RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Velomax wheels - any reason they don't get much attention?(9 posts)

Velomax wheels - any reason they don't get much attention?TNSquared
May 8, 2003 7:04 PM
In all of the discussions about higher end wheelsets, I don't think I've ever seen a mention of Velomax. On paper they seem pretty comparable to other wheels in the same price range such as Ksyrium SSC's, and the reviews on this site are favorable, albeit few.

Are Velomax wheels not really all that good, or are there just not enough people riding them to create much name recognition?

Just curious.
re: Velomax wheels - any reason they don't get much attention?Juanmoretime
May 9, 2003 12:54 AM
Back when I was riding Shimano, I had a set of Velomax Curcuit Comp. I felt they where a great set of wheels for the money and the year and a half I rode them, I didn't have any issues with them. When I sold them they where ae true as the day I bought them. They cornered and climbed well. Descending at speed they were great too. I think they were the ideal wheel to train and to race on. The only reason I sold them was because I went to Campy and wanted a Campy compatible wheel, I didn't want to use a conversion cassette.
I bought a set of Circuit II comps. Good engineering, and aPaul
May 9, 2003 3:16 AM
good price (330.00 from performance). I was disappointed in that after the first ride, the front wheel came out of true, I re-trued it, and it's been find. they have a great web site with a lot of technical data about maint. and repairs. Can buy directly from them (parts).

I wanted a pair of every-day wheels, the ferrules on my Heliums are breaking, poor design by mavic. I've repaired them using flat washers to hold the spokes in place, and use them as back-ups.

I won't pass judgement on the wheels till after a few thousand miles, though they get great reviews on this web site.

I like the idea of threaded spokes into the hubs instead of using nail-heads, brass nipples on the drive sdie for strength, easy replacement for bearings (using a tool they provide). No way does Mavic give you that kind of support.
re: Velomax wheels - any reason they don't get much attention?Anaerobic_Nut
May 9, 2003 10:11 AM
I think they are excellent wheels for the money. Obviously, they aren't a Mavic or Shimano, so brand recognition is a lot less which is the main reason why they don't get a lot publicity and they've been around for only 5-6 years. Additionally, they don't sponsor any major teams which would help increase exposure.

I have a set of Ascent Comps which I bought 4 years ago. They are my primary race wheels and I love them. Very durable (only trued once), great acceleration for crits and sprinting and light enough for climbing. I also like the design in that you easily maintain them yourself. Great all around racing wheels and still going strong.
have some ascent prosDougSloan
May 9, 2003 10:35 AM
I have some Ascent Pros, Lew carbon rims. They are very light (the entire front wheel is under 500 grams), and the hubs are smooth and look great. However, the rims are very narrow, so if you run a tire wider than 20 mm, it screws up the air flow and leaves part of the tire not glued to the rim. Also, the rear wheel is really flexy on the climbs and sprinting, and hard twisty descents feel sort of squirrelly. The braking surface sucks, too.

I quit using the rear when I went Campy, because they cannot be adapted; I bought a wheels man. conversion cassette, but it wouldn't fit; they tell me you can convert the freehub body now, but it required redishing. Now, I use the Velomax front with a Zipp 303 (Campy) rear.

Doug
Doug, question about rim width vs tire widthTNSquared
May 9, 2003 11:22 AM
I'm looking at the Velomax Tempest II's in clincher. It is the most aero clincher Velomax offers, and since my only competitive riding will be triathlons seems to be my best choice. The rim width on those is 19mm, and I currently running 23mm tires. In general are you indicating that running a tire that is wider than the rim basically negates the aero advantage? Thought I read somewhere that tires from 20-25 were acceptable for 19mm rims, but I could be wrong.

Should I be looking at the Ascents instead? No sense in buying the more aero Tempest if I don't get the advantage, and don't think I'd be comfortable on 20mm tires.

Thanks,
Todd
more of a tubular issueDougSloan
May 9, 2003 12:23 PM
A 19 mm clincher rim is pretty normal to use with a 23 mm tire. These things are nominal, anyone, most of the time.

The Lew carbon rims are around 50 mm deep, specifically so to be more aero. It sort of defeats the purpose if you have a narrow rim and big fat tire sticking out. Also, since the tubulars are glued on, I just feel a little less comfortable having the narrow rim.

The Tempest may well still be more aero than the Ascents, but possibly not optimally so if a wider tire is used. Unless it's a time trial, I'd recommend sticking with the wider tire for pinch flat protection, ride, and adhesion, though.

Doug
Thanks, that make senseTNSquared
May 9, 2003 12:46 PM
At my weight and experiance level, I'm definitely sticking with 23mm tires.

The Tempest clincher is 30mm deep (which I guess isn't truly aero) by 19m wide, while the Ascent clincher is only 21mm deep by 20mm wide. The wheels are the same price, so at worst if I went with the Tempest it sounds like I might not have much aero over the Ascent, but at least a better looking wheel IMO.
Thanks all for feedback. BTW 2003 Velos are Campy compatible. nmTNSquared
May 9, 2003 12:55 PM