RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Dura-Ace or Chorus???(32 posts)

Dura-Ace or Chorus???The Singletrackroadie
Jan 28, 2003 7:51 AM
Hi,I'm a Sponsored Mountainbike Racer That loves to race road as well, but has limited knowledge of road grouppo's.

Ican get a great deal from one of my sponsors, the Dura Ace, but STI levers I heard doesn't last as long as the Chorus Ergolevers. Campagnolo Levers are more comfy as I understand.

Should I go top end Shimano Dura Ace or Second best Campagnolo??

Ksyrium Elite or Campagnolo Proton???
are you kidding???C-40
Jan 28, 2003 9:02 AM
Look down the page a bit, we just went through a lengthy mudslinging contest on this subject.

I addition to the Campy or Shimano question, you forgot the 9 or 10 speed debate. Might as well cover all the bases.

I won't discuss it any further. I like my ALL Campy 10 speed drivetrain just fine. Never had a problem in three seasons of use.
You forgot "double vs. triple" and "steel vs Al vs Ti vs CF" -nmSnowBlind
Jan 28, 2003 10:05 AM
Are the fish going to bite on this one ?MR_GRUMPY
Jan 28, 2003 9:11 AM
You can't go wrong either way....Cima Coppi
Jan 28, 2003 9:29 AM
Both component groups are excellent, and will provide you with miles of reliability given you maintain the equipment. Since you have access to discounted Shimano components, I'd probably suggest sticking to D/A. You'll be going through chains and cassettes most quickly, and these parts are significantly less than their Campy equivalents. Also, general compatibility of wheels is much better with Shimano than with Campy, especially at races.

Best of luck,

CC
You can't go wrong either way....koala
Jan 28, 2003 11:51 AM
Is it true the current 9 speed will be upgradeable to the new Dura Ace?
Troll? ...or did you just wake up from a coma?Leroy
Jan 28, 2003 11:59 AM
do a search. look down the page about 6". use what's sponsored or free.
re: Dura-Ace or Chorus???NoahD
Jan 28, 2003 5:20 PM
As an owner bikes with both groupos, I can say they both work great (and Shimano stuff is durable if taken care of). However, I hate the Campy because I don't like the way the levers feel and the position of the buttons. DA is much more comfortable for me. Try them both out and see which one you like better.
re: Dura-Ace or Chorus???atpjunkie
Jan 28, 2003 6:53 PM
try them both, see which one you like then slag the other product for the rest of your cycling life. Come to think of it
CHINESE FOOD SUCKS! THAI FOOD RULES!!!!!
most of all have fun and don't forget to smile and laugh and stuff
Campy Chorus!bsdc
Jan 28, 2003 8:37 PM
Sorry for flames from my fellow roadies. Asking about DA vs. Chorus here is like asking Rock Shox vs. Marzocchi on mtbreview.com. To answer your question, I think you'd be better off going with DA since you can get such a good deal on it. Chorus won't necessarily last any longer, and if it did, it still wouldn't make up for your deal with your sponsors. I do think Campy levers are more comfortable. As far as Chorus being second best, I wouldn't say that. Chorus is functionally the same as Record. Record just has a few carbon and titanium parts that help cut some weight. If I went with Chorus, I'd go with the Proton wheels. If I went with DA, I'd go with the Ksyrium wheels.
freeatpjunkie
Jan 28, 2003 9:40 PM
take whatever your sponsor gives ya. they both are great. and bsdc is right. Chorus' only diff. really is weight. some of my riding partners/teammates run Chorus w/ Record Shifters and rear der. and are quite happy. I've heard that Chorus 10 is nearly as light or lighter than the old Record 9 which I'm happily running.
Campy Chorus!The Singletrackroadie
Jan 28, 2003 10:02 PM
Thanks for a better reply than your fellow roadies.... (What is up with the guy that says I am a troll) Think I will go Dura Ace route. Marzocchi is Much less hassle than Rock Shox. Cost ALOT less. RS only lighter.

Thanks for being a bit more Clued up than your friends.

