RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Campy users?(25 posts)

Campy users?Juanmoretime
Feb 12, 2003 9:25 AM
I building up my first full Campy bike. Those of you that are using Campy group's, do you also use the Campy headset or post?
Sure - whyRimfired
Feb 12, 2003 9:34 AM
wouldn't you?

Loads of miles on my HS - no problems. Post looks nice and works - what more can you say?
re: Campy users?rogue_CT1
Feb 12, 2003 9:35 AM
Chris King headset. Without a doubt the finest component available. Period. I also use the Campy carbon seatpost. Just don't overtighten the seatpost collar. IMO use the Campy collar vs the one that came with the bike.
re: Campy users?Hardtail
Feb 12, 2003 9:43 AM
Campy ALL THE WAY............
Yeah Baby Yeah
re: Campy users?desmo
Feb 12, 2003 11:04 AM
The Campy threadless headsets are nothing special, but there's nothing really wrong with them and they are not over priced. As a previous poster said, Chris King if you want the best. I think the Ti Chorus post is beautiful and very comfortable as well.
agreeDougSloan
Feb 12, 2003 11:35 AM
The Record and Chorus headsets are great looking, and will probably outlast the bike, anyway (and more traditinal looking than a CK). The Chorus Ti seatpost is very elegant. Got them all.

Doug
re: Campy users?Spunout
Feb 12, 2003 11:07 AM
Cane Creek headset, Thomson seatpost.
re: Campy users?koala
Feb 12, 2003 11:14 AM
Both Campy headset and Campy post-no problems.
re: Campy users?JS Haiku Shop
Feb 12, 2003 11:26 AM
3k miles on a chorus threaded headset, no problems so far (knock wood). will ditto other posters: the chorus Ti seatpost is pure art. silly, but true.
Here's what I'm running on my bikes...Cima Coppi
Feb 12, 2003 11:48 AM
Road bike #1: Record Carbon Post/Chris King 1" threadless headset.

Road bike #2: Record Alu Aero post/Record threaded headset.

CX bike #1: Thompson setback post/Record integrated headset.

I have yet to run into any issues with any of the components above. You could pretty much go with anything above, and not notice much difference during your ride. The headset is most noticable off the bike while performing routine maintenace (i.e. open bearings vs. sealed bearings)

CC
Here's what I'm running on my bikes...atpjunkie
Feb 12, 2003 2:50 PM
Record 9
Headset and Ti Post
love em.
simple.
love ck headsets but Campy is good/cheap and looks NICE
Campy users?Iwannapodiumgirl
Feb 12, 2003 2:53 PM
I use a Cane creek headset - it came with my Bianchi XL EV2. I use the Record Carbon seatpost, and love it - it looks good too.
re: Campy users?mackgoo
Feb 12, 2003 5:00 PM
I use Campy threaded and threadless depending on the bike. Both have the carbon post. And it hasn't shattered in <20 deg weather we've had.
I can't use the post,Ambishawn
Feb 12, 2003 6:55 PM
My new IF Crown Jewel frame accepts 26.8mm posts. The Campy posts are only 27.2mm. The reviews on this site say that the carbon Record posts arn't very good anyway. I think I'm gonna try the Thompson Set Back post and Another Chris King head set. Still debating on either Chourus or Record on the rest of the bike.
rest of the bikeatpjunkie
Feb 12, 2003 7:32 PM
Chorus, but get the record levers. best deal in town.
rest of the bikeAmbishawn
Feb 12, 2003 11:17 PM
Yeah, I'm leaning toward Chorus. I actually like the Chourus levers better. Kinda staying away from the tech-outed look of Carbon Fiber. I even had the frame company (Independent Fabrication) paint the Reynolds Ouzo Pro fork to match the frame. I want modern function like 10 speeds and Shifter levers but a somewhat classic look of handbuilt wheels and a steel frame.
rest of the bikeBlue Crown Jewel
Feb 13, 2003 5:53 AM
I think that you will be delighted with the IF Crown Jewel
(steel) and Chorus. That is the setup I have on my bike,
although I opted for the steel fork. I too was after a more
traditional look, round tubes (slightly oversize in my case
due to weight). In addition, I have the Ritchey WCS stem
which I also think is a thing of beauty and the Biomax bars.
I love the classic look of the bike, no sloping tubes, no
radical shaping of the tubes on the outside.

