RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Quill stems with removeable face plates(9 posts)

Quill stems with removeable face plateskilimanjaro
Jan 22, 2003 12:49 PM
Does anyone know if anyone makes quill stems with removable faceplate that do not have a big, fat, ugly (my opinion only) stem with weld marks? i.e. a traditional looking quil stem that has removeable face plate.

I checked rivendell and did not see anything there.

Thanks and regards
Answered my own questionkilimanjaro
Jan 22, 2003 1:23 PM
Found a Deda Murex http://www.lickbike.com/i1140050.htm

and a TTT Motus http://www.lickbike.com/i1141050.htm at Lickbike.
Answered my own questionFez
Jan 22, 2003 1:33 PM
I'd pass on the deda. The reviews say its pretty flexy. It looks like its hinged and not a true removable plate.

Don't know about the 3t, but I like the Salsa SUL. And although I thought the Salsa was a tad heavy, it is listed at 270g, so it is about the same as the deda and the 3t
Re: flexy stemskilimanjaro
Jan 22, 2003 2:10 PM
How can one tell a stem is flexy or not. I have the OEM ITM quill stem on my current bike. When I used to mash I really pulled on the handlebar going uphill but never noticed any flex.

Just curious
a few thingsFez
Jan 22, 2003 4:36 PM
The usual symptom is a clicking or play in the bars when climbing out of the saddle or sprinting.

Keep in mind that a click or a creak sound isn't always from the stem. Sometimes a headset or even a bottom bracket could be the cause.

And sometimes its the stem attachment point, rather than the stem itself that is the cause. That's why you see the 2 bolt systems and more recently, the 4 bolt.

I had one of those awful quill stems with the huge and ugly welds. Made all kinds of noises and creaks when climbing and sprinting. I could feel it move under my hands. Changed to Salsa and not a single sound or movement.
deda has removable faceplate, not hinged (nm)gollum
Jan 23, 2003 3:16 PM
Salsa SULFez
Jan 22, 2003 1:27 PM
I think it avoids the bulk and unsightly welds by being made of chromoly steel. Very stiff, but probably 50g heavier than those other quill stems that are ugly and creak like crazy.

If you are sticking with a quill system, I doubt you will find a better one with a removable plate.
re: Quill stems with removeable face platesbigskulls
Jan 22, 2003 2:26 PM
anyone ever try this one, the Cinelli Frog? I'd be interested in any feedback

http://www.roadbikereview.com/Stems/Cinelli+Frog/PRD_110931_2515crx.aspx
anyone need a 3T Motus?tarwheel
Jan 23, 2003 8:11 AM
I bought a 3T Motus on eBay for a good price, but it's the wrong size for me. The reach is 11 cm. Like new condition with original box and installation info. Will sell for $30 plus shipping if anyone is interested (retail is $60+). Email me if interested -- jetmather@msn.com. The Motus is a high quality stem with the classic appearance of a traditional "L" stem. Polished grey color with removable facecap.