Any MTB advice you may need just ask.
Campy Chorus!atpjunkie
Jan 28, 2003 10:12 PM
Zoch Rules!!!! I'm a coil-n-oil man myself. Stiff, smooth and sweet, weight be damned. I hope this doesn't start a wildfire.
WILD FIRE!!!The Singletrackroadie
Jan 29, 2003 4:53 AM
Can't argue with you there... Plush like hell, means better ride. Love the ECC "lock-out" You are at a lower position and tracksion is increased. The Marathon is the best! Or is it just that I tried every last shock (RS, Headshock etc.) and this works? Or that they give me a bunch of Marzocchi's to race with?
WILD FIRE!!!atpjunkie
Jan 29, 2003 1:48 PM
hell give me a 1999 or 2000 AtomBOmb 100 or BAM 80 with heavyweight springs. I hear the marathon is cool. may get one now that they have a coil version. hate air shox.
Zokes...YIKES!!!! hey single trackatpjunkie
Jan 29, 2003 3:06 PM
this oughta freak some roadies out, thought you'd enjoy
WOW!!!!!!!!!! What a rush, aptjunkieThe Singletrackroadie
Jan 30, 2003 9:17 AM
No amount of tarred roads in the world will give such a rush! On the air shock vs. coil. I love air, the feel is just more smooth. Coil will always be great. Do you do xc or enduros, freeride etc.
WOW!!!!!!!!!! What a rush, aptjunkieatpjunkie
Jan 30, 2003 11:06 AM
mostly XC, Trail Riding, Race Cyclocross and Road (plus a tad of freeriding). I've had to tame it down as it hurts too much as I'm too old and too big. it's true about bigger they are harder they fall thing. just like adventure/trail riding on the MTB
Trollbsdc
Jan 29, 2003 4:56 AM
A "troll" is a someone who trolls for fish to bite on his stupid question. I think the real "trolls" are the trolls that hide in a cave and wait for someone to ask a question they think is stupid.

I find mtbreview.com to be a bit juvenile at times. The biggest problem on roadbikereview.com are the snobs.

Good luck with your new road bike! Watch out for drunk red-necks in pick-ups!
Trollsatpjunkie
Jan 29, 2003 1:01 PM
I was thinking Troll was referring to, "where ya been, hiding under a bridge?" as there was a huge debate over same topic recently. Shows what I know. Trollers are men/women out lookin' for love.
No rednecks in South Africa, only BAD Taxi drivers.The Singletrackroadie
Jan 30, 2003 9:24 AM
Hi bsdc. I think I misunderstood the lingo. New to internet chat and road thing. All the roadies has been really cool to me in SA. I will try not to be a troll next time, still learning the ropes.
Neither: both crap, go with Mavic Mektronic, even better, Zap!nmjaybird
Jan 30, 2003 8:39 AM
Neither: both crap, go with Mavic Mektronic, even better, Zap!nmThe Singletrackroadie
Jan 30, 2003 9:31 AM
I will personaly wait for the new Record electronic stuff in 2004/5. Cables got to go, it is the way forward. Shimano will soon follow. (Can't get any Mektronic in South Africa, must buy from a shop via internet, need to test before you buy)
Neither: both crap, go with Mavic Mektronic, even better, Zap!nmjaybird
Jan 30, 2003 9:58 AM
I was just being a jerk. I guess it was a little too much coffe this morning... Under no circumstances should you go with Mektronic or Zap!

I am biased toward Campy and I ride Chorus with Record levers but I really like the way the DA levers feel. If you get a good deal on the new cableless stuff go for it... Just be prepared...

If I were in your shoes, I'd ride what ever I got the best deal on. It's all good stuff.
read it now....atpjunkie
Jan 30, 2003 11:09 AM
rider loses tour de france when system shorts in rainy climb up AlpeD'Huez.
take out "tour de france when" and it is even better... nmjaybird
Jan 30, 2003 11:44 AM
keep it simple.The Singletrackroadie
Jan 31, 2003 5:32 AM
So you think that the new Record will be a bust deal? Keep it straight foward and leave the tech. Must ad that the new XTR is bullet( for those that does not know, Shimano has integrated the brakes and levers of the oll Rapid Fire. Same as the STI) Still needs testing and race time.

P.S. see www.campyonly.com
keep it simple.atpjunkie
Jan 31, 2003 10:42 AM
not sold on new XTR. last thing I want is my brake lever moving while on a nasty descent. Hell I still use XTR 8 SPeed.
call me a luddite, I like fatter chains. I see this developement as one that will pass.
re: Dura-Ace or Chorus???mackgoo
Jan 31, 2003 6:38 AM
There is only one choice so go with the Chorus.
Jeez Mackgooatpjunkie
Jan 31, 2003 10:51 AM
we just put this flame out. You wanna jump in and start it up again? trolling? conflict seeker? peace in the nieghborhood.
BTW I'm a Campy user who likes really hot Thai food. I don't look down on my Shimano Pals who like bland english Food. no metaphorical comparison between components meant, just illustrating diff. in "taste"
Jeez Mackgoomackgoo
Feb 3, 2003 5:08 AM
I don't either. I just find these so hilariuos. Half the time I tell them go Shimano you DESERVE it. I've been away from the computer.
Jeez Mackgooatpjunkie
Feb 3, 2003 5:36 PM
how's your Dream Cross? is it 'down" now? hey I have set of Blue Ambrosios laced 3x to record hubs that would look mighty fine on it.
all my best