RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


"Best" Carbon Seatpost ??(8 posts)

"Best" Carbon Seatpost ??stephensinner
Apr 13, 2003 12:24 PM
Anyone have an opinion on which is the best overall carbon seatpost for a compact frame (merlin magia)
ITM Millennium...C-40
Apr 14, 2003 4:33 AM
The ITM MIllenium has one of the best 2-bolt clamp systems around. Texas Cyclesport (txcyclesport.com) has it for $94, but the 250mm length might not be long enough for a compact frame. Measure carefully before buying. You may need an MTB post.
re: "Best" Carbon Seatpost ??tookie
Apr 14, 2003 12:23 PM
I have an easton ct-2 on my road bike that i purchased as a 400mm mtb post, then cut down to size. 400mm should be more than enought for a compact frame. i've had no problems with the post; does a good job of soaking up buzz. it's a discontinued model, but if you're looking for a bargain pricepoint has them for $79.
The best-alansutton
Apr 14, 2003 4:04 PM
Everyone know the best carbon seatpost is a Campy. Never mind that half of them break.
The best-wielerpret
Apr 15, 2003 4:00 AM
The prettiest perhaps. The Campy carbon post doesn't score well at all. One rotten apple in the Campy basket, or so it would seem. Read the reviews. If carbon is the only thing for you, Eason should be fine, otherwise it's trusty Thomson Elite every time. Good luck.
Luke. Amsterdam. www.iwaarden.com
The best-rogue_CT1
Apr 16, 2003 12:09 PM
The other half of the Campy carbon posts are installed correctly and are not over-torqued and they last forever.
The best-wielerpret
Apr 17, 2003 4:43 AM
Yesterday I saw the Scheldeprijs (a semi classic in Belgium), on TV. One rider negociated a simple bump, his carbon seatpost snapped clean off and the innocent spectator almost witnessed an impalement; ughh! I don't know which brand it was, I must admit, but co-commentator De Cauer (nat. coach of the Belgian elite riders) said that in fact practically always the carbon fibres are pressed a little bit out of their original pattern with clamping. Long term reliability remains to be seen, esp. if the best position has still to be reached by occasional ajustments. The abovementioned 50% chance of a failure is simply not good enough esp. considering the price of the damn' stuff!. If you don't want the anxieties, don't buy carbon.
The best-russw19
Apr 17, 2003 1:09 PM
Buy a Moots Ti post and be done with it. It's light and strong and trouble free. Just make sure you grease or Ti prep your post to prevent galvantic corrosion. Best post made! (But that's only my individual opinion!)

Russ