RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Which trainer to buy?(10 posts)

Which trainer to buy?scottfromcali
Dec 27, 2002 12:07 AM
I have been looking for a trainer and there are a lot of different models out there, can someone point me in the right direction? Do I go with a fan or liquid for resistance? Should I buy one with a remote resistance knob? On the fan trainers can the resistance be changed on the unit itself or with gear changes on the bike? Thanks.
re: Which trainer to buy?weldingfellow
Dec 27, 2002 10:47 AM
having tried several different trainers. i recently bought a minoura 850 mag trainer. it's great!! i found it to be really quiet, even better than the fluid models i tried. lots of resistance. as good as it gets if you are stuck inside all winter like we in canada.
re: Which trainer to buy?JimP
Dec 27, 2002 12:27 PM
I am still using an old fan type that I have had for over 20 years. I have read about problems with some of the fluid models leaking so I don't think I would want to replace the fan with one of those. I have several friends that have the magnetic models and they don't seem to be as progressive in resistance as my fan and don't seem to be much quieter either. The resistance of a fan is similar to the wind resistance on the road so if you want more, just go faster - either with cadence or gears. I have an old Slocum Prime that I don't think is still made. It has a double squirrel cage blower that is very close to the wind resistance on the road. I also have a folding trainer with a flywheel and single cage blower that doesn't have nearly the same resistance but is just as progressive - just go faster to get the same resistance.

Jim
Which is quieter, magnetic or fans?scottfromcali
Dec 27, 2002 6:37 PM
is it possilbe to hear the TV or radio while on a fan trainer?
Not too goodMR_GRUMPY
Dec 27, 2002 8:43 PM
Fluid trainers have the lowest sound output. Next comes Mags, and last are fan trainers.
Fan noise & TVJimP
Dec 28, 2002 12:42 PM
I have an old 12" TV on a table right in front of the trainer and little extension speakers on a shelf closer to my head so the TV volume doesn't have to be to high. I ride the trainer early in the morning and don't want to wake up my wife. When I have to replace the fan trainer, I think I would look seriously at the 1-up. There have been only good remarks about it.

Jim
I use this onejromack
Dec 28, 2002 9:31 AM
http://www.1upusa.com
Actually I looked through the reviews and bought..scottfromcali
Dec 30, 2002 10:24 AM
the Performance Traveler it should arrive sometime this week.
I despise my Performance brand trainershirt
Jan 2, 2003 10:50 PM
Be very careful with the drive-side cup; it's welded very poorly to the end of the big screw you use to cinch down on your skewer. If it pops off you can still use it, but your bike will sag slightly to the right. Very annoying.

If you have newer skewers, try to find some old Campy style skewers that you can use with your wheels. They'll fit the cups better.

/shirt
re: Which trainer to buy?d-boy
Jan 4, 2003 5:45 AM
I just bought a Cyclops Fluid 2. The fluid trainer has an excellent feel, it is quiet and gives a good range of resistance without having to flick a switch. Its extremely stable, easy to install and remove your bike, and has an easy to adjust roller. Mine came with the CTS Climbing video which is a big plus. Check the reviews. BUT, buy it on eBay and you'll save over $100 and get a riser block.