RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Opinion on King hubs vs Dura-Ace(10 posts)

Opinion on King hubs vs Dura-Acec722061
Mar 6, 2003 10:23 AM
I am in the market for new hubs and need your opinion on this.
Is Chris King hub far more superior than Dura-ace in term of weight, durability, easy for service as its price suggested? Thanks!
re: Opinion on King hubs vs Dura-AceMR_GRUMPY
Mar 6, 2003 11:03 AM
NO.
Maybe 5% better
re: Opinion on King hubs vs Dura-AceBeaver
Mar 6, 2003 12:12 PM
I was in the same boat last fall and decided on Dura Ace because of the price and the fact that King's are mostly known for mountain biking. If I was to get an off road wheelset, Kings would be my first choice. But for the road, I decided to stick to the more traditional Dura Ace.

The owner of my LBS(Frank) swears by Kings though. Every wheelset Frank has made for his personal bikes, he's made them with King hubs..road, mountain, single speed, disc. In fact, he's in the process of building up some Zipp carbon rims and King hubs. He's the best wheel builder in the Raleigh/Durham area and if you want, I can send you his email address.
re: Opinion on King hubs vs Dura-Acedaniell
Mar 6, 2003 12:20 PM
My friend had King hubs. He got so tired of the noise, he replaced them with Dura Ace.
They are loud!wolfereeno
Mar 6, 2003 12:33 PM
I rode my mtbike for a ride around the park the other day and some roadie told me I should get my wheels checked while he blew by me :-)

On the trails they scare away the wildlife. But I like them a lot.
ANGRY BEES!!!!!!!!! or 800 lb Marlin hooked and runningatpjunkie
Mar 6, 2003 6:36 PM
I actually like the sound. Then again I liked the gattling gun rattle of older Hugis as well. They definitely let the person in front of you know you are there.
can i have his kings?bludoggy
Mar 8, 2003 8:52 AM
all it takes to quiet them is an application of some extra synth lube to the innards....
re: Opinion on King hubs vs Dura-AceDaveLobster
Mar 6, 2003 12:32 PM
Basic economics tells you that spending twice as much on an item virtually never results in you getting twice as much utility out of that item. It's called diminishing returns, and it's just common sense.

Shimano (& Campagnolo) have been producing bike components for decades. They have huge investments in tools and machinery, and their hubs have evolved over the years to what they are now. I am constantly amazed by the number of people who would argue all day long that Dura Ace or Record shifters or cranks are the best available, but can be convinced in one conversation that the hubs are crap.

I know of no durability issues regarding Dura Ace hubs, and have a set of 7400-series freewheel hubs from 1987 that I rode regularly until I converted that bike to 9-speed (just this winter). I also have a current model DA rear hub which I used on a different bike for over a year with no problems (I disassembled the wheel due to rim problems). What I am saying is that while King Hubs are no doubt wonderfully well-made and durable, Dura Ace hubs aren't too shabby in that area either.

The main advantages of Chris King over Dura Ace are weight and exclusivity. And the weight isn't that much. Dura Ace hubs w/o skewers weigh 115g/312g front/rear. Chris King hubs weigh 112g/266g. That's a difference of 49g, or a little over 1/10th of a pound. Buy what makes you happy, but at least know what you are gaining. -Dave
Thanks all! Dura-Ace it is.c722061
Mar 6, 2003 5:41 PM
Good decision--I've got both andTrekFurthur
Mar 7, 2003 11:57 AM
actually kind of like the feel of the DA hubs better, but I don't have the "break-in" miles on the CK hubs yet. The Kings make for a light wheel, though; I've got 'em set up on a Campy tubular rim for a wheelset that weighs around 14 grams naked. Kind of a project. They might be turned into MTB wheels one day.