RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Front Aero Wheel.(10 posts)

Front Aero Wheel.Juanmoretime
Dec 30, 2002 2:07 AM
I'm looking for a light front aero wheel. What I'm considering is a American Classic CR-420. Any ffedback from anyone or suggestions on what I should get. It would be used on mostly rolling roads with short, steep climbs.
how aero?DougSloan
Dec 30, 2002 7:26 AM
Is this for racing? If so, it's hard to beat the mid and deep rim carbon wheels, like Zipp 303 and 404. They are light and aero, but to keep it light, you need to go tubulars.

Doug
how aero?Juanmoretime
Dec 30, 2002 7:54 AM
Hi Doug,

This would be more for serious competitive recreational riding. More myself against the clock than anything else. I really wanted to stay with a clincher. When I did time trial, I used to ride tubulars. I like the ride but for what I'm doing, I think clincher would be the better choice.
how aero?DougSloan
Dec 30, 2002 8:37 AM
I have a set of American Classic hubs with Velocity Aerohead clincher rims. http://www.amclassic.com/Road_Velocity_Wheels.html They are reasonably light, but only moderately aero. Actually, the only thing aero about them is fewer spokes and a v shaped rim; the depth of the rim, as I understand it, largely contributes to the reduced drag; I'm not aware of any rims that are light, clincher, and truly aero except for 404 clinchers, and maybe the Head Alps. Zipp 303's are close. These all are pretty pricey, though.

Doug
how aero?gray8110
Dec 30, 2002 10:52 AM
The Rolf Prima Vigor will be a fairly light deep rimmed clincher.. who knows when & where they'll be available. Bob Roll, Davis Phinney & Leonard Zinn liked them when they reviewed the wheels on OLN's gear guide last year :)
how aero?Woof the dog
Dec 30, 2002 12:42 PM
are you kidding me? I have velocity aeroheads and they are just about the most unaerodynamic rims just like any box sectioned rim. Anything shallower than 50 mm is not gonna make any significant difference. The rim makes all the difference and if its deep enough spoke count doesn't matter as much. That is what i heard somewhere on this site or maybe cyclingforum. makes sense to me.

Woof the dog.
serious competitive or recreational ?MR_GRUMPY
Dec 30, 2002 10:52 AM
If you are going to be doing time trials, I would recomend a Hed H3 or a deep-V wheel. The Hed's are faster, but are affected by strong cross winds more. If this for recreational use, I would recomend a Mavic Cosmic Elite.
Grounding in realityKerry
Dec 30, 2002 5:07 PM
If you are riding "myself against the clock" then you should be thinking about what this means to you. The best aero wheels will give you 0.4 mph at 25 mpy (0.6 kph at 40 kph), which is worth 57 seconds per hour. That's a huge number in a 40K time trial, but only translates to a bit less than 5 minutes in a 5 hour ride (at that speed). At lower speeds, the difference is less, so you might be saving 3-4 minutes if you ride that distance in 6 hours (20 mph/32 kph). You'll be hard pressed to sort out that amount of time from all the other things you might have done/not done in that long ride. So, but a more aero wheel because you like the looks or the cache', but don't buy them to improve your PR on your nightly ride.
re: Front Aero Wheel.bakan
Jan 1, 2003 10:26 AM
hi, i'm also looking for a light aero wheelset, it would be used on triathlon olimpic distance, but i like also long ride with long climbs, like alps (were i live in italy). i'm worryed about the fragility of aero carbon wheels, but i like them look (zipp and corima), what do you suggest? more spokes? deep rim (45-50-58mm)? what about PBO spoke by spinergy? is it better if i go on with my ksyrium and save money?
thank you for your help and happy new year
re: Front Aero Wheel.JimP
Jan 5, 2003 3:50 PM
As I responded to another question, I have been riding a pair of Nimble Crosswinds for over four years. I used to race olympic distance triathlons and would have finished a lot higher if I had ridden on the Nimbles. My opinion is any number of spokes greater than 3 is too many.

Jim