RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Campy Record and Chorus mix, what would you use?(18 posts)

Campy Record and Chorus mix, what would you use?Juanmoretime
Jan 16, 2003 6:09 AM
I've always wanted a full Campy bike and feel that the frame needs to be steel. My thoughts are to go mostly Chorus and upgrade certain pieces to record. My thoughts are to upgrade to the record cassette and bottom bracket. What would you Campy users think would be the best components to upgrade to Record?
re: Campy Record and Chorus mix, what would you use?Alpedhuez55
Jan 16, 2003 6:40 AM
If I were upgrading no matter what group, I would go in this order: carbon shifters, rear deraileur, cassette, front deraileur, crank/bottom bracket and brakes.

Mike Y.
I think you're making bad choices, but that's just me,TJeanloz
Jan 16, 2003 6:40 AM
Upgrade to a Record cassette and bottom bracket, why? Functionally, the bottom brackets are identical. Record weighs 30 grams less, and costs about twice as much. Granted, it's a relatively cheap upgrade, but it's not getting you anything except 30 fewer grams. We're looking at about $1/gram, which isn't bad.

Functionally, the cassettes are also identical. Again, it's another what, 40 grams? At a cost of ~$80, or $2/gram and no functional improvement. And your just going to wear it out faster than you would a Chorus. It's not something I'd do.

$40 more gets you the Record Carbon levers. No functional benefit, but the look cooler and weigh a little (~15g) bit less.

$80 more gets you the Record Carbon derrailuer, which saves you 60 grams, and looks substantially cooler than the aluminum chorus version.

So my upgrades are roughly cost neutral to yours, roughly weight neutral, and on parts that (a) look cooler (if carbon is your thing) and (b) have a much longer life.
Actually...Bonked
Jan 16, 2003 10:16 AM
I just went through the same thing and, when I was thinking about it, I figured it out on a $/g basis. Unfortunately my spreadsheet is at home or I could give you the exact numbers (or let me know if you want it and I can post tonight). The most cost-effective upgrade is the BB and, surprisingly, the second best is the cassette. I never thought that the cassette would be a "better" up grade than some of the other components!
..until you have to buy a second one...nmSpunout
Jan 16, 2003 10:58 AM
Yes, I ended up with a Chorus cassette for that reason...nmBonked
Jan 17, 2003 10:10 AM
all or none...C-40
Jan 16, 2003 7:23 AM
If you start mixing, be sure that you don't lose the discount normally given for a groupo purchase.

The cassette and BB would be my last choices to upgrade. I did just the opposite. I've got an all Record group except for a Chorus cassette and BB. The cassette will last longer and the BB is the same, just a little heavier.
All Or None Is Right (nm)cipolini2b
Jan 17, 2003 12:38 PM
Me too.shirt
Jan 20, 2003 9:19 AM
All Record with a Chorus cassette. Ti cogs are silly, imo...
does a classic look matter?DougSloan
Jan 16, 2003 7:43 AM
If you are going for a classic look, you might want to delete the carbon parts.

If so, I'd get all Chorus, except for the crankset and cassette (get the steel/ti, not all steel or all ti, which is not $250). I like the Record calipers, too, but I think the difference is ti bolts.

Doug
My $.02PaulCL
Jan 16, 2003 7:46 AM
I have an almost all Record bike. My only chorus component are my cassettes - I have two of 'em. The Record Ti cassette costs 3x as much as Chorus without any real weight savings or "cool" factor. Same goes for the bottom bracket, though mine is Record.

I agree witht the other posters...goes for the Record carbon levers. Beautiful!! Paul
All Chorus, save $$ to buy Campy wheels, neutrons IMO. nmSpunout
Jan 16, 2003 8:34 AM
yes! but I'd get carbon levers if I could. nmweiwentg
Jan 16, 2003 8:46 AM
re: Campy Record and Chorus mix, what would you use?bsdc
Jan 16, 2003 10:10 AM
For a classic steel bike with Campy, I'd go all Chorus. I think it looks more classic, is functionally the same as Record, and you will probably save money by going with a complete group rather than buying ala carte. Put the money you save into a nice set of wheels.

If I was going with a newer cutting edge bike and money didn't matter, I would go all Record for the carbon appeal. By the time you upgrade a few Chorus parts to Record, you are so close to the Record group price that you might as well just go for it.
I switched my cassette fromDonger
Jan 16, 2003 11:40 AM
the steel/ti Record 10 to the all steel Chorus for durability. Chorus weighs a bit more but is a good $50-$60 less at most online/offline shops.
re: Campy Record and Chorus mix, what would you use?Leroy
Jan 16, 2003 5:36 PM
If you're going to a steel frame, you'll want a steel fork. I would have no carbon showing on the bike, and would go all chorus, except for a record crankset, record headset, record bottom bracket and record hubs.
re: Campy Record and Chorus mix, what would you use?BenR
Jan 18, 2003 4:27 PM
I'm suprised no one has addresed the crank differences. I can't remember the actual numbers, but the Record crank is much lighter than Chorus and is supposed to be substancially stiffer (I don't know first-hand). I don't know what the cost/gram upgrade is, but the alloy Record cranks are pretty cool looking. You can probably find some at discount prices since people are now trying to upgrade to the super-expensive carbon version.
Record Ti cassette is JunkAmbishawn
Jan 26, 2003 8:30 AM
I think the record Ti Cassete is Junk. Not a bad cassete to have on a race day wheelset but not strong enough for day to day riding. I know a lot of people with full record bikes going to chorus on the Cassete for durability. The Record Carbon BB has some poor reviews on this site with some reviewers sugesting an upgrade to the bullit proof Chorus BB.

I just got My steel Crown Jewel frame yesterday and am torn between Record and Chorus. I kind of like the look of Chorus and the 3 to 400 dollar savings that goes with it. If I do go Record I will run the Chorus BB and Cassete. If you like the look of record you cant see the BB and the Steel Cassete looks better anyway.