RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Stem/handlebar size question(11 posts)

Stem/handlebar size questionPaulCL
Feb 25, 2003 12:20 PM
OK..no jokes about stem size....

I was about to order a replacement quill stem for my Colnago. My quill stem is OK, but about 6 years old and has >20,000 miles on it. Nashbar has a stem I like real cheap, so better safe than sorry. Besides, it seems that retailers are getting rid of quill stems at discount prices. I'm afraid some day I won't be able to find one.

Being semi-impatient, I want to order it now while they have it in stock. My questions....my Colnago has a 1" steerer tube, correct?? Its' a 1997 Bititan. Also, the "standard" handlebar size?? 25.8mm or 26mmm ??? My stem is 6 years old, but my bar in only 3 years old. I'm not replacing that yet.

Or...should I go home and look for the measurement on the bar?? I'm pretty certain 26mm is standard but since 25.8 and 26 are so close, does it matter??

....and no, I have no interest in "upgrading" to threadless. I love the looks of a qill stem. As for the stems I am looking at: Modolo vs ITM any opinions?
re: Stem/handlebar size questionNater
Feb 25, 2003 1:25 PM
I'd post the manufacturer of your current handlebar...most makers stick to one diameter and someone here will probably be able to tell you what size you have...or you could get out your metric calipers and measure it. That said, I think the best looking quill stem in the world is a Salsa and they come in tons of sizes.
agree on the Salsalaffeaux
Feb 27, 2003 11:08 AM
If you're buying a quill stem, a Salsa is the way to go. The removable faceplate of the SUL version is the best thing to happen to quill stems.
re: Stem/handlebar size questionEric_H
Feb 25, 2003 1:46 PM
Your bar diameter depends on manufacturer. For conventional (non-oversize) bars these are the nominal diameters:

Cinelli - 26.0 in recent years (1997-present?), previously 26.4
ITM - 25.8
3TTT - 25.8
Profile - 26.0
Ritchey - 26.0
Modolo - 26.0 (?)

As for putting a 25.8 bar in a 26.0 stem and vice-versa, I have not had any problems with this. I have found most one-piece (drawn) aluminium bars have less than perfectly round sections at the clamp, usually varying by at least 0.2 mm in roundness.
Putting a 26.0 bar in a 25.8 clamp may cause some scratching.dzrider
Feb 25, 2003 2:11 PM
I just got a bike on E-Bay and it looks like that's what happened. I have put a 25.8 bar in a 26.0 clamp and had no problem securing it which, to me, is much more important.
works fine, they are essentially the same thingaltidude
Feb 25, 2003 4:55 PM
25.8 is the same as 26.0 for real world bike build purposes. Component makers have a good deal of leeway between advertised diameter and actual diameter of their stems and clamps, certainly with at least .2 mm's of leeway. A 26.0 bar will work with any 25.8 clamp.
nto always.............Rusty Coggs
Feb 25, 2003 5:18 PM
I have had problems with some single bolt 26.0 stems clamps getting a bit on some 25..8mm bars.
wrong reasonaltidude
Feb 25, 2003 6:43 PM
There are 26.0 stems which do not match up well with some 26.0 bars and there are 25.8 stems which do not match up well with some 25.8 bars. In general these two sizes are compatable though, but not always. It's not the advertised speced size difference which is causing the problem, some bars simply do not fit well on different manufactuers stems.
re: Measure it...nmRusty Coggs
Feb 25, 2003 5:15 PM
nm
It's a 26mmPaulCL
Feb 26, 2003 6:48 AM
Thanks. I ordered the stem. The negative is that I now have to remove my bar tape to get my bar off. Oh well, small price for my teeth.
One measurement is worth a thousand opinions. (nm)Spoke Wrench
Feb 27, 2003 9:28 AM