RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Titanium head tube weld looks separated!(12 posts)

Titanium head tube weld looks separated!the bull
May 24, 2003 12:45 PM
Has anyone ever seen this!
"I was just riding along."
I am concerned!
... can you contact the maker?Akirasho
May 24, 2003 1:52 PM
... the main concern for Ti is an oxygen free weld area... I'm no expert, but it looks as though some form of contamination occured...

I'd send the pic to the makers and let them decide.

Be the bike.
Nice photo, by the way... nm4bykn
May 25, 2003 4:44 AM
Nice photo, by the way... nmeddie m
May 25, 2003 6:12 AM
If you are not satisfied with the manufacturere's response, you could have that weld X-rayed. Look around for a local fuel tank or boiler inspection service. That would prove whether the weld was good or not.
Looks OK to meAlexx
May 25, 2003 6:17 AM
Still, it is slightly flawed-maybe they'll send you a new one. It seems that a small bit of the weld material didn't quite seat on the headtube. This would be a minor glitch in the manufacturing process.
From what you've shown, I see a weld that is most likely only compromised by maybe 25% right at that immediate location, leaving you with a weld that, in it's entirety, is 99.9% as strong as expected.
Its what I cant see that concerns me!the bull
May 25, 2003 6:37 AM
I am going to keep an eye on this spot!
There might be seperation all along the seam here and it is just on the edge of the one weld were it has com of the tube.
Its what I cant see that concerns me!twobits
May 25, 2003 8:14 PM
i would say that the welder did not completely melt that area when making his pass. it looks to me like it will be fine because although it's a high spot the individual weld bead looks completely fused. you could grind the high spot down, but that might ruin the finish. apart from the ugly welding, (i can say that, i'm a welder by trade...) it should function fine. although being a welder...i wouldn't have picked that bike just because of the welding..you might want to complain to the company for kicks.
was it always that way, or something new? nmDougSloan
May 25, 2003 8:28 PM
Just notice it on saturday-could have been there.nmthe bull
May 26, 2003 3:24 AM
re: Titanium head tube weld looks separated!Juanmoretime
May 26, 2003 3:17 AM
Could it have always been that way and when you had the paint on the frame it filled it in? I would think that if a weld was separating it would be over a larger area.
Going to keep an eye on it for now.the bull
May 26, 2003 3:26 AM
If it grows then I will send it back to Tennesee.
re: Titanium head tube weld looks separated!Gripfer
May 27, 2003 8:58 PM
Do watch regularly, Ti has a reputation for running once it starts. I've got one on a Tenn Bike 1cm long, downtube on an ultimate. Litespeeds answer is "send it back through your dealer". I sent them pretty pictures too.