RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Tools for changing a cassette?(31 posts)

Tools for changing a cassette?katie1
Apr 9, 2003 11:14 AM
What tools do you use to change your cassette? I have heard different opinions. Thanks.
Opinions?TJeanloz
Apr 9, 2003 11:19 AM
How can there be different opinions? You need:

Chain whip
Crescent wrench
Appropriate freewheel lockring tool

Nothing more, nothing less.
MIght want a torque wrench instead of adjustable wrench (nm)Kerry
Apr 9, 2003 3:49 PM
Really? You'd have to be pretty anal...TJeanloz
Apr 10, 2003 7:52 AM
While yes, you could use a torque wrench, the lockring is one of those bits that just needs to be as tight as possible -- you're not going to strip it by overtightening, and leaving it loose leaves no benefit.

I guess there can be opinions here...
Did I say "might"?Kerry
Apr 10, 2003 4:25 PM
The range of torque specs I have seen is 30 nm to 50 nm (quite a difference), and given the number of people who post here who don't seem to be able to properly tighten the parts on their bikes, I think some folks "might" want a torque wrench.
Fair enough (nm)TJeanloz
Apr 11, 2003 7:25 AM
not a different opinion, just a different way......surly357
Apr 10, 2003 8:52 AM
If you have a vise on your workbench you will only need a HG lockring tool with a guide pin and a chain whip. With the tool in the vise, put the wheel/cassette on as if you were removing a freewheel, now using the chain whip turn the cogs counterclockwise. No crescent wrench=less slippage=less bad language.....
Nah, you're completely wrongpmf1
Apr 10, 2003 9:44 AM
I use a pair of vice grips instead of the cresent wrench :>}
Opinions?Spoke Wrench
Apr 10, 2003 3:29 PM
It started out sounding simple, but we can't even agree on one recommendation for rim tape on this board. Anything more complicated than that is definitely going to result in conflicting opinions.

I greatly prefer the genuine Shimano lock ring tool to the Park equivlant. It has a pin that projects into the center of the axle and helps to hold the lockring tool in place.

I've often recommended using torque wrenches for a number of bicycle maintenance functions, mostly having to do with bottom brackets, crankarms and high dollar stems. I don't use one for cassette lockrings.
you will need:the bull
Apr 9, 2003 11:24 AM
part numbers for tools needed:par sa fr5 hyperglide locknut tool ($5)
chain whip: par sa sr1($18)
You need a wrench to hold lock nut tool or channel locks will work!
This is for shimano (I assume you have shimano)
Question on your parts rec?katie1
Apr 10, 2003 10:26 AM
Okay, I'm blond and female so I'm probably trending in dangerous territory, but you mention the Parks SA hyperglide locknut tool. What's the difference between that and the one just for Shimano (I think it is Fr1)? I do have Shimano parts (all relatively new).
no problem!the bull
Apr 10, 2003 1:53 PM
No treading - the fr1 is a freewheel tool.
freewheels spin on and cassetes slide on.
It has a different pattern and wont fit.
complete info from Park ToolDougSloan
Apr 9, 2003 12:32 PM
http://www.parktool.com/repair_help/FAQcogs.shtml
Great link!katie1
Apr 9, 2003 4:47 PM
Thanks for the link.
Torque wrench is underappreciatedKeeponTrekkin
Apr 9, 2003 8:59 PM
You are right to want a toruqe wrench. These systems are precise and the mfr's recommendations are important. You need a 1" deep socket to fit the Park Cassette tool, assuming you use a skewer to hold that tool to the cassette lock ring (as is recommended) (also assuming shimano, which is all I am familiar with).

A Crescent wrench is not a torque wrench. Sears sells very good and reasonably priced tools an torque wrenches (as so others). Toosl are a good investment.

Good luck.

KoT
SureRusty Coggs
Apr 10, 2003 5:06 AM
I'm with TJ,and the day I need a torque wrench for a cassette lockring is the day I quit wrenching.I do recomend a metric cresent wrench.
Surefiltersweep
Apr 10, 2003 5:17 AM
I agree... I had to laugh at the torque wrench recommendation- with the mechanics involved with a Shimano cassette and lock ring, you could probably hand tighten it without incident, since the wheel with freewheel if you try to loosen it (hence the need for a chain whip).

I thought it WAS metric...
Surecdhbrad
Apr 10, 2003 5:58 AM
Yes, a Metric Crescent Wrench is indispensible for changing cassettes, unless, of course, you are working on an English bike, then you have to use the English wrench. You can never have too many tools.
Indexed or friction cresent wrench?mt_biker
Apr 10, 2003 6:33 AM
Must be the lesser known indexed metric cresent wrench.
The more common friction model can be used on both metric and english(?) in a pinch :)

Always have the right tools for the job.

I'm off to the bike shop to buy a second 13mm cone wrench for the annoying shimano front hub that has both nuts at 13mm.

Montana Biker
fractional vs. metric crescent wrench?DougSloan
Apr 10, 2003 6:51 AM
I have 3 torque wrenches, 1 in each socket size, and they have never been used on a bike (used a lot in the car racing days). Never stripped a bolt, never had one fall off.

A 15/16th's or 1 inch socket (one for campy, other for shimano, but can't remember which is which) works well for the lockring tools, too. Holds a little better than the crescent or open end wrenches.

BTW, I have never needed to use the skewer to hold the tool in place for a cassette hub. I've only done that for the old style 2 prong freewheel tools.

Doug
Do I need a right handed or left handed torque wrench? NMDamn
Apr 10, 2003 8:02 AM
depends on moon phase NMDougSloan
Apr 10, 2003 9:31 AM
WRONG - left hand is for the southern hemisphere! nmdzrider
Apr 10, 2003 10:51 AM
fractional vs. metric crescent wrench?idk
Apr 11, 2003 6:04 AM
I don't get it. If the manufacturer recommends 40nm (Campy), and one has a torque wrench, why not torque it
to 40nm, and be done with it?
just no needDougSloan
Apr 11, 2003 6:15 AM
I've never found a need to. Doing it by feel, they have never come loose nor stripped. YOu could probably equally justify the torque wrench for every bolt on the bike, many probably a lot more justified, and most of us don't do that, either. If things started breaking or loosening, it might be different.

I am pretty anal about keeping anti-seize or grease on threads, though.

Doug
I am with you!the bull
Apr 10, 2003 1:57 PM
I own three torque wrenches and I would not use them on a cassette lockring just use good judgement!
Well, I did it!!!katie1
Apr 10, 2003 6:37 PM
Wow, it was really easy! Thanks for your help. I think it took 5 minutes.
good for you; grease under the fingernails? nmDougSloan
Apr 10, 2003 7:46 PM
good for you; grease under the fingernails?katie1
Apr 11, 2003 3:56 AM
Not any more than when I clean my bikes. Actually, I was swapping out cassettes on different wheels and both had been cleaned not too long ago so they were reasonably clean. I didn't want to throw the nice wheels in the wheel truck. Thanks for the help!
He! He!katie1
Apr 11, 2003 6:43 AM
I really amused at how much discussion this topic has brought up.
posts take on a life of their ownDougSloan
Apr 11, 2003 7:17 AM
Once you post, you never know what directions they might take. You can ask a simple question about a bolt length, and before you know it, 20 people are debating about Chinese titanium vs. Russian made Colnagos. You throw the post out there, and it becomes a big balloon/ball at a rock concert, batted all over the place.

It is amusing sometimes.

Doug