RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Chris King or Chorus???(15 posts)

Chris King or Chorus???slide13
Mar 29, 2003 7:17 PM
Ok, I work at a local bike shop and bought myself a Lemond Buenos Aires last year. Early this year I decided I prefered Campy over shimano and so I switched out my Ultegra to a Chorus/Centaur mix. Now I'm thinking about some new wheels. I want to build up a nice set of hubs onto Open Pros. I can't decide between the Campy Chorus hubs or the Chris Kings. If I get the Kings I will need to get an American Classic cassette (have a Wheels Mfg. now on my Bonty wheels but they don't work for King hubs) and skewers, if I go with the Chorus hubs I'll just get a Chorus cassette. When all is said and done I think the King wheels would cost about $50 more approximately and including the cassette will be close to or slightly heavier then the Chorus wheels with Chorus cassette (those American Classic cassettes arn't the lightest I'm afraid)

So, looks like Chorus should be the obvious choice....but I've always wanted a set of King hubs! I just can't decided. What would you do?

Also, if I go with the Kings, what color should I get to go on my red bike ( I don't think the reds match very well)
DT Hugi 240'sAmbishawn
Mar 29, 2003 8:36 PM
I wanted kings too but I use campy and didn't want to try any hoakey adapters or cassetes. Was gonna go with chourus hubs but Joe Young of Joe Young Wheels www.youngwheels.com recommended DT Hugi 240's as an upgrade to Campy hubs. The DT Hugi hubs have been fantastic. I love the quiet practicly silent freewheel and smooth rolling. The front hub only weighs 96 grams the rear 250 grams this without skewers though. I like the way the rear hub flange spacing is allowing you to build a stronger wheel than with either Chorus or King hubs. These hubs only come in black or silver. I'm using these hubs with a full chorus groupo with record crankset Mavic CXP33 rims and DT Competition Spokes.
2nd that thoughtterry b
Mar 29, 2003 9:36 PM
just had a pair built by Excel with Hugis, Ritchey OCRs, Revolution spokes. excellent ride.
I like the Hugis as welllaffeaux
Mar 29, 2003 11:01 PM
I have a set of DT Swiss Hugi hubs on a MTB wheelset and like them as well. I have a set of King hubs on a 'cross bike, and while they work fine, the noise that they make is obnoxious in my opinion. I'd by the Hugi, over the Kings any day.
3rd it!Ye Olde Balde One
Mar 31, 2003 7:06 AM
I just got a set of Hugis, 28h silver for Campy 10s. Why mess around with conversion cassettes when you don't have to?

Mine are built up with an NOS set of Wolber Profil A tubular rims (310gm each!) I had waiting for hubs, and I though this would be a cool lightweight set fitted with a Tiso cassette. Veloflex tubulars are going on them, and then I'll be smiling!

I could have gotten Record 28h, but wanted to save the handful of grams for the hell of it.
I vote ChorusLeroy
Mar 30, 2003 4:51 AM
back to the question, CK or Chorus. On an all campy bike, you really don't want something you have to adapt to use. The noise issue is there as well. Chorus hubs are 9 - nine - grams heavier than record. Otherwise the function is the same. If money is no object, get Joe Young to build you a set with hugi hubs, but if price is a factor you absolutely cannot go wrong with regular old 3-cross DT14/15 open pro chorus hubs. Bullet proof, around 1700 grams. I'd keep the bike all campy if it were my decision.
Split the difference...PdxMark
Mar 30, 2003 9:55 AM
Build the wheels with Chorus hubs and get these nice Chris King hub salt and pepper shakers...

http://www.chrisking.com/store/shakers/shaker_directory.html
re: Chris King or Chorus???seyboro
Mar 30, 2003 10:06 AM
I love the Kings and would have loved to keep riding them after my switch to Record 10. I tried conversion cassettes, no luck. I spoke to or emailed the cream of American wrenching/wheelbuiding (Lennard Zinn, Steve Gravenites, Sheldon Brown) and after trying their suggestions, still no luck. Many spacers, special deep lockrings and a million different setups later, I had to come to the painful conclusion that the Kings are truly incompatible with conversion cassettes. I still ride them on the Shimano-bike. Chorus it shall be...
re: Chris King or Chorus???slide13
Mar 30, 2003 10:50 AM
Did you try the American Classic cassettes? The Wheels cassettes say they don't work with King hubs (they are working great on my Bontrager ones though) but I emailed American Classic and they claim that theirs does work with the King hubs. Just wondering if you know for a fact that the AC ones don't work.

