RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Help me choose some pedals(17 posts)

Help me choose some pedalsdobby
May 2, 2003 7:09 AM
I've been mtn biking for the last 7 years but wanted to get into some road riding as well. I have just ordered a Trek 2300 which does not come with pedals. Like most people, if money was not an issue I would just buy the best no matter what the cost. However, I'm already broke from buying the bike so can anyone reccomend a good set of pedals that work great but don't cost more than $100? I will be riding mostly recreational but may enter some races.

thanks in advance
Chorus pro-fits. A little more than your $100 budget, but abill
May 2, 2003 7:16 AM
nice, smooth system. You can find them for like $120. You may even be able to find some older models (imperceptibly changed -- a little broader platform in the newer model) cheaper.
Easy - speedplay X3the bull
May 2, 2003 7:43 AM
Double sided entry for no look entry
lots of float for comfort
good light pedal!
re: Help me choose some pedalsTNSquared
May 2, 2003 8:04 AM
Just bought some Speedplay X2's for my Trek 2300, to replace the Shimano road spd-only pedals (model a515, I think.) I bought the Shimano's to avoid the expense of road shoes intially, but I missed the dual sided entry of my MTB pedals.

Early to tell, but I think the Speedplays were the right choice.

BTW, I love the Trek. Not the best bike made and doesn't have any exotica factor, but for a stiff, fast ride for under $2,000 it is hard to beat.
Trek 2300 question - saddle?dobby
May 2, 2003 11:11 AM
Do you use the stock saddle that came with the bike? I believe it's a Selle San Marco Era Luxe. A Selle San Marco Era had come with my 2002 Gary Fisher Sugar 1 and it was one of the most uncomfortable saddles I've ever used. Any suggestions on a good comfy saddle?
Yes, yes and yesTNSquared
May 2, 2003 11:55 AM
I am using the stock saddle, it is a Selle San Marco Era Luxe (don't know what the "luxe" is with chromoly rails and synthetic leather) and it is darn uncomfortable. The only slightly disappointing feature of the stock bike.

I am shopping for a new saddle, trying to measure price against comfort. The front runner right now is the fizik aliante, but it's very pricey ($150 for ti rails, $185 for carbon.) The reviews here on RBR are overwhelmingly positive. My main hesitation is that my LBS doesn't carry fizik hence no opportunity to test ride. Pretty sure that's what I'll end up getting, though. Comfort is just too important. Besides, it's Italian leather, so I'll add some exotica in the process!
re: Help me choose some pedalsrockbender
May 2, 2003 8:14 AM
I recently got some of the Ultegra level SPD-SL pedals and am extremely happy with them. These are my first true road pedal, so I am still getting used to getting into them first try, but once in they feel solid.

The next question would be what kind of shoes you are wearing. If you are using mtb shoes and don't want to buy new exclusive roadie shoes just get a spd type pedal. A no brainer would be Performance's forte magnesium jobber that a lot of people here talk highly of.

good luck!
Look,Spunout
May 2, 2003 8:18 AM
So many people use them.

Buy them here, click-through from RBR and support the site!

http://www.bicyclebuys.com/Items01.asp?NavID=special&PID=15042&pOP=110
Look,utxjohne
May 2, 2003 9:07 AM
I am a big fan of Look after switching over from SPD. They aren't the lightest but might be the easiet and most comfortable to use even my wife who had never ridden a bike in her life found them extremely accomodating.
Second that on Lookterry b
May 2, 2003 11:45 AM
but if you really shop around you can get them for way less that $100. I swear by 247s and generally pay no more than 39-69 bucks.
Why do they call them Look?the bull
May 2, 2003 12:40 PM
Because thats what you will be doing when your tring to clip in!!!
No, because once you use them YOU'LL SEE! (nm)terry b
May 2, 2003 7:27 PM
Good one! I like that!nmthe bull
May 3, 2003 6:08 PM
re: Help me choose some pedalswolfereeno
May 2, 2003 2:40 PM
I'm a recent convert to Speedplay Frogs on my roadbike. I just love them! They feel almost exactly like the speedplay X road pedals - which I also really like. But I can walk in them. I bought them figuring I'd just swap them in occasionally when I do city/strolling rides but I love them and haven't taken them off yet. I want to feel secure on and off the bike. Most road cleats are hard to walk in - especially the speedplay x's.

I rode 60 miles on the frogs this morning. Just amazing in and out. Great float. I might even put them on my mountain bike.

Anyway, it took me a number of tries with various pedals to figure out what I like. I liked the float the speedplays (both Frogs and X's). The frogs are very close to the weight of the x's too since the cleats are half the weight making up for the heavier pedal.

FWIW, I hate watching my girlfriend struggle with getting in to her Looks - but she says she likes em. To each their own.

Enjoy.
SPD-Rdtufts
May 2, 2003 2:58 PM
I recently purchased an all ultegra bike like you did, and since I broke the bank on the bike I wanted the best deal on pedals I could find. I purchased the old style ultegra SPD-Rs on sale over the net for a bargain because they have been replaced by the SPR-SLs. I love these SPD-Rs, the're great. There are some bad reviews, but I think they are just great. You should at least consider them.
re: Help me choose some pedalsrogue_CT1
May 3, 2003 4:30 AM
Look- P396, you can get them at total cycling for $65. Even after shipping they are still less than $100.
I like my Speedplay Zeros12x23
May 3, 2003 3:48 PM
All the advantages of the X pedals with the option of adjusting the amount of float.