RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Tell me about Campy (Chorus) Headsets.....(9 posts)

Tell me about Campy (Chorus) Headsets.....asphalt assault
Feb 26, 2003 9:42 AM
I almost bought one with a gruppo but someone here says they aren't very good. I called the place where I bought the gruppo to cancel the HS and he asked what I was going to use. I told him I was going to get a Cane Creek C2...which he doesn't carry. he said that he doesn't recomend Cane Creek headsets, hmmmmm...

I think he doesn't recomend them because he doesn't sell them. I would have just gotten a King but I'm already over budget on this project.

What's bad about a Chorus? Any bads on Cane Creek headsets?

Thank you again, for your support:)
I use bothonrhodes
Feb 26, 2003 10:46 AM
I use both headset, and I have no complaints about either one. The Chorus has a very low stack height mind you, other then that it is an exceptionally nice headset. I rally can't see how you could go wrong with it.
The Cane Creek is nice too. I've had one on my mtn bike for 4 years now. It works fine.
Chorus headsets are fineLeroy
Feb 26, 2003 1:44 PM
I think they are a real bargain. I have used them successfully. I have a chorus headset on the new main ride that I just built up. You get all kinds of opinions on the board here. My opinion, based on personal experience, is that you're just fine with a chorus headset.
re: Tell me about Campy (Chorus) Headsets.....mapei boy
Feb 26, 2003 3:48 PM
My Chorus headset has never missed a beat.
Open response...question about HSBonked
Feb 27, 2003 11:00 AM
How good or bad can a headset really be? Their only purpose is to allow the steering tube to turn left or right. I have completely overhauled every piece of bike equipment, but have never once touched a headset, even on my 15 year old bike...but it still works perfectly. What exactly makes a headset bad or, as I often read, Chris King headsets the absolute best?
I've destroyed 3 of themDougSloan
Feb 27, 2003 12:10 PM
I ruined 3 by hitting potholes hard, and hammering the bearings into the races. The cheaper ones are more likely to do this. Never did with a Record, Chorus, or King.

Doug
Nothing's indestructable....asphalt assault
Feb 28, 2003 8:24 AM
I broke a Race Face MTB HS ($80...not a cheapie). It broke the bottom cup at the diameter that presses into the bottom of the head tube. I replaced it with a King and never had a problem again. I have the same King on a different MTB now and have had no problems...and I ride this bike a lot harder now then I did the previous bike.

My concern with the Chorus was maintenance. Why build a bike with a HS that you have to pull apart and clean/grease on occasion when you could use a sealed cartridge and not have to mess with it?
I guess that I've been lucky! n/mBonked
Feb 28, 2003 10:25 AM
re: Tell me about Campy (Chorus) Headsets.....Rob Sal
Feb 28, 2003 11:20 AM
Never had any problem with any of the Campag headsets I have bought, be they Athena, Chorus or finally Record. They have all been fit and forget.