RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


HELP: Ksyriums or Zipp 303s????(12 posts)

HELP: Ksyriums or Zipp 303s????RickC5
May 22, 2003 10:32 AM
I have stumbled upon two sets of wheels, both about two years old, but never ridden (virtually new?). One set are Mavic Ksyriums, and the other are Zipp 303s. I'm pretty much a clydesdale, at about 230 pounds, so I have some doubts about the Ksyriums, and I don't know much about Zipps. My riding is recreational, and I'm not hard on my bikes.

I can afford to buy ONE set, which should I buy?

Thanks in advance for your opinions/advice....
Ksyriums...Akirasho
May 22, 2003 11:50 AM
... the 303s are lightweight racing wheels... and while I don't have a set (I've got their big brother 404s), I'd suspect that you'd be better served by the K's with overall durability... especially for the type of riding you described.

Be the bike.
Recreational?!filtersweep
May 22, 2003 12:51 PM
I'd be curious to know how many people use 303s as everyday wheels...

Why do you even need such a lightweight wheel when you are +200lbs ?

The Ks are probably more durable.
We're not talking about needs.......RickC5
May 22, 2003 1:06 PM
More like an (expensive) addiction. At least that's what my wife thinks it is (when she's not convinced I'm crazy).

I like a responsive bike, but probably don't actually NEED either of these wheelsets. They happen to be part of an estate sale that I'm assisting with, and they are priced VERY reasonably. Hence my interest.

Thanks for your reply.
We're not talking about needs.......InTheMiddle
May 22, 2003 1:51 PM
I would recommend the Ks based on what you describe....

Not sure how you are dealing with selling stuff.. but I might very well be interested in the 303s if they are tubulars.

(I have Ksyriums SLs for my everyday wheels...looking for race wheels... 303s or 404s)
The 303s are clinchers.RickC5
May 22, 2003 2:19 PM
Sorry.....
We're not talking about needs.......JAGYB
May 22, 2003 2:49 PM
I may have a pair of 303's to sell, tubulars. I'll know tomorrow.
got some 303's for sale maybeJAGYB
May 22, 2003 2:52 PM
see msg above
I have both; definitely KsyriumsDougSloan
May 22, 2003 3:26 PM
The Ks are much better built wheels. I've had 3 sets of Ks and 3 sets of Zipps (303 clincher, 303 tubular, 404/disc). The Ks are nearly bombproof; the Zipps are lightweight racing gear, which I'd almost consider disposable compared to Ks. The K hubs are smoother, stouter, and the rims the same. The performance difference will be minimal.

Doug
and it's No! Nay! Never...seyboro
May 22, 2003 4:54 PM
..no, nay never, no more, will I ride Mavic Kay-hays...
I was close to your weight when mine blew to pieces. They are not nearly as strong as some lighter riders may think. I pulled four spokes through the rear rim and had a nightmare of customer service dealings with Mavic. In the end they did not have much of a choice but to warranty the wheel, but I told them I would discourage anyone I could from buying a set of Ks. So there.
You might want to read some of the poorer reviews from users on this site. They are the ones with the real beef if there is some.
I hope that you didn't hurt yourself......MR_GRUMPY
May 23, 2003 7:02 AM
when you stumbled.
Forget those wheels. You need to build up a wheelset with GEL280's. 28 hole front and back. Glue on some 150g track tires, and you're set to go.
404s?weiwentg
May 23, 2003 7:26 PM
if I were your weight, and wanted Zipps, I would probably get 404s instead. I think Zipp makes sets with higher spoke counts for Clydesdales.
but given that you're a rec rider, I'd probably get the Ks. they are tough wheels... the person who posted about pulling 4 spokes out MAY just have got a lemon. I know one 200+ pounder who has a set and did fine (the nurse who attended me just before my collarbone operation). then again, they are more expensive and perform almost exactly as well as a set of 32-aero spoke OPs. see http://www.cyclingforum.com/forums/Thread.cfm?CFApp=2&Thread_ID=3396&mc=15&FromArchive=yes