RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Campy Record Triple Upgrade Question(5 posts)

Campy Record Triple Upgrade QuestionHelduser
Apr 30, 2003 1:41 PM
I current have Chorus 10 and I'm about to upgrade to a record triple. I know I'm going to need a new bb, crankarm, front and rear derailleurs. I'm going to get the long cage rear derailleur in case a need to get easier gears as I get older. I currently have a 12-25 cassette. Will I need to replace my chain as well?

Also what's your opinion of the new 30-40-50 triple crankarm offering? I was considering it since the 40 is so close to what I'm used to in my 39. Or, is it better to stick with the 30-42-53 standard?

Thanks,
Mike
Chain needed, nuke the long cage.the Phantom
Apr 30, 2003 5:29 PM
Don't waste your time with the long cage rear. Not needed at all plus it shifts slower and feels mushy. With the 50-40-30 crankset and the 13-25, you can use the short or medium cage. Personal opinion, stick with the short cage for faster and snappier shifting. I was disappointed with the medium cage and removed it from my similar set up. Yes you need to replace the chain for best results.
slight correction....C-40
May 1, 2003 4:38 AM
A short cage RD can be used with a triple, but the entire range of rear cogs will not be useable.

If the short cage derailleur is used, there would be no need to change the chain if the length was properly adjusted to the correct length in the 39/12 combo.

With the 53-42-30 and a 12-25, only the 21-25 cogs will be useable with the little ring. With the 50-40-30 the 19-25 cogs will be useable with the little ring.

The 53-42-30 will require more frequent use of the little ring. IMO, Campy goofed when they did not offer a 53-39-30 that would allow the 30 to be used less frequently as a bailout.

If I were going to a triple, I'd get a FSA team issue with 53-39-30 cogs and an ISIS BB.
slight correction....Helduser
May 1, 2003 4:46 AM
Thanks for the information.
I should add....C-40
May 1, 2003 10:10 AM
The 19 tooth cog may or may not be useable with a 50-40-30. Although the total capacity is reduced by 2 teeth, the minimum adjustment to the chain length is 1 inch or 4 teeth. To make the 19 tooth cog useable, 1 inch may need to be removed from the chain, in which case, the 50/25 combo should be checked carefully to insure that the derailleur is not over-extended.