RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


COLNAGO C40 HP B-Stay or CALFEE DRAGONFLY?(21 posts)

COLNAGO C40 HP B-Stay or CALFEE DRAGONFLY?wackycyd
Mar 18, 2003 5:47 AM
What would you go 4?
weight weenie = DragonflyDougSloan
Mar 18, 2003 6:52 AM
The Calfee is about 6 ounces lighter. The Colnago is a bit stiffer.

Doug
Colnago is a bit stiffer?? No Wayalansutton
Mar 18, 2003 12:47 PM
The Dragonfly is way stiffer than the C-40. I've ridden both quite I few times, not as much on the c-40 as you Doug, but quite enought to feel a big difference. Are you sure you tried a Dragonfly and not a Luna or Tetra Pro?
bbDougSloan
Mar 19, 2003 2:48 PM
Judging by bb, I got chain rub on both sides of the front derailleur cage on the Dragonfly, and never could on the C40.

Vertical compliance over all, no idea. I can't tell that any bike has any.

Doug
re: COLNAGO C40 HP B-Stay or CALFEE DRAGONFLY?JimP
Mar 18, 2003 12:18 PM
Do you want to pay for artwork in both $ and weight or do you want a simply elegant looking frame? Both have excellent reputations but there are so many Colnagos it is like seeing another Ford on the road while the Calfee is more like a Mercedes SL. And, if you do buy the Colnago, what are you going to do when you get the first chip in the artwork?

Jim
simple .....the bull
Mar 18, 2003 2:59 PM
send it back to colnago and wait a year or two!
Parlee anyone? n.m.koala
Mar 18, 2003 5:09 PM
or even a Fondriest Top Carbon?wackycyd
Mar 19, 2003 12:04 PM
Anyone any experiance with one of these little gems?...........DougSloan?
re: COLNAGO C40 HP B-Stay or CALFEE DRAGONFLY?BIG RING
Mar 19, 2003 2:24 PM
OCLV 120 is your best bet.....

I have previously owned a C-40 B-stay, Trek 5900/5500, all with Dura Ace and pick carbon fiber over any other frame material. I have found that the OCLV 110 used in the 5900 is much stiffer than either the C-40, or the OCLV 120 found in the 5500. The OCLV 120 and C-40 ride very similarly with a huge delta in price. Never tried a Calfee, but hear nothing but good things about them from the few guys I see riding them. Craig Calfee seems to have a real sense of what it takes to ensure customer satisfaction. I dig the fact that I can drop a few grand and get a ride plus warranty from an American manufacturer, Trek, that bests what I can get from the Italians and Colnago. Ride quality and piece of mind for much less dough. Go to the C-40 reviews here on RBR and see what about seven guys say about the OCLV series. P.S. If you do go Colnago, skip the HP, ruins the lines on an otherwise beautiful bike. Saw one at Laguna Cyclery in So. Cal.

Good Luck, you really can't go wrong with any of them.

Non-Sprinter
re: COLNAGO C40 HP B-Stay or CALFEE DRAGONFLY?wackycyd
Mar 20, 2003 4:11 AM
Cheers Big Ring, I do feel drawn towards a TREK, but feel that they have become all too popular, very much like the Cannondale/Cippolini scenario a good few years back, I'm really in the market for something 'special', that no one else has around these parts, you could say I'm a poser at heart, but that's nothing to do with it to be honest, just not one that goes for the latest frameset that is in 'fashion' so to speak.

I fully agree with what you say about Calfee. I've read a lot of good reports on the Dragonfly, but have yet to find someone who owns one in the UK.
With regards to the warranty on US framesets, I can't fault any to be honest, something a lot of European manufacturers should seriously consider in this day and age.
I noticed last night that the top end Orbea frameset carries a lifetime warranty, although it's an alloy/carbon, so a no go there, as I'd much prefer a full carbon frameset at the end of the day.

