RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Colorado Cyclist Wheel building(9 posts)

Colorado Cyclist Wheel buildingFender
Mar 24, 2003 11:32 AM
I'm looking into buying a "custom" road wheelset. Chris King hubs, Mavic Open pro's CD/Ceramic and DT 14/17/14 spokes, and I have the following questions:

FYI - I weigh ~165lbs and plan to use them race wheels.

1- How good are CC's wheelbuilders?
2- Should I use radial lacing in the front as opposed to 2x or 3x?
3- Can DT 14/17/14 gauge spokes be used on the rear wheel? If not what would be a good alternative? Trying to keep weight down as much as possible.
re: Colorado Cyclist Wheel buildingJuanmoretime
Mar 24, 2003 12:02 PM
I own a set of Colorado Cyclist wheels and build up is great. Very high tension and they have not had to be trued since the purchased two years ago.

Radial is only going to save you a couple of grams and will cost you some wheel stiffness. I would think the wheel stiffness for cornering would be more important.

I weight 175 and ride DT revolutions on both wheels and mine are not only race wheels, I use them to train on also. Mine are 32 spoke per wheel.

I'm not sure if I would go for the ceramic rims unless you do quite a bit of wet weather riding. They eat brake pads and your adding 20 grams to the most weight sensitive part of the wheel, the rim. The best place to cut weight is the farthest point from the hub. Items to look at are tire weights, tube weights, rim tape weights, spoke nipple weights and spoke weights. That is ranked in the order of importance.
re: Colorado Cyclist Wheel buildingMR_GRUMPY
Mar 24, 2003 12:43 PM
Forget the radial lacing and forget the King hubs. Use Dura Ace or Chorus hubs with 28 2X oval spokes in front, and 32 hole 14/17/14 in back 3X. Also forget the alloy nips.
What would be the advantage??Fender
Mar 24, 2003 1:19 PM
What's the advantage of using DA hubs and oval spokes in the front as opposed to what I'm considering (besides $100 in savings)?

My main objective is a light weight race wheel.
Why forget...PsyDoc
Mar 24, 2003 1:30 PM
...the alloy nips? If these are going to be his race wheels, then why wouldn't alloy nips be advised? Isn't rotational weight a concern? I thought alloy nips were much better than they used to be.
re: Colorado Cyclist Wheel buildingJuanmoretime
Mar 24, 2003 2:30 PM
Regarding the alloy nipples, all my wheels are built up with alloy nipples including my Santa Cruz Superlight and those wheels are three years old. I've never had a alloy nipple fail. If the wheel is tensioned properly, nipple failure shouldn't be an issue.
Love my CC wheelstrout_bum
Mar 24, 2003 7:42 PM
Had a set built up in January-Dura Ace/Open pro black 28H 2X front, 32H 3X rear 14/15 spokes all around. I weigh 160 lbs and use them for racing and training. Nice wheels.
Love my CC wheelsrussw19
Mar 24, 2003 9:15 PM
I am normally very critical of most people's wheelbuilds. But I have never seen any problems with CC's wheels. They do a very good job.

As for radial lacing your front wheel... don't bother. You will lose significant stiffness at the expense of minimal weight. See Jobst Brandt's The Bicycle Wheel for the exact figures. Go 2 cross. You will add like 20 grams, but also get something like a 25% stiffer wheel. You can build 2 cross non-drive, 3 cross drive in the rear to save a few grams, but it's not substantial enough to really ask someone to do it, unless you lace them yourself and feel like being different.

If you radial lace a King hub, you will void your warranty. If you really really want a radial wheel, there are a few companies that build hubs that will take a radial lacing pattern, such as American Classic.

And I agree with someone else about not getting the ceramic rims as race rims. Unless you have a tendency to race in rainy weather. They add weight at the rim, and chew thru pads. If you race a lot in the rain, change to a different pad compound and use regular rims. It will be just as good and save rotating mass.

And lastly, I think at your weight, and if these are race only wheels, that you can get away with 24 front, 28 rear. If you go Dura Ace or Record, you will probably need to go 28 front and rear. I don't know if you can get a 24 hole front hub from either anymore.

Just opinions.... take for what it's worth...

Russ
re: Colorado Cyclist Wheel buildingGiant Joe
Mar 24, 2003 9:37 PM
No feedback on CC wheelbuild
I'm been looking for another set of custom built everyday wheelset too.If you are trying to keep weight down you might want check these wheel builders out for custom built
Might get A lighter stonger wheelset at one of these shops.
http://www.speeddream.com
Arizona-Pretty good feedback,check out RBR reviews
http://www.oddsandendos.com/
Or you might want to check out local wheel builder as option.