can't find reviews of it anywhere.

http://www.velocityusa.com/catalog/velocity_wheels_road.html

I bought the wheel from Nashbar for $110. Surprisingly Nashbar's claimed 985 g weight was accurate. I got 975 g on my post office's scale (without the skewer), despite Velocity's 1078 g claimed weight. (I guess they must include skewer weights.) This 32-spoke 3-cross wheel feels quite sturdy, and it was perfectly true right out of the box (hand built). It comes with double-butted 14 guage spokes and brass nipples (and skewer). Velocity also makes a 36-spoke version of it, but so far I have not seen listed on any online mail order sites.

The Fusion rim seems quite popular, with the likes of http://www.oddsandendos.com using this rim. What I'm wondering about is the hub. It's a cartridge bearing based Shimano 9-speed hub and seems to roll quite nicely, but I posted this thread about it:

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efcecab

Anyways, for $110 (and even cheaper with Nashbar coupons), I'm satisfied so far. Time will tell how well it holds up.
Specialized stock wheel?pitt83
Jun 4, 2003 6:41 AM
It's not your roads. I trashed the same stuff; the OP replacement wasn't much better. I'm a big guy @ 235#. I bought Velocity Areoheads laced to Ultegras and can't bust them. Great wheel; 32h 3X lacing w/ 14 straights. Same weight as others. I've got >3000 miles on them and they're like new. Never out of true.

Colorado sells the for ~$200 delivered for the pair.

Cheaper that the constant rebuilds you're suffering now.
Fusion supposedly stronger than Aerohead (but heavier). nmEug
Jun 4, 2003 6:52 AM
nm
re: Need help on a new rear wheel purchase.litesp
Jun 4, 2003 7:10 AM
At a minimum get an Ultegra level hub. Velocity rims are plenty strong and go with 14g butted spokes. They are a little lighter but also make the wheel more durable (reduces spoke breakage at the elbow). Stick with brass nipples.
Anything wrong with using Alloy nips on the front wheel only?nmniteschaos
Jun 4, 2003 8:05 AM
No, but....MR_GRUMPY
Jun 4, 2003 10:58 AM
After a year or two, you won't be able to true it anymore (but front wheels rarely go out of true. I've got one 17 years old)
re: Need help on a new rear wheel purchase.CurtSD
Jun 4, 2003 2:15 PM
I used to ride Open Pros 32/36 spokes, and they needed to be retrued about every 1-2 months (until they started to click - no more Open Pros for me). I now have a 32 spoke cxp33s that I haven't retrued yet in about 7K miles - I vote for the cxp33s.
Thanks for the advice guys...niteschaos
Jun 4, 2003 4:26 PM
It looks like I'm giong with the Velocity Aerohead on the front in a 28 hole build (3-cross) with 14/17 spokes with brass nipples. I was thinking 28 hole because I've never had to touch the front of my machine made 32 hole wheel made with 15g DTs laced to a CXP21. I've heard the 14/17 Revolutions cut down on the drag a bit as well as being light. For the rear I was going with the Velocity OC in a 32 spoke build with 14/15 DT's all the way around in a 3-cross. I'm pretty sure the rear is a solid build, but will the front be stiff enough for Crits or do I need to go to a 15/16 or 14/15 spoke?

What do you guys think?