Re-C40 HP, I half agree with what you say about the HP chainstays ruining the lines of the frameset, although I can't resist picking up the one on display in the LBS, as well as a Fondriest Carb. Level plus, although it's rather expensive for an alloy/carb frameset, approx. £1800.00.
Basically what I'm after is a frameset that I can use for a few years, rather than have one for a season only to find theres a weakness somewhere along the line, i.e. memory loss at the back end, I'm more of a track sprinters build, not by choice though, just naturally big.

Another frameset that has caught my eye is the Willier Triestina Karbon 2.

'Which one?' is currently in full flow at the moment, go for a new frame or keep my 853, which to be honest I can't fault as it's a good solid workhorse frameset.

Anyway, apol's for my ramblings, I'll have a read of the reviews and make up my mind in the next few weeks, maybe!

Regards
Wacky
re: COLNAGO C40 HP B-Stay or CALFEE DRAGONFLY?BIG RING
Mar 20, 2003 10:51 AM
Wacky,

Believe me, I understand the whole Poser thing. Took some faith to go out on the first C-40 ride, kind of a marked man. I just had to see for myself what all the hoopla was about that frame set. You are a wannabe if you ride a C-40 or a Trek in Postal colors in these parts, but, in the end, who cares as long as you feel good doing it. I finally rationalized that I am in the land of C-40's, 5900's and Merlin's and only a 1/4 of those riders ability matched that of the bike they were riding. Have fun and ride hard.

BR
re: COLNAGO C40 HP B-Stay or CALFEE DRAGONFLY?wackycyd
Mar 20, 2003 11:57 AM
words of a wise man, my centiments to a T.

but @ the end of the day, if U're not going well, U might as well look good, however, even better if it's a battered, by which I mean stone chips on that expensive paint job, always speak louder than words, unless U bought it 2nd hand, then it's something different altogether, U know what I'm sayin', I hope.

@ the end of the day, whatevere I opt 4 will be worth more mentally than anything else, 'cause it'll get me out rather than sitting/driving this bloomin' PC, in a good way, but as I say above.

Thanks again Big ring, "Keep on a grinding"

Wacky

Ps, Look forward to doing the report on whatever I buy, which'll be a ????????????.......2 B ctn'd.
re: COLNAGO C40 HP B-Stay or CALFEE DRAGONFLY?BIG RING
Mar 21, 2003 9:42 AM
Wacky-

I am reminded of what Marcel Wust sp?, sprinter for Festina, before his accident said one time in Pro-Cycling magazine. He said some bikes make your heart rate jump simply by putting a leg over the top tube..........that's the kind of motivation that will get you out of bed and on the road and the goal of every cyclist to feel that way about his/her bike.

BR
re: COLNAGO C40 HP B-Stay or CALFEE DRAGONFLY?wackycyd
Mar 21, 2003 1:14 PM
BR,

I agree, my main problem however is not the bike, as i still really enjoy getting out on the ones I already have, 853/Record, E. Merckx/mix and match of Mavic/Record 8 speed and 853 track/Record, if anything it's the darn weather over here, which I'm pleased to say has been rather nice the past week or so, makes a change to rain day in day out.

The main reason for wanting a carbon, is that I feel I need to make that step from opting for steel everytime, Titanium appeals to me but I'm not at ease with taking that gamble, and so Carbon is the next best option I feel, an alloy frameset, well, they don't even enter into the running list as far as I'm concerned, not that I'm knocking them, just not for me at the end of the day, as is the same with, say a certain breed of dog, please note no cars being mentioned in this thread, lol, GSD and BT's everytime, it's all in their character, a Labrador just isn't for me, if you catch my drift on this one. (dog threads welcome, talk about these more than bikes. lol)

Wacky
considered a kestrel 300ems?wolfereeno
Mar 20, 2003 2:33 PM
light. stiff. good crash replacement program. not too many out there. www.kestrel-usa.com.
considered a kestrel 300ems?wackycyd
Mar 20, 2003 2:55 PM
I did ride a kestrel a few years back and remember the BB height being quite high over most road frames, although it's not a major issue as I'm use my track bike in TT's, which has a bb height of 11 1/4".

