RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Campagnolo Eurus or Mavic Ksyrium SSC SL?(8 posts)

Campagnolo Eurus or Mavic Ksyrium SSC SL?DodgeBallBoy
Feb 6, 2003 10:37 AM
I've narrowed my choices down to these two wheelsets. Both sets have their strenghts and weaknesses but I still can't rule one out over the other. Anyone that has used one or both of these wheelsets for an extended period of time and has some insite to which one is the better choice your thoughts would be appreicated.

Thank you.
re: Campagnolo Eurus or Mavic Ksyrium SSC SL?atpjunkie
Feb 6, 2003 11:02 AM
am a bigger rider and my bike came with Ksyrium SCC SLs. I was nervous they would be light and flexy. Have been proven wrong.
Great strong and relatively light wheels.
re: Campagnolo Eurus or Mavic Ksyrium SSC SL?rogue_CT1
Feb 6, 2003 11:15 AM
I narrowed my choice down to the same two wheelsets. I chose the Mavics because I had heard how durable they were. I talked to several shops and read the reviews. I weigh 220-225 lbs and I don't want a flexy wheel or have to worry about breaking spokes. I was told by two shops in the area that the Ksyriums zytal (sp?) spokes just didn't break. On closer inspection I determined that the spokes don't have the typical "J" bend where spokes commonly break. In looking at the Eurus wheels in person I didn't feel that they would hold up, especially when pedaling hard out of the saddle. The Ksyriums are smooth and comfortible but what really impressed me the most was their acceleration when climbing. I would be very interested to hear from someone who has used the Eurus wheels.
re: Campagnolo Eurus or Mavic Ksyrium SSC SL?atpjunkie
Feb 6, 2003 7:45 PM
I agree being a big boy as well. I've heard of the Krys Spokes breaking, hasn't happened yet. Love these wheels
re: Campagnolo Eurus or Mavic Ksyrium SSC SL?S-U-B
Feb 7, 2003 8:27 AM
I have the ksyrium SL's and SSC's. You can not go wrong with these wheels. I would also check out Amclassic 420's.

http://www.amclassic.com/420_Wheels.html

They are lighter than K's, more aero, and when you show up for a ride, every other rider in the group won't have then, unlike the K's. I almost purchased the 420's myself but ended up with a pair of Zipp 404's. You can also get bladed spokes, and they can be worked on by anyone because they are more standard parts. Look into the 420's, but you can't go wrong with the K's.
I guess, I'll write the dissenting opinion then...seyboro
Feb 7, 2003 5:03 PM
I have ridden a set of SSCs and, personally, would discourage anyone over 200lbs from buying a set. I managed to pull 4 spokes through the rear rim after only 2000 miles. The most indignant Mavic customer service rep on earth accused me of messing with the spoke tension. After endless arguments, they agreed to warranty the wheel.
I sold the replacement rear and used front to a friend for a fair price (...yes, he still speaks to me!). He likes them so far, but replaced the front wheel after a solid biff at 28 mph. He had the option to replace the rim and have the wheel rebuilt with new spokes. The price quoted by Mavic was $30 under a completely new front wheel. Since the old front hub kept loosening itself anyways, he just replaced the wheel. Of course, the defective hub was not covered by Mavic either.
I can't comment on the Eurus', but, surely, they cant be worse...
re: Campagnolo Eurus or Mavic Ksyrium SSC SL?MP
Feb 8, 2003 6:47 PM
Last year I test rode Ksyriums and Eurus before buying wheels for my new Litespeed Siena. I chose the Eurus' because they were so much more comfortable. The Ksyriums were stiffer, and since I don't race I really didn't want the stiffness. After 2,000 miles on my Eurus'and after hitting many potholes, they are still perfectly aligned. In short, they are excellent wheels. I weigh about 163. You won't go wrong with either. However, if you are a heavier rider you might want the greater firmness of the Ksyriums. Another option would be Neutrons.
Velomax blows em both away Yahoooooooscorpionking
Feb 9, 2003 7:04 AM
:-o