However, I have to say that I splurged on the Record crank.
I just could not live without it ;-)

I also went for a metalic blue paint job with white panels.
Pure elegance, in my eyes.

Kind regards,
Dimitri
rest of the bikeAmbishawn
Feb 13, 2003 6:39 AM
I want the record crank too. Cost is a small factor in Me going Chorus over record on the group, Most bike mechanics say it's more reliable. My Crown Jewel is Tangerine Orange and Ruby Red Metallic with points seperating the two colors.
rest of the bikeBlue Crown Jewel
Feb 13, 2003 11:09 AM
Hmmmm, the colours sound delicious, I have to say. As for
cost of Record, I was not sure. I did know that I did not
like the plasticky feel of the levers. Plus the second
lever (for upshifting) is all plastic. I really liked the
aluminum feel of the Chorus shifters. As for the cost, I
understand. Where the additional component is important,
i.e. Record brakes vs. Chorus, I would not mind paying the
premium. However, with the exception of the crank, I did not
care for the additional Record parts.

Where did you get your bicycle from? I wish you many happy
miles. Mine was custom built for a small upcharge, and I
will tell you that every time I ride the bicycle after not
having ridden it for some time, I love the way it feels
very natural. It is the best way to describe this. It feels
very familiar.

Kind regards,
Dimitri
rest of the bikeIF Guy
Feb 13, 2003 12:41 PM
I totally agree with everything that the two of you have said about the CJ. My Crown Jewel is baby blue with white panels and silver trim around the white panels. It's also built up with full record. I love the steel fork. I don't think that there's anything more sexy than a sraight bladed fork! The thing I like about the Record ergo levers is that they don't feel as cold in the winter. As for the inner shifting blade, it is carbon. It's just injection molded carbon unlike the weave cloth on the other levers and rear der. It's the same material that the lever body is made out of. For what it's worth, in terms of durability, the carbon levers have stood up to a head on crash into a car with no problems.

Enjoy your ride!
IF guy, think I should go Chorus or Record ?Ambishawn
Feb 13, 2003 6:53 PM
I went with the carbon fork that come with the SC but I had IF paint it the color of the front half of the frame. Kinda want to keep the look non pretentious and some what classic while taking advantage of the worthwhile road bike technology. A friend of mine went on a cold mountain bike ride recently and asked if I were gonna go with those carbon levers because of how cold his aluminum one were. Food for thought. I don't think one could go wrong with either Chorus or Record. I noticed most of the IF owners I've had the pleasure of meeting have gone Campy.
IF guy, think I should go Chorus or Record ?IF Guy
Feb 17, 2003 6:23 AM
You can't go wrong with either. They are functional equivalents with Record being a bit lighter. I like the carbon levers in the cold because they don't feel cold, but I do like the notch (cutout) on the inner lever of the Chorus lever. It's more of your personal preference and budget. If you have to compromise I'd go with the Record Ergo's and crank and put Chorus on the rest. Good luck and enjoy the ride!
Thanks for the answer IF GuyAmbishawn
Feb 17, 2003 6:58 PM
I've strongly considered that exact set up (Chourus with record crank and Ergos. I'm probably gonna go All Chourus with the Record crank. I like the Chorus levers.
rest of the bikeAmbishawn
Feb 13, 2003 8:35 PM
I bought mine from Open Air Bicycles in Ventura CA. They are not an IF dealer. The Owner (Jon Avery) has a lot of experience with fitting people with the Serrotta size cycle. We used the Serotta size cycle, the IF measuring guide and an interview with Jon Avery (Open Air) and Matt Bracken (IF). I belive most Crown Jewels are Custom these days. I chose this bike based on Reviews and test riding some built up ones at I Martin Imports in West Hollywood. (Those were the only Shimano Equipt IFs I'd seen.) A 56cm fit really well but my custom is gonna allow me a little more stand over clearence and a longer top tube than a stock 56cm. I love the way these bikes handle.
Chorus headset on one, record integrated on the other nmLeroy
Feb 13, 2003 5:34 AM