Something will take my fancy, soon I hope, may wait until I'm in Fl. see if I can pick up a bargain.
Any good bike shops in Fl.?
re: COLNAGO C40 HP B-Stay or CALFEE DRAGONFLY?MarcB
Mar 20, 2003 4:00 PM
I have enjoyed reading this post. All things being equal, if one's objective is to use the bike for long rides and comfort (i.e., smooth ride)therefore being premium, which carbon frame bike would you choose?
re: Carbon comfort=Trek 5200/5500BIG RING
Mar 21, 2003 9:36 AM
Marc-

Comfort and good responsiveness with a great frame replacement warranty. Postal rides the 5200 in the TDF for all but the hardest mountain stages when they opt for the slightly lighter/stiffer 5900. Try it for yourself, then work on the things that make it go, your own pins.................

BR
re: getting there slowlywackycyd
Mar 21, 2003 1:01 PM
I read an article last night about TREK framesets and how they are constructed etc, and I'm slowly talking myself around to becoming a 'TREKie', I'll see if I can get my hands on my M8's for a brief spin when he gets it built up and take it from there.

The old pins are OK, still got a good turn of speed in 'em, so no worries there.

Cheers yet again BR, 'Keep on a grinding'

Wacky
for what it's worthlonefrontranger
Mar 21, 2003 1:43 PM
With the disclaimer that I am a marked (wo)man here on this board as I am a confirmed Colnago nut and a dedicated Campag junkie. Therefore when I jump into any thread that pits Campag vs. Shimano or Colnago vs. anything, I will caution you to take the entire argument with a generous helping of salt...

In the end, not only does it have to do with passion, but it will ultimately be up to what actually FITS you the best. I rode and raced Treks for several years via sponsorship, and I have a ton of appreciation for the fact that at the time I was basically broke and their regional sponsorship program made it possible for me to race a decent lightweight crit steed rather than a wheezy ancient POS.

I now have 2 Colnagos that I bought pretty much full price. Aluminum, not carbon, but the basic geometry does not change throughout their lines for either mfgr. The bottom line is that these two manufacturers fit and handle very, very differently. I won't say whether one is better over the other, as riders come in different shapes and preferences, but in the end I would seriously urge you to try to test ride them both first and decide for yourself.

I have a friend who was recently forced to sell his CT-1 for a Postal Trek (team sponsorship). He is a "Colnago" fit kinda guy (long legs, short body) and is not thrilled with his Postal Trek even tho he got it free. He commented that "well, it was a free bike and it's not actually BAD, so I'll ride it for a year or so..." sounds very much like what I felt about my own Treks. The 'nags, on the other hand, fit and ride like an extension of my body right out of the box with very minimal tweaking. Throwing a leg over my brand new 'nag roadie a couple weeks ago was akin to a religious experience and helped re-confirm the sheer joy and art of riding a bicycle to me.

In the end, the right bike and a proper fitting can and will do this for almost any frame, but my Treks always felt more like a tool than a dance partner.
for what it's worthMarcB
Mar 21, 2003 10:02 PM
Lonefrontranger--Excellent post. My roadbike, titanium Mongoose Pro, was in the shop being refitted with a new carbon fork, handlebars, etc. During its absence, I was riding my old steel Schwin roadbike. Both bikes are 54cm. However, the Mongoose has a longer top tube. And for me, having a fairly long torso, and relatively short legs, the Mongoose just fits better. As a result, I enjoy riding the Mongoose for that single reason. I don't know that one can make a simple generalization, but I think that the Italian frame geometries may be better for those that have shorter torsos and longer legs, with the American bikes better serving those with longer torsos and shorter legs. My observation anyway. Any thoughts?