RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


any opinion on mavic cosmic carbon wheelsets?(8 posts)

any opinion on mavic cosmic carbon wheelsets?cyclingfrenchie
Jan 15, 2003 7:09 AM
IMHO, these wheels are the sexiest looking wheels available but I have never had the opportunity to try them.
What do you think of them in terms of reliability, lateral stiffness, aerodynamics,etc?
Do you think that the weight issue should be a real turn-off?
I need your advice.
thanks.
what I knowDougSloan
Jan 15, 2003 7:24 AM
First, they are Open Pro or Reflex (i.e., $59) rims with fairings attached; they weigh 1995 grams for the pair, and cost over $1100.

Compare these to Zipp 404's, which are true carbon rims (tubular), about same depth, and weigh 1283 grams, and cost around $1300.

The Cosmics have fewer spokes, but weigh almost 2 pounds more! I suppose if you like extra weight, the Cosmics are just the thing. They do look nice, though.

Doug
If you want carbon go carbonbugleboy
Jan 15, 2003 11:21 AM
I think that if you want to lay down the cash for something like that then get an all carbon wheel. Zipps, Cane Creek. I'm going to try the Cane Creek Aros Superlights this year. Not as aero as the Zipps or just plain Aros, but I would think that such a deep rim would be mostly for TT. Plus that rear hub is a very nice design.
re: MAVIC Cosmic Carbone wheelsChen2
Jan 15, 2003 10:30 AM
I like mine a lot, bought them new in 1998 and they are still as good as new. For three years they were the only wheels I rode. There doesn't seem to be a lot of aerodynamic wheel data available, but what I've seen is favorable for the Carbones. Doug is correct that the out rim is aluminum and fairly heavy. Mine are clinchers and the rims are not Open Pro, they seem to be more of a box design with bonded CF fairings. The hubs and bearings are excellent.
On the plus side they are strong, reliable, and work with normal brake pads, tubes, and tires. I use Performance tubes with 60mm stems, no extensions needed. Truing requires removing the tires tubes and rim strips. MAVIC provides a special socket wrench to use on the internal nipples. I check the true on my truing stand once a year, and after the first year they have stayed true. I weigh 165 and ride some pretty rough roads.
As for lateral stiffness, they seem stiff to me.
If you want good reliable fast wheels I can recommend the Carbones. If you want light weight quick accelerating climbing wheels get something else.
re: any opinion on mavic cosmic carbon wheelsets?Sintesi
Jan 16, 2003 4:33 AM
Chris Boardman said that Rolf Sestrieres (sp?) were more Aero according to wind tunnel tests. Surprising, no? Read that in ProCycling a year ago.
re: any opinion on mavic cosmic carbon wheelsets?bjarne
Jan 16, 2003 4:50 AM
I haven´t read all pro cycling mags, but in Cycle sport a couble of years ago Boardman built his "dream bike", and he strongly recommended Cosmic Carbones, both for roadrace and tt.
I never seen him ride anything else, by the way.

Bo
yeh.Sintesi
Jan 16, 2003 5:18 PM
No, Cosmic Carbones lose out to Sestrieres. Boardman clearly says the opposite in his Terry Dolan frame review. Anyone?
Fastest wheelset I've riddencyclequip
Jan 16, 2003 5:15 AM
Would still own them but they were tubbies and started to become a hassle. Much faster/stiffer than my Ksyriums and I never noticed the weight, ever!!