RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Talked wheels with Joe Young on the phone today(17 posts)

Talked wheels with Joe Young on the phone todayAmbishawn
Feb 22, 2003 9:36 PM
He seems to think Campy and Shimano hubs are old designs. I also asked him about spoke washers, he says there only nessasary when you have excessive play with spokes in the hub holes. His opinion of hubs confilcts with many on this site but his pincipals on building good wheels are well founded. I've agreed on going with the DT Hugi 240 hubs on My wheels. Joe is gonna start them Monday.
bought my first hugi hub in 95the bull
Feb 23, 2003 4:42 AM
Used to be a mountain biker.The rear wheel on my specilized had crapped out.Had a hugi with a 517 built up.Very loud liked it though.People moved out the way when you came up the trail on them.Bought a Litespeed Unicoi and put the rear wheel on that.Wore the rim out and reused the hub.
Bought an IF steel bike(great bike)wore the rim out reused the hub.Now its on my second Ellsworth(cracked one).I dented a rim and was thinking about going to disc.But It was going to cost too much.Built a new wheel and reused that hub.

The only two parts I have left that were on my first good bike are that hub and a chris king headset.They both still have awsome bearings and feel like new.
bought my first hugi hub in 95Ambishawn
Feb 23, 2003 8:47 AM
I bought a Stumpjumper new in 98 that has the Specialized front hub. I was told this hub was made by Hugi. The front wheel of this Stumpjumper will be ridden this afternoon only on my Moots YBB that I bought on MTBR review classifieds in late 99. This front wheel consists of a Mavic 222 rim, the Specialized front hub, black ritchey spokes and alloy nipples. Even with the ever so spooky radial lacing this wheel has had one minor truing in 5 years. The rear with the XTR hub has never stayed true for more than a month, was recentlty rebuilt/respoked becase it started popping spokes. Now it's got 14ga spokes with brass nipples and after 120mi alreadey is maling noise with loose spokes and losing true. I realize that it's the bike mechanic that's at fault here. That's why I'm so paticular about who builds the wheels for My IF Crown Jewel. Even going Chorus this project is going over 4 grand and that's shopping around for everything. By the way I also have a King headset on the Moots. Trouble free since 99.
INDY FAB'S ARE THE MOST BEAUTIFUL FRAMES I HAVE EVER SEEN(THEY RIDE NICE TOO)!!!!!!!!!!!!!NMthe bull
Feb 23, 2003 12:33 PM
Hugi noisemcteague
Feb 23, 2003 9:39 AM
I am in the market for new wheels as well. I plan on Mavic OPs and either Dura-Ace hubs or Hugi 240. I like the lighter weight and sealed bearings of the Hugi. I hate overhauling hubs. I heard the new Hugis are not as loud as the old ones. Anyone heard the recent version? What guage spokes did you go with? Count? Alloy or brass nipples?

Tim McTeague
Hugi noiseAmbishawn
Feb 23, 2003 10:21 AM
Went with Mavic CXP33 rims, (black) DT Competition 14/15 gauge double butted spokes (black), Silver DT alloy nipples, and Silver DT hugi 240 hubs. Went with 32 spokes front and rear. If these wheels work out I may do a mavic reflex tubular set with revolution spokes from joe for racing.
By the way, I haven't heard back from Campagnolo on the tech bullitin yet.Ambishawn
Feb 23, 2003 10:25 AM
Hugi noisetexbaz
Feb 23, 2003 4:10 PM
Those sure sound great! Can you give an about Price for the wheelset from Joe, I'm thinking about new wheels myself. Colorado Cyclist doesn't show the Hugi's in their selection of available hubs, only the Chris Kings, which are about the same price I think?
Hugi noiseAmbishawn
Feb 23, 2003 5:27 PM
There gonna be $631 shipped to my door. He's selling the DT Hugi 240 hubs for $300 pr. The same wheels with Open Pro rims are $611 shipped to the door. If your close by you My be able to pick them up your self. Shipping to L.A. is only $24 though.
Pricesmcteague
Feb 24, 2003 8:07 AM
I know Joe has a great rep but that is twice what Colorado Cyclist charges for a DA hub, OP rim wheelset. I am still riding my CC wheels from long ago and they are bombproof. I was hit by a car last month, it clipped my rear wheel with enough force to spin me 180, and the wheel was only about 3mm out of true! How much better can Joe's wheels be? I am torn between Hugi hubs or good old Dura-Ace for my next pair. I have heard pros and cons for the Hugi but nothing but praise for the Shimanos. My current pair is Shimano 600 hub, Reflex clincher and 32 DT 14/15 spokes with brass nipps. Boring but reliable. I'm still unsure how to go for their replacement.

Tim McTeague
Hugi noisealtidude
Feb 24, 2003 7:30 PM
Those wheels will work out, sounds like a real nice wheelset. I'll take them if you don't like them. :-)
Hugi noiseHillRepeater
Feb 23, 2003 6:17 PM
You can pretty much control the noise the 240's make by greasing the star-ratchet mechanism. Freshly greased, the hub is nearly silent. After the grease breaks down a bit, the hub will get louder. Greasing the ratchets is a 2 minute, no-tool needed job. Be sure to use the right grease, though. Contact DT and they'll send you some for free.

I've run 240s on both my mountain bike and my road bike and they've held up well. I was able to find the set I'm using on my road bike on Ebay laced to Open Pros with DT spokes for $255 new. They were machine built, but I stress-releived and re-tensioned them, and they've held up perfectly.
re: Talked wheels with Joe Young on the phone todayaltidude
Feb 24, 2003 2:17 PM
Old designs which have proven themselves from both a durability, and performance standpoint. Other words for old are proven and dependable. I'm still not sure why Joe is so attached to Hugi unless they give him a financial deal to build with their hubs which is what I think the case is. Why doesn't he ever push White Industries hubs, a hubset easily on par if not better than Hugi's IMO???? Hugi's are solid but I have seen nothing to indicate Joes claimed superiority of them on the road on bicycles.
I agree, old is proven and dependable.Ambishawn
Feb 24, 2003 7:15 PM
I took a lot for Joe to convince me to try the Hugi's. He had no problem Building the wheels with any componets I wanted but says I will get for sure greater service life from the Hugi Hubs. Not so much from the hube themselves but mainly the more even spoke tension on the rear wheel afforded by the hugi rear hub. Even thouh the Hugis are significantly lighter than the Chorus or Record hubs he dosen't hold that up as such an advantage. He also says that the bearings require less maintence due to better seals. Joe has built many, many, wheels for many types of riders and have to be somewhat considerate to get the best results from him. I was looking at the hugis before contacting joe but was thinking Chorus for reliablity and better price.
What weight are you assuming for the Hugi's?Kerry
Feb 25, 2003 4:35 PM
Don't forget, the Hugi weight will be 120 gm lighter than Campy just because they don't include the skewers in the advertised weight, while Campy does. What is the "significant" difference after you correct for the 120 gm?
What weight are you assuming for the Hugi's?Ambishawn
Feb 25, 2003 7:34 PM
About 60 grams but even more significant as opposed to the Dura Ace set. I realize that this weight is at the center of the wheels not really affecting performance. That Dura ace rear hub is a pig.
re: Talked wheels with Joe Young on the phone todayYe Olde Balde One
Feb 25, 2003 12:05 AM
Because the White rear hub is junk?