RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Buying a Seatpost - HELP!(15 posts)

Buying a Seatpost - HELP!rayboz
Jun 3, 2003 10:16 AM
I am in the market for a seatpost - have always been wary of super light weight stuff when it comes to seatpost, stems and bars.

was looking into traditional aluminum post and then started reading about improved comfort with carbon posts which sounds appealing. this would be a big plus for me.

i've heard some horror stories about cracking and breakage. i plan to use a torgue wrench for proper clamping.

was looking into DEDA blackstick/magic stick or Easton posts. any advice? is is better/safer to purchase a monocoque carbon post as opposed to 2 piece carbon/alu?

any help would be greatly appreciated.

rayb
re: Buying a Seatpost - HELP!russw19
Jun 3, 2003 10:34 AM
The reports of how well they actually dampen shock is varied. Some people claim it makes a huge difference, some say it's a placebo effect and you really can't tell a difference. If you want better vibration damping, use wider tires, or change to a gel saddle. It will get you futher than a carbon post. I think the myth (or at least the overexageration of the benefits) of carbon posts were made by the companies themselves to justify putting a $150 seatpost on a bike where a $70 aluminium post works just as well.

I haven't riden either of the posts you ask about so I won't speculate on them, but if you fear lightwieght stuff, you might want to hold off a few more years on carbon posts and bars until they are a little more time proven. In the mean time, get a Thompson post. It is almost as light as many carbon posts and super duper strong. And you can find them for around $60 if you look around.

If you are looking for a carbon post to cut weight from your bike, then get one, but if your sole motivation is vibration damping, I would tell you to save your money so you are not disappointed.

Russ
Don't worry about it.Matno
Jun 3, 2003 10:51 AM
Don't buy a carbon post for the vibration damping. It just isn't noticeable to the human behind unless you have a very compact frame and a very long seatpost. Even then, it's not likely to soak up road vibration that you normally encounter. (They don't absorb vibrations that come straight up the post, but rather bend to absorb the vibrations sideways). I've got an Easton carbon post on my bike (it came with a frame I bought), and it doesn't make a bit of difference. However, the last time I pulled it off the bike, there was a nice bulge from where the clamp was overtightened. I only tightened it enough to keep it from slipping, but apparently, the frame had some residual grease in it from a previous aluminum post. Anyway, I don't think the post is completely ruined, but certainly not a good thing to have happen.

Buying a carbon post for the weight savings probably isn't that great of a deal either. I bought a Performance Forte post recently (aluminum) that weighs almost exactly the same as my Easton carbon. I don't know how they compare strength wise, but they both seem completely solid (although the carbon one creaks annoyingly where it clamps the saddle rails). Price wise, the Performance seatpost was $19...

The only real reason I like the carbon post is because it looks cool. The easton logo happens to match my red/yellow bike. Not the greatest reason to spend $100+ bucks (although the older CT-2 like mine is on sale for $69 now at Lickton's http://www.lickbike.com/i0872100.htm It's great if you like a setback seatpost...)
EC70 = Danger!pitt83
Jun 3, 2003 11:25 AM
I had an EC70. I stopped to strip a layer. Accelerated off while standing, sat down and BOOM!. The head snapped off the post. The saddle kept any injury away, but it scared the crap out of me! It looked like not enough epoxy in the head to hold the post together. Total mileage = 500 before failure.

Shop gave me a full reund and apology

I've swapped it and some $ for a Deda blackstick. That post is nice; I like the idea of the "monocoque" design. So far, so good. About 300 miles and no problems
I went with Chorus Tigrandemamou
Jun 3, 2003 5:39 PM
thinking it would be a safer bet over the carbon. It snapped in two right in the middle. No cracks just a clean break. I replaced it with the carbon and torqued to spec. Keeping my fingers crossed.

In answer to your question. I put on a spare AL until my new one came in and I couldn't tell a lick of difference in feel between the three posts.
How much do you seatpost snappers weigh? nmEug
Jun 3, 2003 6:12 PM
150 lbs (nm)grandemamou
Jun 3, 2003 6:43 PM
Easton posts = large setbackMR_GRUMPY
Jun 3, 2003 6:42 PM
If you need a seatpost with lots of setback, Easton is the way to go. If you don't need it, Easton would be a poor choice.
re: Buying a Seatpost - HELP!litesp
Jun 4, 2003 7:16 AM
Good price on arguably the best seatpost out there (strength/weight, adjustability) http://www.lickbike.com/i0855100.htm
It's a little heavier because of the extra length, but you can trim a bit to make it competitive.

Read the reviews especially on mtbreview.com. Not many products get solid 5 ratings again and again.
Great price on a great seatpost! nmTower
Jun 4, 2003 8:48 AM
Be careful about choosing the zero setbackLC
Jun 4, 2003 7:34 PM
While Thompson is a nicely made post, I found I could not use it except for my TT bike where i actually wanted to be forward like that.
Actually, 2 posts covers all the bases...Fez
Jun 5, 2003 9:35 AM
Need zero setback? Thomson straight.

Need a tad bit over 2cm setback? Thomson setback.

Need a forward position for timetrials? Flip the Thomson setback post around, but keep the same clamp orientation.

The only hard decision is black or silver.
Disgree, based on experience.........Len J
Jun 5, 2003 11:20 AM
Thomson setback is Ugly.

Thomson setback doesn't have enough setback for most people who use a brooks saddle.

That being said, I wish the made a normal setback seatpost with that clamp.

Len
I can only speak from my own experience...Fez
Jun 5, 2003 6:30 PM
Len,

Is there an industry standard as to the amount of setback?

I always thought the setback standard was where the forward-most part of the clamp ended right thru the centerline of the seatpost/seattube.

I had an American Classic that did this, and the Thomson setback mirrors this as well.

I realize some other designs net you more setback, but I thought the norm was what I described above.

FWIW, the standard Thomson puts you approx 2.5cm forward of the setback Thomson.
Thanks for the inputrayboz
Jun 5, 2003 6:37 PM
thanks for the replies - in the end, i opted for a Thomson Setback on advice from LBS and this site. guess i'll stay set in my ways and not ride anything super-light or fancy.