RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Choice of three pedals... help me choose the "best"? >>>(9 posts)

Choice of three pedals... help me choose the "best"? >>>yellowpearlz
Mar 2, 2003 11:06 AM
I'm looking to upgrade my 105 level SPD-R pedals on my TCR, and am looking for a set of "different" and light (i.e. not Shimano) pedals for my bike. I've already made a few upgrades and have narrowed down my choice of pedals to three:

1).Speedplay Zero

2).Coombe Pro

3).M2Racer "Orb"? Here's a pic:


My questions are, has anyone tried these Orb pedals (I don't see any reviews for them)? I'm really interested to hear any real-world experiences with them.... Which, if any, of these pedals/cleats will fit my carbon-soled Shimano shoes? Any info or suggestions are greatly appreciated!

~mdh
M2 Racer "Orbs"? Anyone try them?yellowpearlz
Mar 2, 2003 11:51 AM
we're waiting for you to buy and write a report...Akirasho
Mar 2, 2003 12:41 PM
... unlike just a few years ago... we've got a lot of options for pedals... perhaps too many...

Be the bike.
I'd love to... butyellowpearlz
Mar 2, 2003 1:05 PM
that whole "120 day warrabty" thing is a little odd... aren't compinents usually backed for at LEAST a year? Makes me wonder about durability. Suppose they are amazing... then great! Buut.. what if they aren't... could my $200+ be spent on a better pedal like the speedplay? I don't know...

~mdh
Get the SpeedplaysCharlesTT
Mar 2, 2003 7:10 PM
Get the speedplays. Dont waist you time with coombe or that M-whatever stuff. Spend $180 on the stainless Zero's. Coombe is basically the same as regular speedplay X's. Maybe they are lighter. That other pedal you have a picture of..........just looking at it i cant even figure out what part you clip into.

If it were me, i would get none of those pedals. I would get Time impacts or the New Shimano Dura-Ace SPD-SL. Unless you are doing triathalons and would ride better with a 2-sided pedal, just get time or new Shimano's. Time is not at light as Shimano, but shimano is the lightest thing out there if you also include the weight of the cleats.

......................after all, after you clip in, they all feel the same.
agree!the bull
Mar 3, 2003 3:33 PM
I agree. Speedplays.(nm)..spc15
Mar 4, 2003 1:05 PM
Orb impressionsEric_H
Mar 3, 2003 3:39 PM
I do not personally use the Orbs, but a teammate has tried them out. He says the float feels very much like Time Equipe (ie. lateral and rotational float). He did seem to have some problems with accidental release, and I notice he is back to using his Time pedals.

The Orb cleat mounts via SPD drilling (two-bolt).
Ask your friend to submit a review ( nm )superdog
Mar 3, 2003 10:10 PM