RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Chorus or Centaur(20 posts)

Chorus or Centaurpower1369
Mar 17, 2003 8:12 AM
I know this is a topic that has been discussed before but I believe from the messages I have read it has been a discussion more about Campy vs Shimano or Record vs Dura-Ace. I would like to hear specific comments on people's opinions on buying Centaur vs Chorus. Is Chorus worth the extra $500 Cdn? Is there any real performance advantage besides being slightly lighter? Your comments are appreciated.
re: Chorus or CentaurLeroy
Mar 17, 2003 8:18 AM
This topic was just hashed out, probably in the last 50, but IMHO, there's little difference functionally, disregarding weight. If the $$$ is an issue, go with centaur and don't look back. If $$$ doesn't matter, or you have a weight thing going for you, what the heck - you might even go with record - or get chorus. You'll like any of the groups Campy makes. Ride 'em a lot. They improve with use.
chourus-650 new totalcycling.com!the bull
Mar 17, 2003 8:50 AM
get chourus its better for this price you cant beat it.
no hubs no head set.
re: Chorus or Centaurpa rider
Mar 17, 2003 10:19 AM
I'm getting a LOOK 461 build up this year with centaur. I went with that group because of the performance value and not much to really gain by buying a whole chorus groupo.

I'm going to use my Ksyrium wheels so I didn't need their hubs. I'll get a pair of chorus hubs lace up this summer.

I felt the centaur was a better cost factor for me because it works and if you want the best I would get record.

Now if those damn French would send me my frame I could ride the centaur and give you some good reviews :). I just found out I have to wait six more weeks because someone said something was in inventory, but didn't say it was in france, not california. Damn computer inventory systems.

Emory
re: Chorus or CentaurMR_GRUMPY
Mar 17, 2003 11:17 AM
Centaur is a pretty good group except for the cranks and bottom bracket. (kinda cheesey) See if you can upgrade those parts to Chorus. With the addition of those parts, the group will be a lot better than an Ultegra group. (Nothing functional, but just looks)
re: Chorus or Centaurshamelessgearwhore
Mar 17, 2003 11:59 AM
I'm having a build done with a full Centaur group (10spd). It's not too late to change something in the order though so I am interested in opinions. I just read some of the reviews on this site for the Daytona stuff and it seemed pretty hit or miss. Is Centaur better than Daytona was? Are the complainers in the reviews just not making a smooth transition to Campy?
re: Chorus or Centaur/Daytonaibhim
Mar 17, 2003 1:39 PM
First Centaur and Daytona are exactly the same (other than year of manufacture). Daytona Beach, FL forced Campy to rename the group due to registered trademark that Daytona Beach owned.

RE: totalcycling.com...group prices less hub and headset:
Centaur: 300 Sterling; 697 CDN$
Chorus: 420 Sterling; 976 CDN$ = 279 CDN$ difference.

Hope that helps.
Chorus24qq6vj
Mar 17, 2003 12:02 PM
I bought Veloce and now really sorry about it. Changing the Groupeset later is expensive and not worth the money. You will forget the more $200 for Chorus (see totalcycling) so- enjoys the better Groupeset..
Veloce? Don't despair !!Leroy
Mar 17, 2003 2:10 PM
Veloce is a good group. I have a veloce triple that I love. I still think that centaur is the best group for value; and I have centaur on a cannondale and chorus on my 'century' bike. You get a bargain with any campy group in my opinion. They do not sell bad stuff. enjoy it!
Extremely happy with Centaursjomi
Mar 17, 2003 4:02 PM
I have 1100 miles on my Centaur 10sp. 0 regrets and very happy with it. I only lusted for Campy and really didn't care for Chorus or Record specfically so that probably helps.
Centaur is definitely not hold me back.
go w/ Centaur for the cassette at least...ukiahb
Mar 17, 2003 5:31 PM
I have Chorus 10sp on my bike and love it...except for the creaky cassette...six of the cogs are riveted in pairs, and one pair (17-19)creaks a LOT. Bought a Centaur cassette w/ different ratios and no creaks..only 2 of the cogs are riveted. Have heard this is a common problem w/ Mk II (Chorus/Record) cassettes.
If the twinned cogs creak, send them back on warranty! nmSpunout
Mar 18, 2003 5:29 AM
Colorado Cyclist refuses to warranty themukiahb
Mar 18, 2003 7:24 AM
I tried to, Colorado Cyclist's head of customer service refuses to warranty them and does not think that creaking is a valid warranty claim, told me to contact Campagnolo USA directly. Can't reach anyone live there, but their call tree directed me to a recording that said all claims must be made through the dealer. All this after buying a complete bike from CC last November. Have contacted the next level at CC by mail, am awaiting a reply, but don't plan on doing business w/ them anymore at this point, will buy the cogset from Branford for $25 instead...dealing further w/ CC is not worth the hassle and agravation
Colorado Cyclist refuses to warranty themFez
Mar 19, 2003 7:26 AM
Having bought things from Colorado Cyclist and knowing others who have dealt with them, I can say that Customer Service is very erratic.

Some things are handled well, some terribly.

I think any issue that arises after 30 days is a crapshoot. I can also say the head of Cust Service is not very nice nor is this person very accomodating.

OTOH Performance Bike, which gets a lot of criticism for having phone reps that have no clue about cycling, has a pretty strong unconditional return policy. They'll just exchange or refund anything.
Colorado Cyclist refuses to warranty themukiahb
Mar 19, 2003 5:43 PM
yep...my letter evidently got there, got a call today from the charming customer service person mentioned above, who I never want to deal with again in any capacity, told her I'd rather just buy the cogs from someone else at this point. The whole incident has been a drag, was a CC customer for about ten years, but will go w/ other suppliers in the future. This person has got to be losing CC a LOT of business, am not surpised to hear that others have had similar experiences...really bad business to lose a long time customer over a $25 part.
LOL!Fez
Mar 19, 2003 7:39 PM
Since you said this person was a "she" I'm sure we both know we're talking about the same person.

I'm pretty sure this person probably doesn't take any crap from anyone in her everyday life. She just sounds like she could bust balls!

On a different note, I wonder if she rides.
LOL!ukiahb
Mar 20, 2003 8:44 AM
naaah, don't think she rides, if she did a) she would have a sunnier disposition and b) would understand that creaking is a real problem on a road bike.
no doubt at all that we are talking about the same person.....
Spent their Cust Serv. money on busty models for catalog. -nmSnowBlind
Mar 20, 2003 2:15 PM
That's great if you're a browser and not a shopper (nm)Fez
Mar 20, 2003 7:36 PM
re: Chorus or Centaurbikernoj
Mar 21, 2003 1:40 PM
I hear you- the cost difference isn't always worth it, but it depends on your needs. For example, I'm running a 9sp triple setup ('cause I suck at climbing!) but didn't want to go full Centaur. Here's my lowdown:
Chorus- brakes, shifters, & cogs
Centaur- triple FD & BB
Racing T- rear der, chain, & crankset

This way, I get the ball-bearing performance of the Chorus shifters & brakes, but still get to run a triple without having to sell a kidney for Record or swap to 10sp. My only beef is with the BB. Supposedly a 111mm Record Triple BB won't work with Racing T cranks (has anyone tried this?) and Chorus only makes a 102mm double BB. My BB choice is limited to the PIG HEAVY 300gm Centaur triple AC-H!

Going pure double? Fly with full Chorus. Not only will you have a FULL Chorus bike, but like someone said before you really won't notice the difference in the long run.