RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Are tubulars a race only tire?(17 posts)

Are tubulars a race only tire?skippy pinfish
Nov 22, 2002 8:18 PM
Should sew-ups be used for racing only? I'm looking at a pair of cosmic carbone wheels. I have the option of tubuar or clincher. I'm going to do tri's next year, but also plan to train on these wheels. Any opinions.
Yeah...B123
Nov 22, 2002 10:30 PM
Yeah, unless you like the idea of peeling a tire off the rim after a flat in a rainstorm with cold numb hands then pulling out that bulky spare....
No...Alexx
Nov 23, 2002 7:40 AM
Tubulars are great for training-they give you a much better ride. Training on Cosmic Carbon wheels, though, is stupid. For training wheels, get a high spoke, box-section wheel. Lace them 3x-no need to hammer your ass while training!
Just opinionKerry
Nov 23, 2002 1:43 PM
Some say that tubulars have a magical ride, others claim they can't tell the difference. I guess that's because those in the latter group are insensitive dolts?
BULL SHEOT!altidude
Nov 23, 2002 9:12 PM
Modern current day quality clinchers ride virtually the same as quality tubulars. Perhaps 10-15 years ago tubulars had a big ride quality advantage over clinchers but not in todays cycling world. Many Euro Pro's train and RACE on clinchers and those guys need performance and handling characteristics way beyond what any blowhard in here needs. LOL
re: Are tubulars a race only tire?cxer
Nov 23, 2002 1:12 PM
With cosmic carbones, I would normally say sewups but if you are using them for tri's and general use, get the clinchers. They will be easier to maintain.

CC SSC's are basically Open Pro rims with a deep v faring and low spoke count. They will be durable for training. They are fast wheels. Good luck.
A 'fetishists only' tireJofa
Nov 23, 2002 3:19 PM
They are hassle to use and carry no performance advantages, about from a miniscule overall weight saving which is possibly valuable to professional track racers; the 'ride' is no different from similar clinchers, and the rolling resistance is a little higher. Don't bother unless you 'must have' these wheels (presumably they are unavailable in clincher). Clinchers have replaced tubulars for good reasons.

Jofa
Yep..DINOSAUR
Nov 23, 2002 4:46 PM
I agree. It's been about 15 years or so since I rode with tubbies. Nothing rides like them. But unless you are really good with a needle and thread and like fooling around with glue I'd go the clincher route. A high quality clincher tire will ride close to a tubbie. The main advantage of tubular tires was weight due to wheel construction, but you have to pack a whole tire with you as a spare and with a clincher you can carry an extra tube or just a bunch of Park Glueless patches if you are a weight weenie. Clinchers are a lot less hassle....I guess someone could really become adapt at repairing tubbies, but I gave up...
Yep..altidude
Nov 23, 2002 8:59 PM
Modern day clinchers ride so well that there is no reason to ride tubulars, especially for any amateur rider. Many teams in the pro euro peleton today race on clinchers and if they are good enough for these guys they are easily good enough for anybody in here. The minor weight you might save going with tubulars could make a difference if you are racing for the yellow jersey in the TDF, for any amateur rider its totally ridiculous to even try to claim you need the few seconds over a very long distance you might gain using tubular wheels. Ever try riding a tubular wheel after you have replaced it with a pre glued replacement. The green jersey was won this year in the TDF with maxic CXP-33 rims and clinchers. Do you need more performance than Robbie??? LOL! Quality clinchers handle nearly identical to clinchers, are much easier to repair on the road, don't force you to limp home after making an on the road repair and will just as easily allow you to win a race if you have the engine.
Hostility towards inanimate objects?JS
Nov 23, 2002 10:10 PM
Relax dude, it's a tire.
nope..cxer
Nov 23, 2002 11:30 PM
Don't fool yourselves into thinking the best clincher rides as good as the best tubular. Not even close. Tubulars are superior in every way and anyone that rides them will tell you that.
The reason clinchers are prevalent is convienence. It is simply easier and less messy to use them. That is why I recommended clincher CC SSL's.

Pro teams ride clinchers (Michelins in particular) for economic/sponsorship reasons. That is it. The green jersey was won by a great cyclist, not some tires. He would have won that jersey on any of the bikes listed for sale on this webpage.

What do pros that have a choice ride? 99% ride some tubular. Lance, Jan and many others ride tubulars. There are very good reasons why tubulars are superior. THere are equally good reasons clinchers maybe the better choice for many cyclists.
216.171.196.101DINOSAUR
Nov 24, 2002 9:08 AM
Furthermore...
What happened to my post?DINOSAUR
Nov 24, 2002 9:27 AM
Anyway.....I think the main advantage of tubulars over clincher is the construction of the wheel. The tubular wheel is lighter, stronger and better constructed. As with everything else this is up for debate.

http://www.bsn.com/cyling/tubulars.html

If all I had to do my raise my arm in the air if I flattened and a team car whipped by and slapped a new wheel on my bike, I'd opt for tubulars. But if you ride with tubbies and have more than one flat, be prepared for some downtime.

It's been a loooooooong time since I've rode with tubular wheels, I have some tubular wheels stored under my house that are so old they are spaced for 5 speed.

The expensive clincher tires offer a ride close to a tubbie, but the difference I noticed was the wheel itself, but I was comparing a good tubular wheel compared to a middle of the road clincher.

I'd still opt for clinchers, less hassle but in a perfect world I'd use tubbies......

Another thought (for the original poster) is if you used clincher for training and tubbies for racing you would need two sets of tires to go along with the wheels. With clinchers you could use the same tire for racing and training, unless you are a rich guy, and if so, send me some money so I can buy some new wheels..
that website should be..DINOSAUR
Nov 24, 2002 9:32 AM
http://www.bsn.com/cycling/tubulars.html

Edward Zimmerman Cycling Resources

It's early..
nope..Jofa
Nov 25, 2002 3:01 PM
"Tubulars are superior in every way and anyone that rides them will tell you that. "

They certainly will not - I am have used tubulars extensively - and lets go easy on this mythology. It is air volume and pressure which combine to determine the 'ride' of tyres, assuming equal tread thickness. Whether the air chamber is completed by the casing or by the rim is irrespective. The religion that is built up around things like this astonishes me, especially so when it flies so completely in the face of both theory and experimental evidence. Of course, use whichever design of tyre you want - it's hardly vital - but don't make up reasons for doing so.

Jofa
Quickstep will be using Hutchinson tubulars this year.TrekFurthur
Nov 25, 2002 11:03 AM
Does that mean I should go sell all me clincher wheelsets and disparage Michelin now that one less team is on them?

NO! Pros ride what they're paid, or they pay to ride something else. At any rate, whatever they ride is NO reflection on my choice of equipment, nor should it be.

Next argument please.
not if you never flat nmtrekkie1
Nov 24, 2002 4:06 PM