RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


An actually GOOD tire? Existing?(15 posts)

An actually GOOD tire? Existing?Trek Racer X
Dec 11, 2002 6:33 PM
I've been riding on a pair of Vredestien TriComps, and they flat atleast once a week. They are too easily cut-up and punctured.
By order of importance, what is a tire that is:

1) DURABLE
2) High PSI (130 psi to 150 psi)
3) low weight. (250g or under)
4) Low rolling resistence

Any input is appreciated.

-Andrew
Bontrager Race XlitedeHonc
Dec 11, 2002 9:30 PM
Had 'em for 2000km -over that distance - Zero flats. They are wearing well, stick like STAB and weigh 180g. Cost about $50.00 US. I'll buy a new one when the rear wears out without hesitation.
Second for the Bontrager Race XliteTrekFurthur
Dec 12, 2002 7:08 AM
MINE WON'T WEAR OUT. Over 2,000 miles--two flats, both puncture--one, from a rain ride, did not reveal itself until the next day. These guys have something like 400tpi. Highly recommended
Bontrager Race XliteBikeViking
Dec 12, 2002 7:56 AM
Mine were showing wear after about 1500 mile and needed replacing at 1750 miles. I have put 1250 miles on my Axial Carbons with no signs of wear or tear

Axial Carbons are great tires, IMHO

Scott
re: An actually GOOD tire? Existing?Noam
Dec 12, 2002 12:48 AM
I m using a wierd setup of Vredstein Fortezza 23C rear and a cheaper Conti 20C! folding front. the rear Fortezza is 3700km old and zero flats. This way I can alternate two Fortezza at the rear and replace the cheap Conti. Works great.
second Fortezza, NOT Tricomp. nmSpunout
Dec 12, 2002 4:41 AM
why not tricomp?mike r
Dec 12, 2002 5:34 AM
i've a set of tricomps, they work fine, no flats, quick, (colour matches my frame :) most important)
..less flats by the poster indicated..nmSpunout
Dec 12, 2002 7:21 AM
3,700 miles w/ no flats?Trek Racer X
Dec 12, 2002 8:13 AM
Wow. Consider yourself to be VERY lucky. I'm mistaken, I am using the Vredstein Fortezza Tricomps, in 23c, and with less than 1,000 miles on them, they have proved to be too soft of a compound, thus more prone to punctures. I counted how many cuts I have in the tire: 8 cuts in front, 5 in back. On a few of the cuts, I 've had to glue on black rubber patches underneath the tire.

The Bontrager Race X-lite seems great, with it's 400 tpi. What is it's PSI?

Andrew
"3,700 miles w/ no flats?"... he used 4 pairs to get there! nmSpunout
Dec 12, 2002 8:47 AM
3700km not miles still very goodNoam
Dec 12, 2002 7:35 PM
Michelin Pro Race but not at 130psiMcAndrus
Dec 12, 2002 6:02 AM
I race with a Hutchinson Air Light on the front at 180g and a Michelin Pro Race on the rear at 220g: both inflated to 110psi. Training tires are a different story.

The Hutchison and Michelin combination has been very durable for me. No flats all year. I won't use the Hutchinson on the rear because it wears more quickly than the Michelin.

Two caveats: the Hutchinson is the Air Light, not the POS Carbon Comp and the Michelin is the new Pro Race. I had a lot of durability problems with the older Michelin Pros.
Why such high pressures?Kerry
Dec 12, 2002 5:30 PM
Unless you are really heavy or riding a tandem, your tire pressure requirements seem really high. Those pressures won't make you faster (than 110-120), with reduce handling, reduce traction, and make the ride less comfortable.
Why high pressure...Trek Racer X
Dec 13, 2002 2:20 PM
The differences in rolling resistance, in an all out sprint, is noticeable. With higher psi, such as some Tufo tubulars, that hit 220 psi, they are not cushy, and are great for time trials.
I weigh 147 lbs, and I suppose that 220 lbs of pressure in a Tufo tubular would be overkill, but it rolls much faster. In terms of comfort, 140 psi does beat the hell out of a rider. (Although if I wanted more comfort, I'd run 28c's at 90 psi.) In some instances traction does suffer, due to high psi, going over cat tracks, or bumpy roads.
I suppose it's my personal preference, to not care much for tire cushiness. On newly paved roads, or race condition roads, the handling increase with lower psi goes unnoticed with me.
The V.-Tricomps were great for low rolling resistance, due to low tread profile, and 145 psi max, but they were too soft of a compound. That was my only problem with them.

Just my 2 cents.

-Andrew
Here are a couple of tires I'm mulling over..DINOSAUR
Dec 13, 2002 9:13 AM
Panaracer Stradius Pros and Stradius Elites.

I read some reviews about these tires on the review section of this forum. Most of them were favorable with a couple dings which is always the norm in anything. I'm sure as soon as I post this someone will have something bad to say about them. But here it goes:

Stradius Pros: (700x23)
Weight 220g
150 psi rating
Fold up
Semi slick tread
$19.00 at Cambria Bicycle Outfitters

Elites: (700x23)
Weight 250g
150 psi rating
Fold up
$16.95 at Bike Nashbar

But I'm wondering why you want such a high psi. I was running 130 on some Performance Forte Pro Kevlars and they wore out very rapidly and I had a couple of tire casings bulge on me. I dropped down to 8 bars (about 18 pounds) on all my tires and that seems to be a good pressure FOR ME.
Panaracer are made my National Tire Company (Japan) who also makes the Forte Pros. I have a Forte Pro Kevlar on the front wheel of my Klein which has provided me with an incredible amount of miles. I'd buy them again for what I paid for them ($19.98 on sale).

I ordered some of the Stradius Elites from Nashbar and at that price I figure you really can't go wrong if they last me 1K or so.

Also both the Panaracer models come in all black, which is the color I like I my bike (it that makes any type of difference).

Dino