RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Racing/ Training Wheelset Survey(14 posts)

Racing/ Training Wheelset Surveymdewitt71
Feb 5, 2003 10:54 PM
What type of wheels are great for Racing/Training and wont break the bank (under $750)?
I am 170 lbs. and ride flats as well as hills.
Ask for an opinion and you shall receive....Juanmoretime
Feb 6, 2003 1:52 AM
I have a set of Velomax Curcuit Comp's, semi areo light and trouble free for about 4500 miles. Up till now, no truing, the back has a little wobble but not even enough to put it in the truing stand yet. I've seen the new go as low as $250 on Ebay. Read the reviews on them here on this site.
Survey: Record 32h, Open Pro (Blue), 3X, 14/15.Spunout
Feb 6, 2003 4:17 AM
I'm 172 lbs, this is my only wheelset. Any LBS has spokes and parts to fix them. I can fix them myself. They haven't gone out of true.

If I got anything more, I'd think about Campy Eurus or Neutron, but probably get another set of Record/OPs but 28h, 14/17 2x front and 14/15 3x non-drive, 14 3x drive on the rear. OPs in black this time.
re: Racing/ Training Wheelset Surveyrogue_CT1
Feb 6, 2003 7:10 AM
I've got 3 sets of wheels:
Training- Velocity Spartacus 30mm rims w/ 24f/28r - $260 set
Training/Road Racing- Mavic Ksyrium SSC SL 18f/20r - $579
Time Trial- Hed H3 tubular - $479 from E-bay

If I had to go with only one it would have to be the Mavics. For the price the Velocity Spartacus is a great solid reliable wheel. The Hed wheels are just plain fast.
Come On, I know there is more opinions!!!!!!????mdewitt71
Feb 6, 2003 7:26 AM
How about SPINERGY REV-X 700C?
or Dura Ace wheels?
Come On, I know there is more opinions!!!!!!????scorpionking
Feb 6, 2003 8:23 AM
Dura Ace hubs on either Open Pro or Maxic CXP-33 rims are everybit as good as Ksyriums which are kinda harsh riding, not at all aero, even though they are advertised to be and are not that light either because their advertised weight does not include the weight of the skewers. A simple custom built wheelset with Dura Ace hubs and a smart affordable rim will ride every bit as fast as Ksyriums, be much easier to true or fix when a problem occurs and cost several hundreds of dollars less. Most factory built prebuilt wheels are extremely overpriced for the hyped performance advantages they supposedly deliver. Unless you are talking top of the line all out racing wheels like Rolf Prima Carbon, reynolds or Zipps, etc, it is really a waste of money blowing $500-700 IMo on prebuilt wheels from Mavic, Campy and Shimano. In many cases these prebuilts are no lighter than smart built custom wheels, no more aero if you talk to aerodynamic experts and much less dependable as far as fixing in a pinch, ease of truing, etc...
Come On, I know there is more opinions!!!!!!????rogue_CT1
Feb 6, 2003 8:32 AM
Ksyrium's harsh riding? Have you ever used them? Maybe the carbon rear on my bike takes out the harshness and I haven't noticed. Oh yeah, I forgot, ScorpionKing doesn't approve of carbon fiber.
Come On, I know there is more opinions!!!!!!????atpjunkie
Feb 6, 2003 11:08 AM
Ksyrium SCC's SLs (Racing)
Record O/P CD Ceramic 3x (training and foul weather)
Record Colnago Ambrosio Excellence 3x (training)
another great wheel is the Velocity Orions (heavier version of the Ascents) These 2 models have better hubs than the Circuits.

one wheel?
Mavic Classic SCC's (all black) choice of Paris Roubaix. MAvics Straight Pull hub, normal spokes laced 3x. Strong light, traditional. Hard to find though.
Come On, I know there is more opinions!!!!!!????scorpionking
Feb 6, 2003 1:53 PM
Since when do't I approve of CF? Many riders feel the K's ride harshly. Perhaps you don't know what a comfortable wheel feels like. :-)
Wisdom speaks.Quack
Feb 6, 2003 3:17 PM
I second Skorpionking's recommendation in wheel choice. Boutique, overpriced, NASA designed wheels sure look cool at the local hangout, but the bottom line is that you will come back to the traditional after you snap one and don't want to drop a grand for a replacement set. Because you are looking for a wheel to train on as well as race, I would go traditional and avoid the inevitable pain of trying to repair a wheel with parts you can't get anymore.

DA Hubs on Mavic OPs or Sun ME14s with light swaged spokes should be perfect for the long haul. Then again, Spinergy Rev-x are some awesome wheels. Right up to the point where the spokes get loose and the rim goes out of true. But hey, then you can pay the company 98% of retail and get a replacement.

Enjoy!
Wisdom speaks.atpjunkie
Feb 6, 2003 8:13 PM
agree on the O/P as well. love my training set. not knocking my Kysiriums (came with my bike) but I love the basics as well. The Classics SCCs are basically an O/P rim with a straight pull hub. Normal spokes (sans J bend) laced 3x. I've broken a few spokes in my day. Usually at the bend.
Another vote for Velomax Circuit Compsredsoxnut
Feb 6, 2003 8:13 PM
I have also had great luck with Velomax Circuit Comps and I am 200 lbs. I bought mine for $225.00 on ebay.
DA hubs--Open Pros--28 spokes--Revolutions (nm)TrekFurthur
Feb 7, 2003 11:24 AM
For $750 you could get two sets!Ye Olde Balde One
Feb 8, 2003 9:11 AM
For training, Ultegra or Centaur hubs 32/32h 3x with box section rims of your choice. For racing, something like the set of Velocity Fusion rim wheels I saw the other day, built 18/24h with Edco hubs. You'd have a great set of pit wheels with your "training" wheels, and a nice set of lighter race wheels. Just don't skimp on the rubber!