RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Another which wheelset question...(15 posts)

Another which wheelset question...El Caballito
Mar 27, 2003 3:24 PM
Im in the market for a wheelset which would be an upgrade to my rolf comps. Ive narrowed it down to a few wheelsets. My budget is no more than $500. Your comments and recommendations are appreciated.

1. Canecreek Aeroheads from Supergo
2. Velocity Aeroheads with Chris King hubs
3. Open Pro's with Dura Ace hubs

I would have the mavics and the velos built by LBS or possibly ordered. Ive seen the velo/king setup, looks cool, but I dont know how they ride.

Almost forgot, I mainly do group rides . I love riding hills and hopefully some racing in the near future.

Cheers!
How about #4, DA/Aerohead - the best value by far! (nm)Kerry
Mar 27, 2003 5:14 PM
#4, DA/Aerohead - where's the best deal on these (nm)reklar
Mar 27, 2003 6:05 PM
re: Another which wheelset question...kenyonCycleist
Mar 27, 2003 6:05 PM
dude..dont limit yourself to those junkers. check around for deals, u can get a brand new pair of ksyrium sl's for only 100 more: check out http://www.totalcycling.com or just look on roadbike's classifieds. even better i do it for ya :O) and low and behold there is an as new pair going for $500. have a lookie:

http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=32502&query=retrieval

while ur at it could ya see what this crazy dude is about selling a complete EV4 record bike with ksyrium sl's for only 1800--sounds like the dude robbed a deliverytruck or something:

http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=32431&query=retrieval
re: Another which wheelset question...reklar
Mar 27, 2003 6:07 PM
Scam? He has all sizes? Any body dealt with this guy?
re: Another which wheelset question...reklar
Mar 27, 2003 6:08 PM
Scam? He has all sizes? Anybody dealt with this guy?
re: Another which wheelset question...kenyonCycleist
Mar 27, 2003 8:44 PM
yeah i emailed him earlier today but no response..but like a complete EV4 w/ record is like a $4000.oo ride..from his name sounds like he smuggled it out of spain or mexico..heh :OP
Try Excel Sports Threat wheelsetinallston
Mar 28, 2003 4:08 AM
cxp33, King hubs, and DT Swiss revolution spokes for $489.

On my set I had them switch the spokes to black 14/15 DB.

Andrew
Try Excel Sports Threat wheelsettorquecal
Mar 28, 2003 4:23 PM
Or... CXP-33s 32 hole, laced to dura ace hubs with 14/15DB spokes. Total parts cost about $330 USD available pre-built by colorado cyclist for about that amount.
Try Excel Sports Threat wheelsetkenyonCycleist
Mar 28, 2003 9:02 PM
didnt anybody see my response....why go for those bottom of the barrel wheelsets when it is perfectly possible to purchase a brand new pair of ksyrium sl's for that price?? just look on this website
Bottom of the barrel?Kerry
Mar 29, 2003 7:54 AM
You're confused, dude, if you if you think that Record/DA wheels are bottom of the barrel. Also, when one buys from these "It crawled into my hand, honest!" guys, the chances of actually getting what was ordered are slim. $4000 bikes for $1800? Can you say scam-o-matic. That's why nobody is paying any attention to your post "while uR attit."
paging RUSSW 19...El Caballito
Mar 28, 2003 11:14 PM
Hi Russ,

If you got time, I'd really appreciate if you'd give me your imput to my question.

Thanks in advance.
Ernie
paging RUSSW 19...russw19
Mar 29, 2003 8:29 PM
Cane Creek Aeroheads, definitly. That's my opinion. They are the nicest wheels I have ever riden. Hate to say it, but they are better than anything I have ever built too.

I had the Ti spoked version and I thought they were the sweetest wheels I had ever had under my butt. The stainless ones are almost half the price, but just a little bit heavier, and they ride almost as nice. I would buy another set of them in a heartbeat. I am currently riding a pair of American Classic 420's that I got a little over a month ago. I decided that I will wait until the summer and then I am getting another set of them.

