RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Record 10 brakes - keep them - sell them?(15 posts)

Record 10 brakes - keep them - sell them?MerlinMan
Feb 2, 2003 7:29 PM
I have a new set of record 10 brakes. I have heard that they do not function as well as Dura Ace but are lighter. Should I sell them or keep them? Anyone tried them and found them lacking?
re: Record 10 brakes - keep them - sell them?granda
Feb 2, 2003 8:01 PM
I have them (full record setup) on my merlin with vector pros. I've had no problems slowing down from serious decents. I do like Dura ace brakes a little better because the tension adjuster makes it easier to take the wheels off without messing up the brake setting. Wouldn't go dura ace based only on performance.
How are you removing your wheels?DY
Feb 2, 2003 10:14 PM
Are you taking your wheels on and off with the threaded adjusters at the brake? Those little buttons up on the brake levers, they do the same thing only a lot better and easier.........with NO brake adjustment necessary.

Seriously though, the levers of the Campy's have the brake release opening feature, same as the flip up cam on the Shimano.
Shimano levers + Record Calipers = this problem...Spunout
Feb 3, 2003 4:26 AM
To fix this issue: Replace all Shimano labelled parts on your bicycle with ones stamped Campagnolo and your brakes will be fully functional. ;)
6 of one... nmDougSloan
Feb 2, 2003 8:10 PM
Keep'mburdiman
Feb 2, 2003 8:49 PM
I ride Dura Ace except for Record Brakes. Picked them up used and they rock. So far every time I grab them my bike slows down or stops.

Personally I think they look better than DA anyway.
It's a matter of rubber.The Singletrackroadie
Feb 3, 2003 3:06 AM
I found with my mtb that going to aftermarket brakepads is best. Koolstop is the best I have tried. The compounds are just better. Don't sell, just replace pads, if it is a matter of stopping power
Beautiful. No open pivot. Good design F vs. R. Need ergos. nmSpunout
Feb 3, 2003 4:24 AM
campy modulates better...C-40
Feb 3, 2003 6:10 AM
Unless shimano has changed their brake design recently, my biggest complaint was that they worked too good. Campy brakes take a little more effort to operate, but you're less likely to unintentionally lock up a wheel.
Sell themLeroy
Feb 3, 2003 9:17 AM
and get some black Mavic brakes - look good; stop good, too. I'd rather have more grip in the back wheel than the differential brake gives - mine's chorus. I've got mavics on another bike and really like them.
Diff. brakes are an optioncxer
Feb 3, 2003 9:51 AM
you can get Record with equal brakes or differential front/rear. It is an option only available for Record.
Diff. brakes are an optionRob Sal
Feb 3, 2003 11:00 AM
Chorus brakes are available as equal or differential too.

I have read plenty of reviews saying Shimano DA brakes flex more than Campag. Personally its all in the head/pads!!
Not true, I have differential Chorus. -nmSnowBlind
Feb 3, 2003 4:00 PM
What are diff. brakes? Thanks nmMerlinMan
Feb 3, 2003 4:02 PM
Stronger brake in front (DP), weaker in back (SP) - (nm)Kerry
Feb 3, 2003 5:05 PM