RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Any info on the San Marco Aspide saddle. No reviews. nm(9 posts)

Any info on the San Marco Aspide saddle. No reviews. nmPaolo1
Jan 26, 2003 12:47 PM
like what???C-40
Jan 26, 2003 2:24 PM
I used one this past season and found it tolerable. Like most minimalist saddles, it's got firm, not very thick padding and it's quite light in weight. The rails allow more adjustment than some other road saddles.
Thanks. I was interested in the comfort factor, adjustment, etc.Paul
Jan 27, 2003 3:26 AM
How does it/you hold up after a long ride. do you still use it?
still use it...C-40
Jan 27, 2003 5:30 AM
I still use the Aspide. It's held up great for 3000 miles. It does have a recess toward the the back. Don't try this saddle with cheap, thinly padded shorts.

If I was looking for pure comfort, I'd try an SDG Comp Ti with full kevlar cover. The rails on this saddle are geared toward MTB use. Lots of rearward travel, not much forward travel.
I hated the stitching.DMoore
Jan 26, 2003 4:40 PM
The saddle itself wasn't too bad. I like San Marco saddles, and it felt OK. For a while. I realized that the stitching on that runs the length of the saddle was apparently directly in line with some stitching on the chamois of my PI shorts. The result was a hole chewed into a very tender portion of my anatomy. I felt some rubbing when I was riding, but had no idea how bad it was. That was my last ride on that saddle.

I'd always thought that embroidered saddles seemed like the answer to a question nobody was asking, but I didn't realize that they could actually do damage. I've switched to a Selle Italia Flite TT. It's shape is similar, but it's a nice smooth finish that doesn't cause the problem that the Aspide did.

If they made the Aspide with a smooth leather cover, without stitching, I'd buy another one. But they don't.
Good point. They use something called Lorica, have no idea howPaul
Jan 27, 2003 3:34 AM
it wears. They put stitching in saddles to reduce slipping, but in the past, I've found it annoying. How does the fabric wear?

thanks
More comfy than the flite slr........MerlinMan
Jan 22, 2003 6:34 AM
......I owned the slr for - a day - then I threw it up on ebay as fast as I could. If you have quads then you may find the flat edges of the slr unacceptable. The aspide is comfy for the ultra light saddles. I've heard the AX-Lightness all carbons are sweet but have a 3 month hand build time.
I have a friend who races, and uses an all-carbon saddle. HePaul
Jan 27, 2003 3:40 AM
said that it's really not that bad, uses it on long rides. He said the give in the carbon is the reason it's comfortable. Though the hard edges can be a pain in the butt. I'm interested in having more adjustment for fore/aft, and one user of the saddle says it gives this.

Thanks
Does the Aspide have a recessed center channel? Can't tell fromPaul
Jan 27, 2003 3:50 AM
the picture.