I work in a bike shop and I have access to lots of cool boutique wheels and I can get them pretty darn cheap too. Out of all the wheels out there, I have bought, and will buy again, the Cane Creeks. They are great. If you can find the Ti spoked wheels for your $500 budget, I would say get them. They are light, stiff from the high tension Ti spokes, but never harsh feeling, also due to the Ti spokes. The very early versions had a history of problems with the Ti spokes breaking, but I am pretty sure they solved that. It's my understanding that they use Marwi spokes, and Marwi has changed how they make their spokes. I am over 200 lbs and I never had a problem with them. I never even had to true them. Like I said, best wheels I ever owned.

Later,
Russ
paging RUSSW 19...russw19
Mar 29, 2003 9:07 PM
Oh and since you asked for my input... here's what I think of a few of the other wheels you asked about and what some of these compare with, so you can decide if my advice fits your needs. By the way, I am basing my recommendations on your being an average sized guy.. not overly heavy or super-duper strong that pulls wheels apart... (not saying you are a whimp either...just not the Cippolini type)

OK, The Velocity Aerohead rims that you mention and Kerry mentions is a super nice rim. I have never heard problems with it, but I will admit that I had reservations about it based on it not having spoke eyelets. However, it's the same rim on the Cane Creeks, but drilled differently. My not liking non-eyeleted rims is based on a totally different rim, by the way. And I have not heard bad things about the Velocity Rims. In fact, Kerry says good things about them, and having read his advice in other posts, I think it's sound advice. The Cane Creeks are drilled so that the spoke head is at the rim and the nipples at the hub. It's a cool design. The nipples use nylock nuts to keep them tight, and it lowers the weight of the wheels at the rims. That's a good thing. As I said in my above post, they are super stiff, but not harsh wheels. The Ti wheels allow for higher spoke tension which gives the wheels a lower windup. Stiff wheels accelerate better than spongy wheels. And no, I don't have any physics formulas to back that, but I felt it the first time I road them.

Now, the King Aeroheads... I love King hubs. They are a bit on the loud side, but they are some of the best built and designed hubs on the market. Think about the fact that there is no real difference between the road and mountain hubs other than the MTB hubs have 135mm axle. And they are super light. It's true that when you compare King hubs to Dura-Ace and Record hubs with all the same skewers, they aren't that much different, but the King's are still lighter. They are virtually maintainence free, and if you do have to work on them, they are simple and straight forward. I love King hubs and I tell everyone who complains about how loud they are, they are only noisy when you are coasting, so keep pedaling. You will be faster, and your hubs will be quiter. If you have these wheels built, have them built 2 cross front and non-drive side rear and 3 cross rear drive side. Build them with Revolutions or Sapim X-Rays and you will have a nice strong sweet light handbuilt wheelset. Can't go wrong.

I am not really a big fan of Mavic Open Pros. I have a pair built to Dura-Ace hubs right now that have the dreaded OP click in the rims. It seems that where they are joined at the rims, they often click. It's annoying as all hell, and I am not happy with them at this time. The hubs are fine, but I am not happy with those rims. Which is a giant shame because I used to swear Open 4's were the best rims ever made in a clincher. Right now, I am thinking about what rims I am going to rebuild those hubs with and I am up in the air with the IRD Cadence rims, which are exactly the same as the American Classic 350's but have spoke eyelets. The other rims I am looking at are the Aeroheads or the Velocity Razors.

So of the three you asked about, I would go in the same order you listed them. Cane Creeks, King/Aeroheads, then the D-A/OP's.

I am not a huge fan of the Mavic CPX-33 rims either. I think they are strong as heck, but a little to heavy to make a climing friendly wheel that you mentioned you will be doing with them. I have a set of the CPX-33's on a cylecross wheelset, and they are super strong, but there are rims out there that don't come from Mavic that are just as nice and lighter. I love Mavic, but they have been on top for quite a while. When a company is on top for a long time, 2 things happen. They get complacent (which I don't think Mavic has done yet) and other companies try to knock them off the top of the hill with better stuff (and that I do think
Thank You Russ.El Caballito
Mar 30, 2003 12:33 PM
I'll let you know what I end up buying. By the way I weigh 190 at the present time. With sping coming on I should drop close to 10 lbs.

Thanks again.
Ernest