D*mn, I really want King hubs...
re: Chris King or Chorus???russw19
Mar 30, 2003 10:52 AM
I agree. I love my King Wheels. I think they are the greatest thing ever, but if you are going to spend more money on King hubs over the Chorus hubs for the chi-chi factor, you are throwing your money away once you run the heavier conversion cassettes. I have a couple sets of wheels that I run the conversion cassettes on, but I also ride those wheels on both my Shimano and Campy bikes. I have a lightweight wheelset that I only use on my Campy bike and it's a Record hub with the Record Ti cassette. Same hold true for the Hugi hub. For the money, get the Chorus. You won't see the weight savings of the Hugi's once you run a conversion cassette.

The only reason I can come up with to get the King's or Hugi's and run the conversion cassette is if you plan to sell these in the next 6 months and don't want to be limited to selling them to a Campy or Shimano rider. As a shop employee with access to Employee Purchase prices like I am sure you have, I can understand that. Chris King has a very nice EP program, Campy has none (except on clothes) so that is a factor. But the other side to this is that Campy stuff is a little more rare and therefore goes for prices closer to retail on places like ebay than Shimano compatible stuff. King wheels are the same though, so keep all that in mind. I would say if you are actually planing to keep them for the rest of this year, get the Campy hubs. If you are planning to get something new in the summer, get the Kings.

Boy, aren't these the fun hard decisions in life to face?
Do I buy this really nice Campy hub, or do I get the King? Or do I listen to other people and get that really nice Hugi hub? Fun choices!

Russ
DT Hugi 240 makes a rear hub for campy.Ambishawn
Mar 30, 2003 4:00 PM
I have a Chourus 10 cassette on mine. It works fantastic. These hubs are equal to kings but they cost just as much too. If I had Dura Ace I would probably still go with Hugis based on my experience with them. It's so cool to be able to snaek up on other riders with that silent freewheel, they dont even know your there until you get out of the saddle and get the jump on them.
DT Hugi 240 for CampyJeff_S
May 30, 2003 5:35 PM
I'm considering using Hugi 240 road hubs on a set of Campy 10v wheels, as opposed to a Record hub. In the past, the Hugi hub has had problems with the pawls/engagement and I was wondering if ALL the problems are fixed on the current hubs. Upon reading the reviews on roadbikereview and mtbr, the problems were prevalent in 2000 and 2001.

Any other thoughts on a hub which would be a true upgrade over the Record AND is Campy cassette-compatible? American Classic or King? No thanks on adapters or modified cassettes.
am classic cassetteweiwentg
Mar 30, 2003 11:08 AM
if you want a conversion cassette (12-23, 10s), mail me at weiwentg@hotmail.com. I got it for use on my Cane Creeks, but I ended up getting Zipps instead.
Any thoughts on White Industries hubs?slide13
Mar 31, 2003 9:07 AM
What about the WI LTA road hubs? Any users. They make a campy compatable one and I think they would cost me less then the Hugi's. The Hugi's will run me more then the Chris Kings even and for some reason I'm just not as excited about them as I am something like King or WI.
Any thoughts on White Industries hubs?DaveLobster
Apr 1, 2003 10:33 AM
I've been using a pair of the White LTA hubs that I built up sometime in February. I'll post a review on this site once I have some significant miles on them. It appears that there is some level of interest, particulary from Campy users who see them as a Campy-friendly alternative to King.

My observations with only a couple hundred miles (one of my first rides with them was a 40 mile race) are that they are beautifully machined and finished, and fairly light (95g/265g actual weights). Customer service is outstanding (I ordered direct from WI), and spare parts are very reasonably priced. -Dave