RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Anybody have a U.S.E. Alien seatpost on there rode bike?(9 posts)

Anybody have a U.S.E. Alien seatpost on there rode bike?ds5200
Feb 25, 2003 7:40 AM
What do you think? Any problems? I've read some of the reviews on the board about the "bad" clamp design. Your thoughts please. Thanks
re: Anybody have a U.S.E. Alien seatpost on there rode bike?Horace Greeley
Feb 25, 2003 8:32 AM
I initially had the same concern based on all of the reviews here. However, I decided to go ahead with purchasing the USE post b/c my frame takes a 25.0 mm post and there were not many options without setback (I also bought the post at a decent price overseas w/the frame). Personally, I don't think setup is such a big deal and I'm certainly no master mechanic. I used the post on a new build and played with saddle position quite a bit with no problems. Just follow the instructions exactly so you don't strip the screws. For me, the most difficult part is actually trying to remove/adjust the saddle once clamped because the clamp is so damn good it doesn't let go even with the screws removed. Based on a tip, I gently used a flat head screw driver between the center and rear clamp. Works great, as long as you are gentle.
re: Anybody have a U.S.E. Alien seatpost on there rode bike?gybeho
Feb 25, 2003 8:52 AM
I put one on my Fuji to allow better adjustment for saddle angle. While the clamp is a very interesting design, it's an absolute bi@#h to reposition once it's been torqued tight. Forget about easy repeatable settings too. I think I'm going to go back to my original idea and try the American Classic Ti Seatpost.
re: Anybody have a U.S.E. Alien seatpost on there rode bike?fzrrider
Feb 25, 2003 9:25 AM
The clamp can be a pain in the butt but once its set, no worries. Minimal weight and the graphics look awesome with my SLR. Had mine for about 16 months. An easier way to remove the clamp is screw each bolt out a couple millimeters then whack the t-wrench that you are using to remove the bolts, that should separate the clamp without it flying across the room in pieces.
re: Anybody have a U.S.E. Alien seatpost on there rode bike?JimP
Feb 25, 2003 11:23 AM
I concur with Horace. The clamp may be difficult to re-adjust but will not slip when tightened. I had an Easton carbon seatpost prior and had a hard time getting it tight enough to keep the seat from slipping. When I installed the seatpost I taped a long piece of wood (a yardstick)across the seat up to the stem and measured the distance from the stem to the wood to measure the angle. I also measured the top of the seattube to the seatrails and the nose of the saddle to the stem. With these measures set up the same, I then followed the tightening directions and haven't had to fool with the clamp since.
Jim
re: Anybody have a U.S.E. Alien seatpost on there rode bike?dickruthlynn
Feb 25, 2003 2:21 PM
I have a USE Alien Ti seat post in 27.2mm on a Chisallo. The seating glamp initially gave me problems because it is difficult to adjust. But once adjusted, it is fine. Personnaly, there is not enough set back. The carbon version requires a shim as it comes only in 25.?mm.
What, no grammatical commentary? (km)bludoggy
Feb 25, 2003 9:36 PM
What, no grammatical commentary? (km)altidude
Feb 26, 2003 5:38 AM
At least he didn't spell board as bored. :-)
I use one and don't have problems.125lb
Feb 26, 2003 7:26 PM
I've been using one since the summer of 2001. Alien Carbon. No problems. But I'm light. It will flex, but it doesn't bother me. No problems with the clamp, it's a pain because the allen is so small and there's two, but no problems yet.